We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Welcoming!!”
Review of D'Leyenda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
D'Leyenda Hotel
Ranked #21 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at the D'Leyanda on arrival into Guatemala after getting their private shuttle from Guatemala City Airport. It was a great place to start our two and a half month trip off. Its in a great location as it's just off the main square. The staff were excellent! couldn't have been more helpful and friendly, making sure that we had everything we wanted...including the rooftop hot tub! The rooms were immaculately cleaned everyday, complete with chocolates on the pillows and towels wrapped as swans. All in all, a great place. It was a bit out of our budget, but was perfect to get over the long flight from the U.K, and to start the trip off in a friendly and relaxing place. We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveyboosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLeyendaHotel, Director de Recepción at D'Leyenda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you so much for keeping D'Leyenda Hotel in mind! What a nice gesture of you was to send us such a beautiful message. It was a privilege for us to have the opportunity to meet you here in Guatemala. We are also looking forward to seeing you again!

D'Leyenda Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

We arrived around 6 p.m. staying one night on our way to Copan, Honduras, and regretted not staying here earlier when we first arrived in Guatamala. It's a nice small hotel steps from the main square, but what impressed us most was the wonderful staff. Alvaro and Juan Jose were the day and night staff at the front desk and both were so friendly and helpful. We didn't have enough Guatamalan cash when we arrived and they helped us find a bank that I could get to, got a nice hot tub ready, and got us packed breakfast at 3:30 a.m. and stayed with us until our transport to Copan arrived at around 4:15 a.m. As mentioned by others, there is a bar that plays music right next door late into the evening. That can be a problem for some I'm sure, but it didn't bother us much. If we have the chance to visit Antigua again, we will definitely book this place again. Thank you Alvaro and Juan for making our stay so pleasant and enjoyable even if was for a short visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heading_south25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLeyendaHotel, Director de Recepción at D'Leyenda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment! We appreciate every word you have said, and of course, all of this helps us all continue growing up. We are looking forward to seeing you soon!

D'Leyenda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We had a great 3 night stay in early February. Our room was tastefully furnished and included a fireplace for chilly nights (which we did not need to use). The staff deserves special mention as all were extremely helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the breakfasts on the roof patio with a view of Agua Volcano in the morning light. The location is perfect and just a few steps away from the central plaza of old Antigua. Our room was very quiet and we slept well.
Our only suggestions: 1) our room had a bit of a musty smell which could be a problem for someone with allergies or sensitivities, 2) We could have used a bit more lighting in the room for reading, and 3) breakfasts were enjoyable but could use the addition of a little protein (eggs, meat, beans, cheese or yoghurt). Would definitely stay here again or recommend to others.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank easealee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed here on three separate nights during our 2 week stay in Guatemala. Every staff member is so friendly and courteous. They are caring and provide service at the top end of excellent. We would stay again simply because of the staff.
The hotel is very conveniently located about 20 steps from the main square. It is safe even after dark and very secure. The rooms are very clean and beds are comfortable. Rooms and common areas are very nicely decorated. Roof top terrace was a great place to enjoy breakfast with an excellent fruit plate, bread (and cookies) and lots of coffee.
The bar next door creates a bit of noise but we found it subsided around 11:30 to 12. Otherwise the rooms are quiet.
We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLeyendaHotel, Director de Recepción at D'Leyenda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank You very Much for your such a great comment, that motivates us to keep growing, and to improve our service.

Best Regards,
D`Leyenda Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The staff here were so helpful and courteous, the hotel is centrally located and rooms very comfortable. However we arrived late on a Saturday evening after a long flight and the music was blasting from the bar next door, this continued until well after 1am. Our breakfast on Sunday was delicious-the staff proudly told us it was a local breakfast, but we soon realised this was only served on a Sunday, on the other mornings there was no choice and when we asked for eggs we were told we could only have fruit and waffles, we did manage to persuade the staff to give us bread. My advise is find somewhere else to stay if you can especially on a Friday or Saturday night.

Stayed: February 2014
3  Thank Libby1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLeyendaHotel, Director de Recepción at D'Leyenda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

We appreciate your comment because as we have mentioned, it helps us continue growing up as one of the most popular hotels in La Antigua Guatemala. However, we would like to clarify that as a courtesy, we offer traditional breakfast for our guests only on Sunday mornings. Whenever we get a new reservation, we let our guests know that Continental breakfast will be included, which is always served with the best quality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Spent a few nights here for a long weekend in Antigua. This hotel is just off the main square. There are only 6 rooms here and breakfast can be served on the terrace overlooking the city and the volcano. There is a lively bar next door but it did not keep me awake at night. The staff was top notch and spoke very good English. They recommended restaurants and excursions for our time there. I would definitely go back to this hotel!!

Room Tip: Each room is named after a different local legend and some have fire places. Otherwise, they are ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLeyendaHotel, Director de Recepción at D'Leyenda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Mr. Ronnie Holuby

thank you very much for your nice comment that motivates us to try to be better every day. And motivates us to provide a better service to our guests.



Kind Regards,

D'Leyenda Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I recently spent three nights at D'Leyenda and cannot think of enough positive things to say about this hotel. The staff is simply amazing and went out of their way to ensure that our stay was memorable. They really made us feel like part of the family. The hotel has an ideal location steps away from the main square and within easy walking distance of all the sights in this historic city. There are also a number of places to eat in the vicinity. The rooms are beautiful and all centered around a lovely courtyard. They are spacious, spotless and nicely equipped with furniture and decor that match the colonial look of Antigua. We enjoyed breakfast every morning on the rooftop terrace which has fantastic views over the old city and the nearby volcano. Breakfast itself was varied and delicious! I certainly hope I have the opportunity to stay at D'Leyenda again soon!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa del Parque
Hotel Casa del Parque
#34 of 75 in Antigua
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#7 of 75 in Antigua
323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#25 of 75 in Antigua
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#22 of 75 in Antigua
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#31 of 75 in Antigua
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#41 of 75 in Antigua
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'Leyenda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Leyenda Hotel

Address: 4 Avenida Norte # 1, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: £55 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — D'Leyenda Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Your Key to La Antigua Guatemala"Where mysticism and reality get together.D' Leyenda Hotel is a pleasant and tranquil hotel, which has prime location,in the center of town, steps from the Main Plaza. Its 6 rooms were designed in mind with details taken from Antigua's colonial architecture, equipped with comfortable and modern amenities. Our exclusive service will make the guest have the best time ever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your D'Leyenda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing