We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, friendly, quiet”
Review of Hotel la Catedral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel la Catedral
Ranked #16 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, friendly, quiet”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We regretfully only stayed one night but plan to come and stay again. The hotel grounds are lovely and our room was clean, super comfortable bed, had a tv with a couple English speaking channels and peaceful. You are right in town but the hotel itself was very quiet. The people at the desk were knowledgable and friendly. Thank you for a great experience- we hope to see you again soon!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank seanjenmarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina S, Propietario at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Google Translation
Para Hotel La Catedral fue un placer tenerlos como huéspedes!! Por favor no dude en el futuro

volver a visitarnos ya que cada día nos esmeramos mas en atender a las personas de manera

que puedan tener un descanso placentero y se sientan como en su casa!!!

Atentamente,

Marina S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    53
    9
    0
    4
See reviews for
57
100
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We traveled as a group of four and had two rooms in the hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, the courtyard was very relaxing and welcoming and the rooms were large and clean.

We stayed for two nights and had breakfast included. Do note to give yourself a little time for breakfast because it is made to order.

The one problem I had with the room is that the bathroom did not have a door. You could not see in to the bathroom from the bedroom but it was still rather uncomfortable. The other room belonging to the other couple we were with had a door. Maybe the hotel can put a curtain up for the rooms without the door?

All in all, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGal418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina S, Propietario at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Google Translation
Para Hotel La Catedral fue un placer tenerlos alojados pro espacio de dos días!!

Gracias por sus comentarios en TripAdvisor ya hemos tomado en cuenta la sugerencia de la

puerta en el bano, y queremos contarles que ya se ha instalado una linda puerta..

Esperamos tener la oportunidad de servirlos nuevamente en el futuro.

Atentamente,

Marina S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

A charming B & B right off the central plaza. Great value. Nice bar and lounge. The back rooms are very quiet. Would stay there again. Breakfast was typical Guatemalan. They could make a better cup of coffee.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank douglas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina S, Propietario at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Google Translation
Para Hotel La Catedral fue un placer tenerlos como huespedes.

Esperamos haber llenado sus espectativas y esperamos que vuelvan!!

Atentamente,

Marina S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I've never seen such a friendly and helpful staff at any B&B. The rooms are on the smaller side but nicely arranged and exceptionally clean. Breakfast is lovely in their courtyard and their location cannot be beat. The courtyard garden is beautiful. We never had a hot water issue as mentioned earlier. They also have a small bar attached for a quiet place for a drink.

Room Tip: Room #1 is the smallest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina S, Propietario at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Google Translation
Gracias a TripAdvisor sabemos que en Hotel La Catedral hemos llenado sus espectativas

y que su estadia fue placentera y agradable.


Nuestro personal se ha esmerado en atenderlos bien y todos esperamos que vuelvan a estar

con nosotros algun otro dia!!

Atentamente,

Marina S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlanoTx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Tired of the corporate stress? or perhaps just need a change in your daily routine? Hotel la Catedral is just what is needed to unwind, rest and relax. An Spanish colonial house right in the center of Antigua, inmaculate rooms, manicured garden where you can have a delicious breakfasts of your choice in their beatiful hall ways overlooking plants and flowers of their region.
The personnel in this hotel is the best, courteous and sooo caring to your needs, they will really give you the attetion you deserve. There is some kind of misticsism about this place that is hard fo forget.
Hotel La Catedral is walking distances to all Antigua attractions, restaurants and they will coordinate for you any tour you migh wish to take. We were there a week and it was really hard to come back to real life.

Room Tip: Huge and fancy is not always the best. Good, service, cleaness and attentions is what is needed for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UcaTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina S, Propietario at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Google Translation
De la misma manera que ustedes han disfrutado en Hotel La Catedral, el personal tambien

ha disfrutado tenerlos como huespedes.

Gracias a TripAdvisor sabemos que hemos llenado sus espectativas y esperamos en un

futuro su visita para consentirlos como en casa!!!

Atentamente,

Marina S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Rooms are set around a beautiful green courtyard, with comfy cushioned benches to relax in. Staff are very friendly. Internet connection was good and fast and the breakfast in the morning was fantastic! Rooms are nice, have wonderful fluffy bed covers and the maid leaves chocolate!! Location is just off the Central Park so couldn't be much better.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flyingsnails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina S, Propietario at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Google Translation
Agradecemos su estadia en Hotel La Catedral. Esperamos haber llenado sus espectativas

y estariamos felices del volver a recibir su visita!!

Queremos consentirlos y que se sientan como en casa!!

Atentamente,

Marina S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We visited Hotel Catedral last November and were very impressed with its charm and price. We were two couples who felt very comfortable and immensely enjoyed our time there. The rooms were lovely, and the breakfast was delicious. The staff were very accommodating, and the hotel is right in the city center. I think you will enjoy your stay here. We feel it is a place we will certainly return to in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDR47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina S, Propietario at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Our staff is pleased to know that your stay in Hotel La Catedral was enjoyable and sattisfactory

and that we fullfil your expectations.

Please don"t forget us in your next trip to Guatemala because it will be a pleasure to serve you

again the way you deserve!!

Best regards,

Marina S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#8 of 82 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#4 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#26 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Pasos
Hotel Los Pasos
#12 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Catedral

Property: Hotel la Catedral
Address: 4ta. Avenida sur # 4 | La Antigua Guatemala, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel la Catedral 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Catedral is an authentic Spanish Colonial house, originally built as part of the "Palacio de los Capitanes Generales" in the center of Antigua, Guatemala. Its construction began in 1558. The space was rebuilt in 1754 and it was used as the residence of the General Capitan. The hotel is located one block from the Central Park and the Cathedral (Catedral de Santiago). It is within a minute or two walking distance from many restaurants, cafes, boutiques, and Spanish Colonial ruins. As one of the original structures in Antigua, Hotel La Catedral preserves its charm and elegance and it has been completely restored to bring you all the comfort and rest you're looking for during your stay. It has a very cozy and romantic environment, just like Antigua itself. The hotel has 8 rooms with a King Size bed or with two Full Size beds. Each room individually decorated to give you a slightly different feel each time you visit us. All of them are equipped with Flat Panel TV set, DVD Player, Cable TV, Security Box, Wireless Internet (at no additional cost), telephone and alarm clock. All bathrooms are stylishly and individually designed with antique marble. All toiletries and hair dryer also included. All our rates include, Full a La Carte Breakfast, free international calls to designated countries (time limited) and private parking in the same location. In the same facilities we have an equipped private meeting room and a Family Lounge-Bar. We also organize and coordinate your Tour needing's to any other beautiful destinations as well as transportation from and to Guatemala City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel la Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing