We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Clean, Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostel Restaurante Casa Jacaranda
Ranked #15 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Extremely Clean, Good Value”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

You can do a lot worse in Antigua for the price. We paid 180Q a day for a private room with a shared bath. This is generally quiet, always clean, with a helpful staff. Breakfast is included in the cost of your room. They do have a bit of a mosquito problem so bring some DEET. Recommended for budget travelers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustaPack2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    47
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
6
33
39
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Atitlan, Guatemala
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We booked a private room so that our stuff would be secure.

Returned to the room to find it unlocked. We overheard two other couples complaining of the same thing.

Another day, the cleaners had left our door and windows open but had departed to work elsewhere. I mentioned this to reception and they promised to secure our room. When I returned some time later, the room was as the cleaners had left it - windows wide open, door open and with all our things (and their master set of keys!) visible.

When I tried to bring up the hostel's poor security attitude with the man at reception he just smiled and said "ok". Not the least bit concerned or apologetic.

The rest of the hostel is dark and dingy. Our room was extremely noisy starting from about 5am.

Avoid this place. We only stayed here as Casa Armarilla across the road was full.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Hx11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely little hostel where breakfast is included in the price of the dorms. More affordable for you penny pinchers, dorms in high season were 9 usd per night, but were relatively cramped with little space to place your bags if the dorms are full. The breakfast is good and there is a lovely courtyard to sit outside and enjoy some sunshine in the quiet.

Pros:
-free breakfast
-cheap
-clean bathrooms and dorms
-taco shop located inside the hostel for 3 tacos for 10Q

Cons:
-overcharge for laundry services
-on the outskirts of the city, about a 15 minute walk to central plaza
-no outside liquor allowed in the hostel and they only serve beer

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I stayed here 3 different times for a total of 16 nights. I tried other, more ‘popular’ hostels, but kept returning to Casa Jacaranda! Helpful staff. Reliable wifi. Inexpensive Mexican food and beers in the lobby. I liked that it was quiet and somewhat under-the-radar. Showers could be hotter.

Room Tip: The single private rooms in the front are tempting, but they can be noisy in the mornings due to act...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado, PR
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during both visits in Antigua and loved it! We stayed in a private room the first time and a dorm the second and both had extremely comfortable beds. The breakfast we found most filling and satisfying was the spinach and tomato omelet with fruit, beans, potatoes in a delicious rosemary and olive oil sauce, with coffee AND juice! Eating it out in their lovely backyard garden made it even better. There's also a cheap and delicious taco stand connected to the hotel that we ate at multiple times. Great value for Antigua. Also, the wifi here worked great and we were able to watch Netflix in our private room (room #1) the first stay. Overall, this felt like a great deal because we were in a safe, super clean and tranquillo place yet still within just a few minutes walking distance to the famous Antigua market!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pazYamorMyCoTU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We booked this hostel through hostel world in September of 2013 since we knew that Antigua would be a popular spot for New Years Eve. We paid a 10% deposit and were told our booking was confirmed. We showed up with the print-out of our confirmation (as we were told to do) and the guy at the front desk was incredibly unhelpful and pretty rude. He told us they had NO record of our booking (which basically means they lost it) and then told us 1) the problem was with hostel world and that we would need to contact them; and 2) that this had happened to someone else earlier that day! This was pretty infuriating since I have used hostel world before and not ended up in this situation, so I know that Jacaranda must have lost our reservation (though I am in the process of complaining with hostel world as well). Also - how did this happen to multiple people in one day??

Worst of all - the guy at the front desk basically told us that since it was New Years (though we arrived on the 30th) that everything in town would be booked and there wasn't much he could do. Since Jacaranda messed up our reservation, the least they could do was make a few phone calls, but he didn't seem to want to help. After walking around town, we eventually found a small hotel with a room and were able to stay in Antigua for New Years after all, but had we arrived on the 31st, I know we would have been completely out of luck. I'm still fuming at this establishment!

If you do end up booking here, be sure to double (triple?) check your reservation with the hotel directly!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hostel was conveniently located about 10 minutes from the main square, and breakfast was included in the very reasonable price of the room. We stayed in a full dorm and space was limited, however I never felt cramped and there was a secure area designated for any extra luggage. There was free Wi-Fi, however it was only available in the main entrance and living room. Despite this small inconvenience, the internet speed was great and there was no shortage of plugs for laptops. There was also a computer available to guests who did not bring their own.

There was only one shower for all of the dorm rooms, however I didn't experience any problems even when the hostel was at almost full-capacity. There were several bathrooms in the building, all of which were clean.

The staff at the front desk were able to book shuttles out of town, and they had a convenient laundry service that was the same price as everywhere else in town. I was also impressed with the food they serve in the lobby. It made for a great place to eat whenever we didn't feel like leaving the hostel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katlynd T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#49 of 75 in Antigua
116 reviews
14.6 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#65 of 75 in Antigua
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#44 of 75 in Antigua
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Sin Ventura
Hotel La Sin Ventura
#41 of 75 in Antigua
123 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal San Nicolas
Hostal San Nicolas
#34 of 75 in Antigua
47 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#11 of 107 in Antigua
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Restaurante Casa Jacaranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Restaurante Casa Jacaranda

Property: Hostel Restaurante Casa Jacaranda
Address: 1a. Calle Poniente No. 37, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Restaurante Casa Jacaranda 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Restaurante Casa Jacaranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Restaurante Casa Jacaranda Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing