We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal for an excellent hostel”
Review of Villa Esthela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Esthela
Ranked #28 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Antigua
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed at Villa Esthela for 4 nights with my partner. We had a private double room that worked perfectly for us. There was a locked armoire for clothes, etc, a writing desk, 2 beds!, and the hostel offered a selection of books to read on downtime, a rooftop terrace with hammocks, free water and use of the kitchen/fridge. It's just far enough away from central park to not be noisey, but still just a 5 minute walk. It was a great place to stay in a new city!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

At least for a solo traveller who wants a private room, this place is fantastic value. And the rooms are well equipped as well - I stayed in different rooms over a few stays, and always had drawers, a desk and a lockable cupboard. The showers genuinely have hot water (unlike the tepid dribbles that often come out in other hostels in Antigua) and the kitchen is fully equipped so that it is actually usable and with plenty of space to store food. Free tea, coffee and drinking water is an added bonus. Wifi that actually works throughout the hostel and not just in reception is also a nice benefit.
There is a lounge as well, although I didn't use it, and the roof terrace has great views of the volcanoes. It's a few blocks away from the centre so it's much quieter than most places, but it's still only 5 minutes walk from Parque Central.
Finally, the hostel can arrange a variety of shuttles and tours - and these are all very well priced. Many travel agents in Antigua will always try to add on a few dollars and it can get wearing having to negotiate to get the actual price every time - at the hostel you can be guaranteed to get the best price in town without any hassle.
I can't recommend this place highly enough - I've stayed in a number of hostels here, but I wouldn't go to any other one now.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_llrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Villa Esthela is a quaint hostel with an amazing rooftop terrace, probably the feature of the hostel. Our private room was comfortable with a shared bathroom next door. Rooms were clean and warm. 5 minute walk to the centre. It is great value for Antigua, staff were very helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Richie126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed at the guest house of the Villa Esthela hostel. It was a little copy of Antigua - peaceful, cute and has all one needs. The kitchen is well equipped, the inner yard is great. Rooms are clean, beds comfortable, air is a bit moldy.
The owners are really great, very helpful - before and during the stay. Had some good recommendations for eating and organized tours and transport that were all good.
The guesthouse is a bit of a walk from the center, but a great walk.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nocturne27p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed in Villa Estehla from 17 to 20th October and was really pleased with this small hostel. Though inexpensive it has a nice atmosphere and a fantastic terasse with a view to the volcanos surrounding Antigua. The rooms and the kitchen are clean, and Daniella - the owner - is very helpful and gives you all the information you need.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank Eva O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Villa Esthela is such a fantastic place to stay that we went back 3 times while we were in the area and it began to feel like home! It is run by someone who knows exactly what travellers want from a hostel. It was comfortable, friendly, affordable with very good facilities (the kitchen is well equipped for cooking almost anything - easily the best we've seen). Little touches like free tea and coffee, DVDs to watch in the living room and having things like a bedside lamp and mirror in the rooms were really welcome. Also, they can organise day trips or onwards transport- this service was good, convenient & a fair price. Our time in Antigua was great and this place was a big part of it - definitely recommended! (Just don't expect a lie-in on Sundays though- there is an evangelical church next door and they like to sing, a LOT!!)

Room Tip: We had room 8 (upstairs) most of the time and preferred this to the room we tried downstairs - its m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geranibub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This place is great with all the amenities the budget traveler needs! They have water, tea and coffee available at all times; a well stocked kitchen for your use; a lovely roof top deck with stunning views and a bar. Plus, the staff, especially the manager Juan, are wonderful, helpful and friendly. The hostel also helps you with travel arrangements and tours if you need it. I highly recommend a stay here when in Antigua.

Room Tip: A room on the first floor has better internet connectivity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amelia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hostal Antigua
Hostal Antigua
#25 of 124 in Antigua
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Three Monkeys Hostel
Three Monkeys Hostel
#2 of 124 in Antigua
172 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#10 of 124 in Antigua
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cucuruchos Boutique Hostel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#53 of 75 in Antigua
256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Esthela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Esthela

Address: Avenida Sur #48 - Interior A-3 2a, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Antigua
Price Range: £10 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer both private rooms (singles, doubles, triples) as well as a shared room 'dorm' with 8 beds. All rooms are with shared bathroom. We aim to offer low-priced accommodation for the budget conscience traveler. This means we do not offer any luxuries but always try to have friendly staff, give the best possible service and a clean place to stay. We do have a big rooftop terrace with amazing views of Antigua. And additionally free wifi, reasonably warm showers, free coffee/tea, TV room with DVDs and a kitchen you can use to make your own meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Villa Esthela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing