We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Truly Stellar Accommodations!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of D'Leyenda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
D'Leyenda Hotel
Ranked #17 of 81 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Truly Stellar Accommodations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed at D'Leyenda for six wonderful nights as we toured the area. The staff, including Juan, Mariflori, and Alvero were all incredibly generous, warm, and attentive. The location of the hotel could not be beat - just steps away from the central square and close to great restaurants, shops, and historical sights. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable, and we loved having breakfast on the terrance with a view of the volcano. We highly recommend it and can't wait to return ourselves.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    81
    23
    2
    4
See reviews for
58
216
51
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stay there for 3 days because we went for a friend's wedding. The place is beautiful, clean, cozy and the service is really really outstanding. The people is nice and is near the principal plaza downtown. Great place to stay!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LoreElizondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Close to Central Park Leyenda is a nice
little boutique hotel. The rooms are quaint and clean.

All the staff were really nice and accommodating.

You can sit on the rooftop and enjoy a nice view.

Breakfast is included but don`t expect the same
as if you bought it in another restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My husand and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in November. Great location and very clean and comfortable room. We were very pleased with customer services provided by the front reception area employees. All of the workers were very helpful and so frienidly. They became our good friends during the stay. Only issue we had was the noise coming from the bars next door. It didn't bother my husband as much since we were so tired and he was out as soon as he hit the bed but I was keep on waking up during the night. The noise factor was easily out weighted due to such nice receptions from the hotel crews. I will defenitely stay here again next time I visit Antigua and highly recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandieYCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at D'leyenda for a few nights in mid-September, and were pleased with the hotel's decor and cleanliness. The service is excellent and must remark that the staff exceeded our expectations in terms relocating us to the room next to us without fuss!, See; we arrived on a very rainy week room # 6 hadn't been opened for a few days, therefore when we arrived there was quite a lot of humidity in the room. I am very sensitive to mold, and reacted immediately by wheezing and coughing. Hotel staff immediately prepared room # 5 with a dehumidifier and installed us next door.When we came back to our new room (el Sombreron) all was comfortable and cozy. We had a wonderful stay, Hotel has a private and romantic feel to it. Breakfast on the terrace with volcano view is: Priceless! Location is awesome, close to central park and nice shops and restaurants. Will definitely go back. My only suggestion to them would be to dehumidify the rooms ahead of time as per weather conditions require it, and perhaps add buffet style breakfast /dinner as an option.

Room Tip: Rooms close to entrance will be noisier...we selected a smaller room #5 and 6 which offered a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giselle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ensenada, Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

D'Leyenda Hotel is very close to Zocalo, the center of antigua: park, San Jose Cathedral, the municipality, and all type of restaurants, and curios stores. Room was clean, comfortable, with the items needed for a good stay. The coffee is available in the corridor 24 hours and the daily breakfast is fresh fruits, bread, waffles, orange juice, and coffee. I requested information for places to visit, ironing facilities and transportation to La Aurora Airport in Guatemala, and was always provided. Each of the six available rooms has a colonial legend. The hotel is a small hacienda and retains its colonial appearance. My stay was very good.
The only detail is that the transport contracted in the hotel was 45 minutes late after the time requested, but this is from a company outside to the hotel, but care must be taken especially when you have a very early time flight at the Aurora airport at Guatemala

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here for one night while traveling for a couple weeks in Guatemala. We chose it because of the excellent reviews here, but we were disappointed, especially for the price. Our room was nicely decorated, but it was dark and had no windows facing outside. Also, it was on the first floor and had french doors covered by sheer curtains that faced onto the center of the hotel, so it didn't feel very private. The location is nice, right off the plaza, and the rooftop was lovely too, but we weren't able to use the hot tub because we were never informed that it had to be booked ahead of time. The breakfast also left a lot to be desired (it wasn't even a continental breakfast -- just coffee and a small fruit plate). The worst part, however, was the noise. I am really surprised that this hasn't been mentioned more often as the blaring music from the rooftop bars next door made it impossible to sleep. In the morning, we mentioned this to the man at the desk about it, and he said that other guests have complained, but there's nothing they can do about it. The final kicker was the fact that we couldn't get hot water in the morning. We told the woman at the front desk about it and she came to investigate the problem, which was appreciated, but when she confirmed that there was, indeed, no hot water, there was nothing she could do. We took plenty of cold showers while traveling through Guatemala, but weren't expecting to do so at a boutique hotel in Antigua.

To be fair, all of this would have been completely ok if the price had been lower, but this place was expensive comparable to similar accommodations in the area and it didn't live up to the hype.

I would have given only two stars were it not for the fact that the service was truly excellent. The two women at the front desk - one of whom I believe was the owner - were extremely helpful in booking our transport to Coban the next day and in advising us on the area. If they could figure out way to improve the noise issue, and improve the breakfast, it would be 4 starts.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#26 of 81 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#2 of 81 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
14.3 mi away
Casa Santo Domingo
Casa Santo Domingo
#6 of 81 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#3 of 81 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#10 of 81 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'Leyenda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Leyenda Hotel

Property: D'Leyenda Hotel
Address: 4 Avenida Norte # 1, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 81 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — D'Leyenda Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Your Key to La Antigua Guatemala"Where mysticism and reality get together.D' Leyenda Hotel is a pleasant and tranquil hotel, which has prime location,in the center of town, steps from the Main Plaza. Its 6 rooms were designed in mind with details taken from Antigua's colonial architecture, equipped with comfortable and modern amenities. Our exclusive service will make the guest have the best time ever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your D'Leyenda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing