We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be a nice hotel... Friendly staff member...Useless management.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Vina Espanola
Ranked #73 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

After reading the previous reviews of this hotel we should have steered well clear as they are all pretty accurate in their descriptions.

We booked a week for 10 people for a wedding in Antigua and chose Viña Española due to its price and thinking the reviews were exagerrated; we were wrong and wished we'd payed a few $ extra for a proper hotel.

For a start the hotel itself is not that bad. It is actually quite a beautiful building (or could be). It has just not been maintained properly. The problem is the managements lack of any kind of interest in the running of the hotel. The dining area had an entire table setup with a laptop and computer and was being used as a makeshift office. It's almost as though they have been so long without proper guests they have forgotten what it is to run a hotel.

The manager of the hotel was seen upon check in and about 4 of the 7 nights we stayed. During those times she was sat either watching tv in the dining area or doing whatever on her laptop. Either way she totally ignored her guests and couldn't even be bothered to enquire about peoples stay. It may seem as though this is a personal attack but it isn't she is a nice woman she is just useless at her job.

We had an incident where a mother and her child had to move rooms due to a spider infestation under their closet. The managers response was to get a staff member to deal with the issue. She only got up from her laptop and bothered to check the problem herself when my partner basically forced her to. There was apology given or any help in moving cases etc. They were told there were no other rooms so had to share a room with another or our party...3 of them in one bed for the remainder of the stay.

The aforementioned staff member really doesn't deserve to be working there. She is practically single handedly running the hotel herself. She was there 24/7 during our stay and her presence at least made us feel as though we were not in an abandoned hotel. If I could offer her a better job I would. She deserves more than to be slaving away for a boss who cares more about her next fb status (at a guess) than her business.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Siidney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

The hotel is basic and that definition is used very loosely! It is run by one worker who is run off her feet. She does her best to accommodate the needs of the person staying. However, breakfast is repetitive to say the least and all rooms have seen better days in respect of décor. This is a budget hotel and as such I wasn't expecting 5* treatment or facilities but this hotel in my humble opinion should be refurbished before accepting any further guests. 3 of the party I went along with had to share a room due to a spiders nest being found in their wardrobe! Throughout the week long stay everyone from a party of 10 people staying there got sick at some point with the worst day having 6 people sick at once!

At one point when the management was present my husband asked for a toilet roll as she spoke English and thought it would be easier to converse with her, she immediately picked up her mobile phone and phoned the lady who practically ran the hotel single handedly to fetch this! This staff member was present from early morning to late evening. When the spider incident came to light, again without checking out the complaint herself, the employee was instructed to sort it out. At no point did the manager leave her laptop when onsite. Whenever she was in the hotel the laptop and her were inseparable! We were made to feel that she wasn't interested in any guests, it would have been nice to receive attention from her herself at some point but this was always put upon the overworked employee! If you do stay here please bring your own towels as the towels provided are small and very thin!

There is only key per room (no spare) and you are required to leave your keys if you want your room cleaning, this includes the safety deposit key. The room is cleaned to their standard and then the door of your room left unlocked with the key in the door (including your safety deposit key). Crazy system!

Despite this Guatemala is a beautiful country and we will return albeit to a different hotel!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms they are all much of a muchness, do not book here go further into Antigua an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016
1  Thank Oscarsalazarsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016
1  Thank Alicia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank vgvera9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Lucia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#51 of 75 in Antigua
256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Camino de Santiago
Hotel Camino de Santiago
#68 of 75 in Antigua
7 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Florencia Hotel
Casa Florencia Hotel
#26 of 75 in Antigua
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Euro Maya Hotel
Euro Maya Hotel
#49 of 75 in Antigua
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#15 of 75 in Antigua
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
#30 of 75 in Antigua
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vina Espanola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vina Espanola

Address: Calle Del Virrey No. 17, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: £42 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vina Espanola 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vina Espanola abre sus puertas en una nueva ubicacion situado en el Casco Urbano de La Antigua Guatemala, ofreciendo a sus huespedes instalaciones de primera en una area tranquila, fuera del bullicio, y sobre todo completamente segura. El hotel cuenta con alarma de seguridad, sistema de camaras de video vigilancia las 24 horas, todo esto con el proposito de ofrecerle un mejor servicio a todos sus huespedes. El mismo cuenta con habitaciones que van desde sencillas, dobles, triples y mas... Las cuales se encuentran bellamente decoradas, y con todas las comodidades que se puede esperar tales como nuevas y confortables camas, bano privado, agua caliente, televisiones LED de pantalla plana en todas sus habitaciones, cable, internet de banda ancha WIFI completamente Gratis en todos los ambientes, acabados de primera y cenefas de cedro en todas las ventanas. El hotel cuenta con un hermoso jardin central con bucaro para llevar a cabo eventos o simplemente para relajarse, el hotel es eco responsable ya que cuenta con iluminacion LED en las habitaciones y todas sus instalaciones en general, como tambien pone a su disposicion un pequeno salon para llevar a cabo reuniones de trabajo, capacitaciones, conferencias, eventos sociales, etc. Tambien podra gozar de una agradable vista hacia toda la ciudad colonial desde la terraza del hotel, en donde podra disfrutar con su familia y amigos de una bebida o comida, o de una cena romantica con su pareja. Adicionalmente contamos con Restaurante y Bar. Ademas le ofrece servicio de Spa & Belleza desde el confort de su habitacion (masajes, peinado, maquillaje, manicure, pedicure, depilacion, etc.) ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing