We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in Antigua”
Review of Villa Esthela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Esthela
Ranked #30 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Antigua
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice stay in Antigua”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I stayed at Villa Esthela for 3 nights at the end of April. Danielle was really welcoming and helped with a transfer to the hotel to pick up my friend, and cheaper than I could find anywhere else. The dorm was what you would expect, but I seemed to have one of the nicer mattresses so had a good nights sleep unlike some others. The roof terrace was really nice for catching the evening breeze.
Only downside is the fact that it is in a little lane so can be hard to find at first. I walked straight past it and looked a bit silly walking round and round the same few streets looking for it! Perhaps a little sign with the name in the street would go a long way!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJAddison_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    39
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
33
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

It bums me out to leave a poor reference, but this is warranted...
We arrived into Antigua later than expected (around 8pm) from Copan because of a traffic accident. We knew we'd be a bit late so we called ahead and made a reservation.
A touch difficult finding the place as it's tucked off of the main road. The woman who received us was quite friendly. She checked us in and took us to the top floor dorm room which, she informed us, we'd have to ourselves this night. The place seemed clean enough. We did our normal walk through taking our bags to the room- feel the mattresses, check water pressure, a look around for general feel- all ok so far. We set up in the room and get ready for bed (after the long day of bus travel).
With in the first 10 minutes, i notice my back is itchy... I'm reading, no shirt on, no second thought. The itchiness get's worse and seems to be spreading... ("huh, maybe mosquitoes from earlier?"). Finally, i get up and i feel my back--- !?!?! There's a distinct line of huge swollen, itchy bumps going from below my neck to my shoulder on my back. Right away i recognise the bites (from a Bangkok hostel years ago), BEG BUGS- so i grab for my flashlight and search the bed...
I find a couple small ones right away near the head of the bed. I ask my girlfriend if has any bites and she doesn't (yet). Ugh~ at this point it's a bit too late to change hotels, so i just change beds (again, we're in the dorm room alone). I move to the other side of the room, this time, top bunk. I give it a quick look under the pillow and the head of the sheets; i don't see anything, so then i lay down. Then my eye catches a dot on the wall besides me---- !?!?! another bed bug. This one is BIG (well fed). I grab my camera and snap off a few shots. Now i'm understanding that they have free movement around the room up the walls and bed to bed. I give a look around, snapping shots of a few other bed bugs on the walls and on the beds. =P

I walk down to the lobby and knock on what i think is the womans door. She answers and i explain the situation. At first she's in disbelief- "I just had a group of five in there and no one said anything). I show her the pictures--- After making the same twisted face i had made upon discovery, she apologized and offered us a private room on the ground room. We thanked her and went to retrieve our bags (which thankfully weren't near the beds). When entering the new room, we put our bags on the opposite side of the room from the beds and started to search the bed--- It didn't take 5 seconds- There was a big fat one on the bed just below the pillow. We show the woman, she doesn't seem to understand so we show her this one as well. "Ok" she says, "I have only one more room available for tonight. You can have a look at it". This time she follows us in the room, me with my flashlight. AGAIN, not 10 seconds after looking- BED BUGS!

She was very apologetic and evidently confused- "We have people in these rooms all the time"- She helps us find a new hostel that has a room at this hour ~11:30pm and she calls us a taxi.

If the woman wasn't helpful in finding us a different place to stay, this review would have been a *Terrible*.

I'm not saying don't come here- just check the beds, WELL.

Those might not be mosquito bites you feel in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank onlinepersona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daniellek74, Propietario at Villa Esthela, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Google Translation
Respecto a este comentario, desafortunadamente en este negocio, uno no puede revisar las personas una por una para garantizar que ellos no lo traen. Lamentamos el inconveniente causado a estos huespedes, pero estas son situaciones que pasan. Hemos trabajado por muchos años haciendo y dando lo mejor a nuestros huespedes. Al momento de este inconveniente de forma inmediata nosotros hemos tomado acciones como el cambio del colchones, y profunda fumigacion de las habitaciones y estamos funcionando normalmente.
Juan Daniel Galdamez, gerente general.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

No matter the description/opinions, it *is* out of the center and you will feel it walking back. The walk, however takes you right next to many must-see sights so it is no big deal. Antigua is small-ish anyway. Owner did spook me a little bit suggesting not to be on the street after sundown, but again, Antigua shuts down already around 10pm and there is a nice bar/snack just a few buildings away. My private room was great, second best on my entire Central America trip. Shared bathrooms are very convenient (first and only time I saw a mat next to shower). Terrace indeed has great views and cozy hammocks. It is a very quiet place, which actually is great - you can party elsewhere. Dutch owner/lady, a bit detached on first sight but actually helpful and with great english, organizes everything you might need.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danchee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed in the dorm for four nights over Semana Santa. Danielle was lovely and really helpful. The dorm isn't massive but isn't cramped either and there are lockers for your valuables. Comfortable beds, TV room, fab rooftop terrace and we met some really nice people here too - not at all clicky like in the other hostel we stayed in. Also, it really is not as 'far out' as some other users have described- 10 minutes walk maximum from the Parque Central. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDRJvoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
307 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I had a nice stay here. Private room was clean, albeit a box with little else but a bed and a dresser. The shared bathrooms were fine as well as the other common areas, including the kitchen and tv room. I really enjoyed the view of the city and the mountains in the background from the rooftop. Staff was helpful. Safe and secure. A bit of a walk from the central square but that was a good thing since I was there during La Semana Santa which makes Antigua pretty crowded, so it was nice to get away from the crowd. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmenSandiego2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Villa Esthela. I booked a private budget room with shared bathroom which cost appx £6.50 per night. The room was small but very comfortable with plenty of storage space including a lockable cupboard. The shared bathroom was always clean & not once did have to wait to use it. I felt that the hostel was very safe & secure - the main gate to the street is locked every evening then there is the main door to the guesthouse beyond the gate. My only slight issue is that the hostel is located about 10 mins walk from the main square, so as a single female, walking back alone at night time could be a little intimidating. However there are taxis in the main square so not really an issue at all. The staff were very friendly & helpful. Finally, the roof terrace was amazing, offering fantastic views & chairs & hammocks to relax in. This is a very welcoming & homely hostal, great value, I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraZahara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Budget place in a great position, the terrace has a view of the volcanoes to die for. danielle is so helpful, room was spotless we had to share a bathroom but never had to wait, close enough to centre but also far enough to be quiet at night, i could not recommend too highly. pick up from airport was perfect book with confidence and enjoy

Room Tip: We had room on first floor which was just the best spot but all are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelagh899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hostal Antigua
Hostal Antigua
#23 of 105 in Antigua
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Colonial Antigua
Hostal Colonial Antigua
#42 of 105 in Antigua
13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Three Monkeys Hostel
Three Monkeys Hostel
#2 of 105 in Antigua
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hostal Antigueno
Hostal Antigueno
#12 of 105 in Antigua
61 reviews
0.7 mi away
A Place to Stay Hostel
A Place to Stay Hostel
#7 of 105 in Antigua
250 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostel Capitan Tom
Hostel Capitan Tom
#13 of 105 in Antigua
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Esthela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Esthela

Property: Villa Esthela
Address: Avenida Sur #48 - Interior A-3 2a, Antigua, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer both private rooms (singles, doubles, triples) as well as a shared room 'dorm' with 8 beds. All rooms are with shared bathroom. We aim to offer low-priced accommodation for the budget conscience traveler. This means we do not offer any luxuries but always try to have friendly staff, give the best possible service and a clean place to stay. We do have a big rooftop terrace with amazing views of Antigua. And additionally free wifi, reasonably warm showers, free coffee/tea, TV room with DVDs and a kitchen you can use to make your own meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Villa Esthela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing