We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Little surprise with amazing location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel la Catedral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel la Catedral
Ranked #12 of 81 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little surprise with amazing location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel was excellent on all aspects. Located in the center or Antigua it was easy to walk around and see the amazing market, cathedral, plaza and more. The service was excellent, friendly and respectful. They were very helpful and guided me to purchase the best tours, specially the one to El Tikal. The breackfast were weakly good, healthy! No greasy fried eggs!!!!! The place is beautiful and clean. The rooms are comfortable. I really liked it because it is was reasonably priced and beautiful. I will definitely recommend it and already planing to return next year! Marco in the receptions was an excellent host! Gracias!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAM6482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina S, Propietario at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Google Translation
En Hotel La Catedral nos encanta sorprender a nuestros huéspedes con excelente servicio y

por sus amables comentarios en TripAdvisor sabemos que disfruto su descanso y los tours

que le fueron recomendados por nuestro Gerente, así como de nuestros desayunos a la carta.

Esperamos que vuelva a visitarnos!!

Atentamente,

Marina S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    53
    9
    0
    4
See reviews for
57
99
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utila, Honduras
Level Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

This is a charming hotel, small with lovely grounds and outdoor seating in a nice garden! Staff was friendly, room was clean, nice toiletries! Room is a little dark, but very nice. Breakfast was very, very good and everyone so friendly. Location is super. An excellent choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColibriSMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina S, Propietario at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Google Translation
Para el staff de Hotel La Catedral es muy halagador saber por sus comentarios en TripAdvisor

que su estadía con nosotros fue agradable, que disfrutaron nuestras instalaciones y que en

todo momento estuvieron bien atendidos. Por favor no duden en volver!!!

Atentamente,

Marina S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We spent four nights at this hotel, when we visited Antigua for a wedding and didn't want to leave. Great location, near everything. The staff is wonderful, especially Marco. We had a very small room due to it being the last available when we booked but it was still nice and cosy. The garden in the center is lovely and very relaxing to sit in after a day of walking. WIFI was free and connection great. We found out, on our third day there, that calls to USA were also free. This was very useful to call home to check in on family members during the Feb 14,snow storm. Really liked this hotel and hope to visit again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the street but it was still very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDublingirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina S, Propietario at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Google Translation
Nos sentimos muy halagados de saber por sus comentarios en TripAdvisor que en Hotel

La Catedral hemos llenado sus expectativas en cuanto a servicio y confort.

Esperamos tenerlos nuevamente como huéspedes en un futuro viaje a la Antigua Guatemala.

Atentamente,

Marina S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed at hotel la Catedral for one night when returning from a trip to Livingston and after a long bus ride, we were delighted to find that the hotel has one of those lovely courtyard gardens that lurk behind many a closed door in Antigua. This one is exceptionally beautiful. Fountains, manicured gardens, artwork in heavy carved frames, niches with statuary all surrounded by covered stone patio with tables and comfy chairs, including warm blankets for chilly evenings, it's so inviting to sit and relax. The hotel is ideally located, just a block from the Central Park and the cathedral.

We were greeted by a friendly concierge who speaks English and a lovely young women who escorted us to our room off the courtyard. The room was also a delight, with a king size bed with an elegant half-canopy and brocaded comforter and beautiful bathroom with vessel sink and rain shower. The only downside was the inexplicable lack of a bath mat. Everything else was perfect.

After settling in, we were given a very large and very welcome glass of wine, complements of the management, which we drank while admiring the gardens. Pure bliss. A full breakfast, included in the $125 price of the room, was served under the portico overlooking the sunny garden. The whole experience was wonderful and we almost hated to leave. We would certainly recommend this hotel as a convenient and romantic place to stay in Antigua.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina S, Propietario at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Google Translation
Este comentario es como de alguien que escribe poesía!! Gracias a TripAdvisor sabemos

que disfruto mucho su estancia en Hotel La Catedral.

Por favor en su próxima visita a la Antigua Guatemala necesitamos que vuelva a hospedarse

con nosotros y nos de nuevamente la oportunidad de servirla como se merece!!

Atentamente,

Marina S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

I live at the lake and come to Antigua often. We like to try new hotels each time, but every time I return to La Catedral I am impressed by the amazing beauty, the fantastic location (1 block from the main square) and the friendly, helpful staff!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KatharineKmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina S, Propietario at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Google Translation
Nos complace saber por sus comentarios en TripAdvisor que en Hotel La Catedral hemos

llenado sus expectativas de servicio y confort.

Esperamos contar con su presencia nuevamente y que se vuelva uno de nuestros huéspedes

frecuentes y seguir sirviendo-le como se merece.

Atentamente,,

Marina S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

My son and I recently stayed in this hotel when we were in Antigua on a business trip. It was perfect for us. First of all, the location is ideal: one block from the town square. I'm a early riser and would go out and watch the town awaken each morning. Lovely. The hotel itself is an old home built around a small, pretty courtyard. There was nothing particularly fancy about our room, but it was spacious and clean. A tasty breakfast was included each morning, as well as a welcoming beverage when we arrived. Finally, the manager, Marco, is a real sweetheart. Kind, soft-spoken, he literally went out of his way to help us. Our 5am ride to the airport fell through, so Marco drove us there himself. It doesn't get much better than that!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTrainSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina S, Propietario at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Google Translation
Nos complace mucho saber por sus comentarios en TripAdvisor que su estancia en Hotel

La Catedral fue placentera y que recibió ayuda y atención personalizada de nuestro staff.

Esperamos contar con su presencia en su próxima visita a la Antigua Guatemala.

Atentamente,

Marina S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I was so happy I chose to stay at this hotel - all the positive reviews had me curious. But it lived up to everything that has been said.
Staff - All the staff was super nice, very welcoming, adjusting and helpful. Any time that I had an issue with anything or a question, the staff went above and beyond to help me out.
Amenities - Excellent WiFi signal, have a cooler/heater in the room, HOT water just follow the instructions in the bathroom, comfy bed, safety box for valuables
Location - PRIME location!
Breakfast - really great variety of breakfast for everyone. I'm a vegetarian so I loved that I actually had options of things I could eat.

Love love love the place - I'd very highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Akanksha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina S, Propietario at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Google Translation
Gracias! muchas gracias por sus excelentes comentarios en TripAdvisor!!

Para el staff de Hotel La Catedral fue un placer servirlos y tenerlos como huéspedes y mas

aun saber que llenamos sus expectativas en cuanto a servicio y confort durante su estancia

con nosotros.

Esperamos tener la oportunidad de servirlos nuevamente en el futuro.

Atentamente,

Marina S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.2 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#2 of 81 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#26 of 81 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
14.4 mi away
Casa Santo Domingo
Casa Santo Domingo
#6 of 81 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#3 of 81 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#7 of 81 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Catedral

Property: Hotel la Catedral
Address: 4ta. Avenida sur # 4 | La Antigua Guatemala, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 81 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel la Catedral 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Catedral is an authentic Spanish Colonial house, originally built as part of the "Palacio de los Capitanes Generales" in the center of Antigua, Guatemala. Its construction began in 1558. The space was rebuilt in 1754 and it was used as the residence of the General Capitan. The hotel is located one block from the Central Park and the Cathedral (Catedral de Santiago). It is within a minute or two walking distance from many restaurants, cafes, boutiques, and Spanish Colonial ruins. As one of the original structures in Antigua, Hotel La Catedral preserves its charm and elegance and it has been completely restored to bring you all the comfort and rest you're looking for during your stay. It has a very cozy and romantic environment, just like Antigua itself. The hotel has 8 rooms with a King Size bed or with two Full Size beds. Each room individually decorated to give you a slightly different feel each time you visit us. All of them are equipped with Flat Panel TV set, DVD Player, Cable TV, Security Box, Wireless Internet (at no additional cost), telephone and alarm clock. All bathrooms are stylishly and individually designed with antique marble. All toiletries and hair dryer also included. All our rates include, Full a La Carte Breakfast, free international calls to designated countries (time limited) and private parking in the same location. In the same facilities we have an equipped private meeting room and a Family Lounge-Bar. We also organize and coordinate your Tour needing's to any other beautiful destinations as well as transportation from and to Guatemala City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel la Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing