We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful B&B”
Review of Chez Daniel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chez Daniel
Ranked #1 of 133 Antigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
197 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Delightful B&B”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My friends and I reserved two rooms for our New Years stay this passed January 2013. They were very accommodating during this very busy season.

Location:
This B&B is about a 10 minute walk from the center of Antigua (Cathedral square) in a quiet residential area. It would be equivalent to saying that it's on Canal Street outside of the French Quarter. The walk was a nice change and gave us an opportunity to see other local life outside of the square.

Room:
My room was simple, rustic yet extremely spacious. It was more than enough space than I needed.

Service:
Service is what set this B&B apart. Daniel and Marleni took care of everything for us from: our pickup from Guatemala City to their B&B; day driver to ChiChi Market and Lake Atitlan (Gracias Angel!); recommendations for tours, everything. This made our visit worth every minute.

Overall:
If you are looking for a simple, resourceful place to stay at a value, I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    21
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
58
133
32
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Our group of 8 had a great time. We rented out all four of the rooms. Each room was spacious and very tasteful in its decor. We had run of the kitchen and cooked one meal there, which was nice to do after eating out. The breakfasts were great, with choice of hot chocolate, expresso, regular coffee--the hot chocolate was the favorite. We celebrated a birthday party in the lounge and enjoyed the space for talking long into the night. I really recommend this for groups of young adults. The owner and staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This charming new structure has large rooms and huge baths with spacious tub/showers. Luxurious. We stayed on second floor with balcony chairs and table. Great view of volcanos and charming garden below. There are only a few rooms so one feels like guest in private home. Daniel is helpful and informative without being gushy. We were directed to excellent restaurants and the best attractions. The property is on a quiet residential street which is well lighted. The whole area of Antigua feels very safe and we enjoyed using this as a base for four days.

Room Tip: If view of Volcano is important to you, go for second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svYonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quepos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This hotel is a bit out of the way from the main attractions of Antigua, but given that the town is quite small, that wasn't too big a of a problem. In fact, I think it was a bit quieter because of it. I only wished we were closer when walking back at night. Our room and bathroom were gigantic, very clean, and tastefully decorated with photos the owner had taken. Breakfast was croisants and bread with yummy cappuccinos. Daniel and Marleni were both very helpful and kind, and always greeted us in the mornings with helpful tips and suggestions.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CocoKueppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
166 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The rooms and bathrooms are large and spacious. We spent 10 days in Guatemala, 4 cities, and this was by far the best shower we had. Breakfast is bread with jam, but the cappuccino is what made it memorable. The hotel is located a few blocks off the main street, and although I was assured the area was safe, it was a little disconcerting walking back late at night. The staff is friendly, and has lots of advice, but not always the most accurate. We were told there would be an airport departure tax, payable in Quetzales, but there was not. Also he mismarked my map when recommending a few attractions.

I had originally planned to stay 3 nights. My first night and then the last two. We even arranged for pick up at the airport -which i recommend you take advantage of. We were taken to Chez Daniel, then told we'd actually be staying somewhere else because they were full. The 2nd B&B was nice, very different from Chez Daniel, but I enjoyed our night there. I didn't appreciate the switch. I wasn't told a lot of information and felt like I had no control over the situation. I guess this is something that happens in Antigua.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjroehrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I loved this place and stayed for 5 days. The room price was discounted, which is why I was there as a solo traveller. Otherwise it would have been out of my budget. If there are 2 of you sharing the room I'm sure that's not an issue. Otherwise I'd have stayed for a month!

The rooms are HUGE....and the bathroom is HUGE too. LOTS of space. Lots of storage space - drawers and wardrobes.

Marleni was very friendly and very helpful with my volcano walk and transportation bookings.

STUNNING kitchen with all modern equipment and a very large fridge - plenty of space if all 4 rooms are storing food.

Breakfast is included in the price - delicious croissants!

VERY comfortable bed. I slept like a log. The best sleep I'd had during 3 months of travel.

A little out of the city, but a nice walk in, allowing you to explore different streets. I felt safe walking to and from this guesthouse during the day but I would get a tuk-tuk or a taxi back at night.

Lovely lounger chairs in the quiet garden made for a very nice relaxation area. I think the only enhancement would be to add hammocks!

All-in-all I would HIGHLY recommend this as a place to stay if you are looking for a SPOTLESSLY CLEAN, luxurious, comfortable, quiet, friendly home while in Antigua.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have the view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagicDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed at Chez Daniel for two weeks while we studied spanish. Our room was spotless and enormous. We were extremely happy!

We had access to the sunny upstairs terrace which has a spectacular view of the volcano.

Housecleaning service was great and our room was immaculately cleaned daily, with bathroom amenities replenished.

Kitchen was always clean, spacious and very user friendly. we cooked lunch and dinner most days/nights.

Daniel & staff was always willing to assist us with information/whatever we needed.

B&B has a relaxed and peaceful feeling and is very quiet, there was some slight noise at night over the weekends, however this is evident across Antigua and not an issue for us.

Very comfortable bed and always hot water.

Extremely happy and would without doubt recommend this B&B. It is excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#5 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#8 of 82 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#17 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#2 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#28 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Daniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Daniel

Property: Chez Daniel
Address: Calle de San Luquitas No. 20, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choosing to stay Chez Daniel ensures that your visit to Antigua will be both a relaxing, economical but most of all, memorable. When you arrive Chez Daniel, you will be greeted by the comfortable, quiet and secure atmosphere of our B&B, with its majestic view of all three volcanoes in our Panchoy valley and numerous photographs that display a more profound and intimate view of the Guatemalan culture. It is the perfect place to start your exploration of Guatemala and Antigua. The rooms are very large, elegant and light filled, with ample bathrooms including a bathtub, and are equipped with flat screen cable television. We provide all the ease and comforts you will need to have an unforgettable experience in your home away from home, Chez Daniel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chez Daniel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing