We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stop in and make a purchase.”

Antigua Tabaco Compania S.A.
Ranked #27 of 86 things to do in Antigua
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We are a cigar shop that has a private living room smoke room. Come and visit us and allow us to invite you in. See you soon.
Reviewed 21 May 2014

They had a nice selection, but the place was very small. The girl spoke English and was very friendly.

Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona B, Owner at Antigua Tabaco Compania S.A., responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Spent a great couple of hours here last week. We picked out cigars from the walk in humidor and then did the scotch tasting of three levels to pick from. Ordered nachos and had fun visiting with four people spending their last day before going into the Peace Corp.

Thank Way2Fastt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona B, Owner at Antigua Tabaco Compania S.A., responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to talk about us. We are glad you enjoy our establishment. Hopefully will see you again.

Lyne & Uwe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Hecktor or Jess will make you feel quite at home when you walk in. This is a popular hangout with many expats in Antigua. It's a great stop and one you will remember!

Thank Lectric_Chuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona B, Owner at Antigua Tabaco Compania S.A., responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thanks Chuck, we are blessed with great staff and they enjoy your company. Hope you come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

From the moment I stepped foot in there (Hector) made me feel like I was a regular! The owner Uwe & reg Santiago were great!

1  Thank Torres1856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona B, Propietario at Antigua Tabaco Compania S.A., responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you! we are glad that we provided you with a good experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This little place is so inviting, friendly and cozy - that after stopping in for a 'few minutes' last time -- we wound up staying for hours. There's quite a lively conversation unfolding almost every afternoon according the owner, Uwe.

I had guests in from LA who like to smoke good cigars and they were very impressed with the time we spent there. Jess, who helps behind the bar, couldn't have been more hospitable or helpful - not to mention her keen sense of humor.

In fact, humor seemed to be a major theme as laughter rang out time after time, with different people (some perfect strangers - others familiar regulars) shared their stories and adventures freely. In my visits to the little 'green room' in the back of the shop, I've seen several people who neither drank nor smoked, enjoying the atmosphere and engaging repartee nonetheless.

Snacks and sandwiches are available to go with the single malt scotches and Ron Zacapa, which, according to a couple of regulars, 'must be tried to be believed'. We tried it and it definitely lived up to the recommendation. The cigars from a walk-in humidor are, of course, the finest and Uwe will be happy to tell you the entire story of how and where they are made. You discover that the largest cigar producer in the world is in Honduras, for instance - and they have a large selection of the best of them.

The selection includes plenty of Cuban favorites as well. Stop by and find out what is so compelling about this charming little nook.

3  Thank John363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona B, Owner at Antigua Tabaco Compania S.A., responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you so much John for the great review. Hope to see you and you lovely Family very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Antigua Tabaco Compania S.A. also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Antigua Tabaco Compania S.A.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing