We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay during Semana Santa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Esthela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Esthela
Ranked #26 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great stay during Semana Santa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed in the dorm for four nights over Semana Santa. Danielle was lovely and really helpful. The dorm isn't massive but isn't cramped either and there are lockers for your valuables. Comfortable beds, TV room, fab rooftop terrace and we met some really nice people here too - not at all clicky like in the other hostel we stayed in. Also, it really is not as 'far out' as some other users have described- 10 minutes walk maximum from the Parque Central. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDRJvoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    39
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
32
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
308 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

I had a nice stay here. Private room was clean, albeit a box with little else but a bed and a dresser. The shared bathrooms were fine as well as the other common areas, including the kitchen and tv room. I really enjoyed the view of the city and the mountains in the background from the rooftop. Staff was helpful. Safe and secure. A bit of a walk from the central square but that was a good thing since I was there during La Semana Santa which makes Antigua pretty crowded, so it was nice to get away from the crowd. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmenSandiego2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Villa Esthela. I booked a private budget room with shared bathroom which cost appx £6.50 per night. The room was small but very comfortable with plenty of storage space including a lockable cupboard. The shared bathroom was always clean & not once did have to wait to use it. I felt that the hostel was very safe & secure - the main gate to the street is locked every evening then there is the main door to the guesthouse beyond the gate. My only slight issue is that the hostel is located about 10 mins walk from the main square, so as a single female, walking back alone at night time could be a little intimidating. However there are taxis in the main square so not really an issue at all. The staff were very friendly & helpful. Finally, the roof terrace was amazing, offering fantastic views & chairs & hammocks to relax in. This is a very welcoming & homely hostal, great value, I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraZahara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

Budget place in a great position, the terrace has a view of the volcanoes to die for. danielle is so helpful, room was spotless we had to share a bathroom but never had to wait, close enough to centre but also far enough to be quiet at night, i could not recommend too highly. pick up from airport was perfect book with confidence and enjoy

Room Tip: We had room on first floor which was just the best spot but all are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shelagh899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Nicely located at the edge of town. Far enough away for easy walking distance yet quiet enough for good nights sleep. The owner of the hostel was lovely, very friendly and helpful. The hostel itself was charming with cosy bedrooms and clean bathrooms. Although the bathrooms are shared I never had to wait to use one. There is a lovely rooftop bar with nice views of the surrounding volcanoes.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaniNakita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

I was not able to stay in Antigua very long and next year when i come back to study, I will very likely stay here until I find a host family. Danielle the staff member that helped us out was full of great info, and she arranged a private taxi ride for my friend and I. Our room was a large private room, the beds were comfy, everything was clean, and we met good ppl there. Unfortunately the bar is not always open every night, but it looks like a cool place to hang out and the views are beautiful from the roof. Great Value -- I'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinConsults
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

As budget accommodation goes, this place offers everything you need. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a cheap, safe, clean sleep in Antigua.

Danielle (the owner) is extremely kind, helpful, and knowledgeable. The rooms I stayed in (I was here for 4 nights, then later for 1 night) were spotless and quiet. Antigua isn't a big place, and the location here is close enough to the center to walk easily (about 10 minutes) but far enough to be relatively quiet. There are also shops nearby (I highly recommend the bakery) and a pharmacy across the street. The free drinking water (if you drink a glass, they ask you to pay for filling your bottle) is a particularly welcome touch, as is the nice little rooftop patio.

It's also worth noting that Danielle treats guests with more trust and respect than just about any other hostel owner I've met. On a couple of occasions she lent me stuff, no questions asked, knowing that I was leaving early in the morning and wouldn't see me again. This speaks very highly of her!

A further note, I recommend booking directly with Danielle to go to Volcan Pacaya or to take the airport shuttle as she charges less than travel agencies do. The driver she sent for airport pickup was also good although I should note the trip costs as much as several nights' stay (this is the going rate). He was a little late due to traffic, for which he apologized profusely, that's literally the only possible criticism I have of any service I received here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mreogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.1 mi away
Three Monkeys Hostel
Three Monkeys Hostel
#2 of 100 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Antigueno
Hostal Antigueno
#11 of 100 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somos Hostal
Somos Hostal
#7 of 100 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal Antigua
Hostal Antigua
#21 of 100 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostel Capitan Tom
Hostel Capitan Tom
#12 of 100 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.7 mi away
Roo's Hostal Antigua
Roo's Hostal Antigua
#40 of 100 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Esthela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Esthela

Property: Villa Esthela
Address: 2a Avenida Sur #48 - Interior A-3, Antigua, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer both private rooms (singles, doubles, triples) as well as a shared room 'dorm' with 8 beds. All rooms are with shared bathroom. We aim to offer low-priced accommodation for the budget conscience traveler. This means we do not offer any luxuries but always try to have friendly staff, give the best possible service and a clean place to stay. We do have a big rooftop terrace with amazing views of Antigua. And additionally free wifi, reasonably warm showers, free coffee/tea, TV room with DVDs and a kitchen you can use to make your own meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Villa Esthela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing