We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hostel! Fun, Friendly, Location, and Relaxing.”
Review of Mananas Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mananas Hotel
Ranked #31 of 117 Speciality Lodging in Antigua
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This Hostel is awesome. Straight up. Been over Mexico, Belize, Guatemala and Nicaragua and Have slept in a lot of Hostels. Holistico has Captured that hard-to-find fun hostel that you can have a blast in but you can also get a good nights sleep. A hostel is a place to meet people, chat, relax and Sleep. If you want to party.....go to the bar. Ive staying in Jungle Party and The Black cat and those Hostels are social but loud! Holistico has some of the nicest showers I've seen in a hostel in Central America. Good breakfast. Good beds, movies, TV, the list goes on...... For $10???? Cesar has done such a good job making his guests feel welcome and comfortable there is a reason his hostel is so hightly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jordan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2012

I found Hostal Holistico 2 years ago soon after they opened. I have since stayed there 3 times and I won't stay anywhere else in Antigua. Where to begin...location, location, location. It's located in the heart of Antigua, insanely close to everything. Cesar, Holistico's owner, is a gem - a fountain of knowledge about his beloved town and a friend to all that enter his doors. He was the best hostel owner I have ever encountered and I have traveled the world, 24+ countries all in hostels. The beds are amazing...so comfy they remind me of home. The staff is insanely accommodating, friendly, open, sweet and so hard working. The terrace is the best spot to sit and have breakfast, lunch, dinner, a drink, or have a spontaneous dance party, anything really! They serve delicious breakfast (included!) and the coffee is oh so yummy.

There is a travel agency in the front of the hostel and they have great prices and a really friendly staff. They will care of any travel arrangements you may need, whether it's to climb Pacaya or a ride to the airport.

I highly recommend Hostal Holistico both for seasoned and new travelers. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to street noise, ask for the rooms in the back (not facing the street).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GiovisMex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Hostel Holistico is the nicest, friendliest hostel I have stayed in in Antigua. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and the relaxed atmosphere makes you feel completely at home. The hostel has a beautiful terrace where you can relax and is perfect place for eating your breakfast. Cesar is the owner and he is such a friendly nice guy who makes you feel so welcome and will help you with anything you need. The rooms are clean and comfortable and it is totally safe and secure in a fantastic location, close to the center of Antigua.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is the most beautiful, cosy and beautiful hostal in the city.
When I arrived early in the morning I had the best delicious breakfast I've had in whole Guatamala, coocked by the owner him self :)
Eating my breakfast, sitting on the roof-terrace I had a great view over both the city and beautiful landscape around the city.

One thing I'll never forget is, when I told Cesar Pineda (the owner) how I hoped to be able to buy a notebook on christmasday, he took me to the other end of the city, asked the owner to open the shop for me, and made sure I got my notebook. Unbelievable he's spent so much hours and made so much efforts to help me!

If you look for an affordable, cosy please with a very relaxed atmosphere, located in the very center of the city...GO visit this place!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeroenrotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Holistico is that kind of place that you think it doesnt exist.....
Im not kidding when you are there, in the couch, in the terrace (wich has this amazing view), having breakfast or just chilling you feel so good & relax. An ofcourse part of this is because Cesar and the staff are doing a great Job. Cesar really likes what he is doing, and thats why he does it so good, the only thing better than Cesar company is his food :)
I promisse, at Holistico you will laugh, you will find the information about tours, you will know best places & tips for going out and/or dinner and you will go back !!!
My favoRite place!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alicia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Holistico Hostal is a home away from home. You wake up in the morning to a whonderful selections of breakfasts prepared whenever you want it, followed by the best cup of coffee i've had in latin america. Then you can ask any of the friendly staff all the great things to do around town and because this hostal is in such a great central location your in easy walking distance to just about everything, includeing the delicious pupusas in the main park across the street. If your in antigua and dont stay here I feel sorry for you.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I ended up staying at this hostel eventhough I am a local. The atmsphere is so nice and the people you meet there are really interesting let's not say the guy who runs the place Caesar he is just wonderful. He's very nice with the costumers and has some great recomendations for people who want to wander and travel around town. Personally I think this hostel is very clean and its price for value since I have checked other places around town and non compare to this one.
Cheers!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Cucuruchos Boutique Hostel
Cucuruchos Boutique Hostel
#3 of 117 in Antigua
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#46 of 75 in Antigua
250 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#64 of 75 in Antigua
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#29 of 75 in Antigua
432 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#11 of 117 in Antigua
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mananas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mananas Hotel

Address: 7a Avenida sur 10, Antigua, Guatemala (Formerly Holistico Hostal)
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 117 Speciality Lodging in Antigua
Price Range: £7 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing