We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ricardo truly made Hotel Cirilo feel like home - highly recommended!”
Review of Hotel Cirilo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cirilo
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2011

My husband and I were staying at Hotel Cirilo at the tail end of a monthlong trip. Even after the hotels have blurred together, Hotel Cirilo still remains a standout.

Hotel Cirilo opened less than a year ago. All of the rooms are recently renovated and spotless. The breakfasts are delicious - far heartier food than the standard "continental" fare at your mid-range price point. Although the physical hotel is charming (incorporating the ruins of a medieval church within walking distance of downtown Antigua), and the staff are friendly, the true reason this hotel is so incredible is Ricardo. One of the hotel owners, he is immersed in its operations. His smiling face greets you every morning, and he does his best to extend true familial hospitality to you while you're there. He even went as far to drive us to our lunch destination himself when we asked him to call us a cab!

Although there are some hotels that may be slightly closer to downtown, none of them had the same charm or, more importantly, Ricardo. I cannot recommend Hotel Cirilo highly enough.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelthered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cirilo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2011

This hotel has seven rooms. It is built around old church ruins from the late 1700s. The hotel manager, Ricardo, is top notch. He went above and beyond to make sure we had a pleasant stay. The hotel is a little outside of downtown Antigua, but the town is small and walking was not a problem.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkincaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Hotel Cirilo was an amazing inn surrounded by ruins. Rooms were stunning, breakfast
was great, as was Ricardo the owner of this fabulous inn.

Have traveled for many many years would put this bed and breakfast at the top of
my list. In addition to the beauty of this inn, the location was ideal. Very quiet and
yet convenient to the center of Antigua. Ricardo was the "perfect" host. I can't imagine
anyone being disappointed at Hotel Cirilo.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evjeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

A few minutes walk from the center of beautiful Antigua was an advantage in terms of how much more you get with this place. Very helpful owner and superb staff keep this place impeccable. Very tastefully decorated little hotel built into grounds of an old church makes this place very special. Wished we had stayed longer and would definitely go back and recommend to anyone who wanted something special without being exorbitantly priced.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fridgemagnets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Beautiful hotel built amongst Antiguan ruins. The staff are extremely welcoming and the grounds and hotel are kept in amazing condition. It is a little further out of town than some hotels, but this makes it a quite area and it is only a short walk to the central square (15 minutes). Many thanks

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mans76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Note this is from a guy who rarely feels compelled to write travel reviews of any kind! I have nothing but praise for Ricardo's and his great staff's ability to have exceeded our expectations of my wife's and my five nights at Hotel Cirilo! We were looking for a hotel in Antiqua that was unique, quiet, smaller, and ability to deliver personalized service without being overbearing. Here, we definitely found it. Wow! Off the beaten path and away from the center of Antigua (which really isn't a loud place in my lengthy experience of central American cities), we found this wonderful, pristine, carefully manicured oasis. We shall return!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank screennamenoname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We were at the Hotel Cirilo for my brother's wedding. The management thought of every detail, both in setting up the wedding and reception facilities and in caring for the family members who stayed there over two or three days. The facilities are truly one of a kind - the hotel is built into the ruins of a colonial-era structure, but the blending of ancient and modern (the hotel is only 8 months old) is seamless. There are only a few rooms, so there is a lot of individual attention. The breakfasts were great, and the service was excellent. Our bed was comfortable. There were only two slight concerns: one, the hotel is a little off the beaten path in Antigua so it's a little hard to find; two, the rooms had only a fireplace for heat, which normally is not necessary anyway. Neither of these concerns detracted from our overall great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esperanza1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#8 of 75 in Antigua
437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#4 of 75 in Antigua
319 reviews
0.8 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 75 in Antigua
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cirilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cirilo

Address: Calle de los Duelos No. 11, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: £103 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst the restored ruins of a colonial chapel, our hotel is a refuge of peace in the quietest area of Antigua. Only seven rooms, gardens, terrace, restaurant and solar-heated lap-pool. Complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cirilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing