We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down the best hostal I stayed in whilst travelling Central America.”
Review of Mananas Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mananas Hotel
Ranked #31 of 117 Speciality Lodging in Antigua
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Where do I begin with this hostal.

The owner Sergio and his staff are so friendly. They go out of their way to cater for your every needs. Anything we asked for they could sort out and nothing was a problem for them.

Every morning breakfast is served for free and the menu is excellent. They also have free water, fresh juice, good coffee, popcorn, tea and various snacks served all day. Every evening Sergio puts rum out in the middle of the courtyard and glasses which is free also beers are offered for free as many as you want.

All the rooms are immaculate and cleaned each day by the staff.

The hostel has wifi and a nice terrace for chilling on.

There are so many more positives about this hostal, too many to get across. My group stayed in all the reccomended hostals across Central America and this was by far the best we stayed at! We actually came back to Antigua just to stay here again.

5* hostal. This is the only place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RD0D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holistico, Owner at Mananas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Guest, Thanks for your amazing review and I saw that you really like our hostal and ours services. Have a safe trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Great hostel with superb host Sergio. Always available to help, he arranged trips for us and gave brilliant restaurant recommendations and reservations.

The hostel provides a very good free breakfast, tea, coffee and juice are available all day, and managed to fit us in at late notice.

Sergio goes above and beyond other hostel owners ensuring his guests have a good time and enjoy Antigua. Highly recommended

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Dontmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holistico, Owner at Mananas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Guest, we are happy that you had enjoyed our hostal. Thanks for staying with us and have safe travel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

we were traveling with a large group of students and adults on a mission trip. The owner returned from Europe mid week and everything changed. First off it was much cleaner and staff was literally cleaning after every bathroom visit! However the owner treated staff to cocktails and was intoxicated. Blared very inappropriate music beginning before 8am until 10pm. When asked to turn down we were told "it is my house" and when 2 adult chaperones asked for music to be turned down they were kicked out. Very nervous stay, felt very disrespected as the owner repeatedly brought up religion, was loud and biligerant. If traveling alone or with partner probably ok but I would DEFINITELY not recommend for groups, students or mission workers.

Room Tip: not a quiet room in the place due to bathroom/shower facilities and front desk and entry. Either hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Suzathomefd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holistico, Owner at Mananas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest:
Thanks for your review and I want to clarify some points thtat happened during your staying with us:
1) First of all, the last day of your staying I invited my staff to have lunch to thank them for the hard work that they did for your group even you don´t have respect for them and also for the place.

2) Just remember how many things you broke because you were jumping from our terrace to the hotel next door to go and hang out with your friends staying there, here we have rules and you broke them, for that, the result is that people have to leave the hostel.

Here we are a Hostel, not a church, next time, maybe go to stay another place around Antigua.

3) If I came back here from Europe was because my staff was telling me all that you were doing negative things here and also damages to the Hostel, even we gave you a special price for all the group and the staff came to work 05:30am every single day of your staying and you were not grateful.

4) Do you know which "Respect" word means? because all the group didn´t have any respect for us and for the place and here the behavior is really important, so all the group behavior was so negative.

5) For the music, you were not here all day, you left to your work every day between 7:30 or 8:00 am so you can´t tell if we played music all time and it clearly says that quiet time al the hostel is at 22:00, we turn off lights and music so everybody can rest for their activities next day.

Thanks again for your review and I hope other travelers can see the real true.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great breakfast, the owner was a really fun guy, and had a great time staying here, and for an amazing price! We were celebrating my birthday and he got me a cake! Overall this place is awesome! Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuatesGringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holistico, Owner at Mananas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Guest, all your groupe here are so welcome anytime like others backpackers and Thanks for the review and you had a great time here. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Staff was ok, but owner is arrogant and rude and openly drinks and gets drunk in middle of courtyard. Music is played loudly late at night and even keeps adjoining Hostel guests awake. Bare electrical wires in shower and guests got shocked during showers. Horrible place to stay. Move next door, their service is excellent and much cleaner.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank KMLKMLKMLKML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holistico, Owner at Mananas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review, let us clarify some points about it:

No one has complained about the music or get shocked while taking a shower, just people of the same group you were last week staying with us.

We clearly say all our guests that quiet time is at 22:00 hours and we never play music after this time so this means that you are not saying the true, if you were in the other place next door, that means that you were unrespectull with the owner and your behavior was so negative and then you had to leave, because we have rules in the hostel.

Why do you say the place wasn´t clean? we ask you if you would like us to clean your rooms and some people said that it wasn´t necessary until next 2 days because you needed to pack your things so it won´t be hard to the staff to clean it up.

Thank you again, regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Owner was blasting music at all times during the day and intoxicated. When asked to turn music down he kicked two people out. Very unpleasant unless you are a local. Also, never cleaned rooms. Stay at the hotel next door it was great.

Room Tip: Kept awake from loud music at all times of day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holistico, Owner at Mananas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Hi, Thanks for your review and I just want to tell you a few things that happening during you stay with us, as you know you broke the rules in the hostel and also others and in the hostal there is a rules. You was not even social with the groupe, you was so unrespecfull with others and also with me. The rooms are cleand everyday for my people working with me and you and the others in the dorms you have a big mass with your bags. As you know we are so popular hostal in Antigua and if others travelers see your review, people know how we work here and we have the best service. You was a person part of the groupe and you was not so correct with others. And if you was in other place is because you have to leave to the hostel of your bad behavior. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We visited Holistico twice. The first time we stayed here the showers were a little dirty however on our second visit the place was super clean. We stayed at 2 other hostels in town and this was the best by far. The hostel has a nice garden and terrace. In both visits we were given complimentary drinks. The free breakfast was the best I have had and I've been traveling for four months. Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank 47breep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holistico, Owner at Mananas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Guest, here in my hostel we take care to all my lovely guests all the time and you had a great time here with us and thanks a lot for your amazing review. Have a safe trip and see you next time. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Cucuruchos Boutique Hostel
Cucuruchos Boutique Hostel
#3 of 117 in Antigua
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#46 of 75 in Antigua
250 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#64 of 75 in Antigua
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#27 of 75 in Antigua
432 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#11 of 117 in Antigua
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mananas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mananas Hotel

Address: 7a Avenida sur 10, Antigua, Guatemala (Formerly Holistico Hostal)
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 117 Speciality Lodging in Antigua
Price Range: £7 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing