We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“D'Leyenda Hotel first rate”
Review of D'Leyenda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
D'Leyenda Hotel
Ranked #20 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“D'Leyenda Hotel first rate”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I was extremely happy with this hotel. The staff was wonderful and made me feel like I was the only guest there. The rooftop terrace is a great place to have your breakfast and the location couldn't be better. It is very easy to walk around the city and the hotel front desk will arrange any type of shuttle or excursion for you. The hotel has great character and charm and is great value for money and I would recommend this hotel without hesitation. .

Room Tip: This hotel is right next door to the Whiskey Den and Coffee Bar so there can be noise at night comin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    84
    23
    3
    5
See reviews for
62
220
53
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I sometimes think I want to keep this place all to myself, but I am not a selfish person. Hotel D'Leyenda is a treasure, everything about it is a treat. These people really make you feel welcome. The rooms are sweet , cozy comfortable and very clean. Give yourself a treat and stay where you are always welcome and treated as a friend.

Room Tip: They are all perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen_13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Anywhere else this would be called a "boutique hotel": 6 rooms in a hotel you would pass without noticing just off the main square in Antigua. We had room 3 at the corner of the inner courtyard: roomy with all mod cons (flat screen TV, comfortable bed, inroom safe, free wifi) & large bathroom with bath & shower & loads of hot water. Locally produced coffee is available (free) 24/7. Breakfast was great on the roof terrace. Staff were extremely friendly & informative. A great place to stay & in walking distance from all the sights of Antigua. Couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank global-traveller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
101 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I stayed for 3 nights. My room was comfortable, although a little small. Location of the hotel is excellent, almost adjacent to the square without the hustle and bustle.

There was a little noise from the Ocelot bar, but not loud enough to be a nuisance.

The staff are fantastic .... and this in my opinion makes the place.

Breakfast was good.

I found their prices of US$80/night for 1 person a little high relative to other hotels in Antigua of the same quality. There's a 10% surcharge for credit cards.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalaharigeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Each room at the D'Leyenda Hotel has a name that corresponds to a local legend. Ours was El Carreton, or The Death Wagon, a ghost carriage drawn by black horses that is said to announce an imminent death.
It is the last room at the end of the very narrow courtyard of the hotel. We were taken there by a bubbly American student who called everyone "you guys" - jarring after several weeks of polite Spanish hospitality - but only after she had first installed us in the wrong room. The odd thing is that we requested a room with a fireplace at the time of booking several weeks earlier and were told that the hotel was full, except for El Carreton. In fact, except for ourselves, it was completely empty.
El Carreton has a window which opens into a storage and utility area used by staff, not to the outdoors. The room is stale, musty, and damp. I do not wish to speculate about mold, but it seems possible given the lack of airflow and the general smell. We eventually had to shut both the door and window because staff could look into the room and straight onto the bed. Sleep, however, was not possible until after 11 p.m. when the extremely noisy bar next door featuring live music quietened down.
Breakfast is served on the roof-top terrace, which is reached by a very narrow and steep spiral staircase that is difficult to climb. Breakfast consisted of rock-hard croissants, stale bread, visibly aging fruit, and American-style jam packets that you would expect to find in a diner. Service is excruciatingly slow, in spite of having pre-arranged the time at the hotel's request.
When we decided to check out instead of stay for the 4 nights we had booked, the staff first tried to impose the cancellation policy - from which they eventually backed down - and then used a completely invented exchange rate to convert the dollar prices advertised to the Quetzales actually being charged. Luckily, there was a bank right on the corner where we obtained the real exchange rate and refused to pay anything more.
The hotel's website an in-room info says that in the olden days, the way to get rid of El Carreton was to make the sign of the cross and pray. Apparently, the only way to do it in modern times is to put one's foot down.
Why this hotel is able to display Trip Advisor Travellers' Choice Awards for 3 years running is complete mystery.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Auf-Axe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLeyendaHotel, Gerente at D'Leyenda Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
We are very sorry that we did not come up to your expectations, we make a great effort every day to please and attend to our guests with care.

Our hotel is small but we are proud to receive comments and to improve our service day by day.

Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We've probably been to Antigua a couple of dozen times and stayed in all kinds of places; from the Hotel Santo Domingo (big $$$'s) to backpacker type hotels. I can say we've finally found our go-to hotel here. Wonderful staff, 1/4 block off main park, great breakfast, cute rooms, and very secure. And price is very competitive for Antigua. They were able to accommodate our car through a share arrangement with another larger hotel for no extra charge. Oh, internet was free and fast. We'll be back soon.

Room Tip: Have them show several rooms if available. Cheaper rooms are a little darker and stuffier. Worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilkins99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk res
Level Contributor
300 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

We were very pleased that we stayed here. So close to the main square yet quiet.our room was rather dark, but it had all one needed.
The staff were extremely helpful.
Breakfast on the terrace was a delight.
To be recommended for those looking for something different.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kattyukres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 76 in Antigua
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#25 of 76 in Antigua
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#8 of 76 in Antigua
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#30 of 76 in Antigua
187 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#9 of 76 in Antigua
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'Leyenda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Leyenda Hotel

Property: D'Leyenda Hotel
Address: 4 Avenida Norte # 1, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — D'Leyenda Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Your Key to La Antigua Guatemala"Where mysticism and reality get together.D' Leyenda Hotel is a pleasant and tranquil hotel, which has prime location,in the center of town, steps from the Main Plaza. Its 6 rooms were designed in mind with details taken from Antigua's colonial architecture, equipped with comfortable and modern amenities. Our exclusive service will make the guest have the best time ever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your D'Leyenda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing