We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Esthela
Nearby Hotels
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porta Hotel Antigua(Antigua)
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$278
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Yellow House(Antigua)(Great Value!)
US$21
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
45
41
20
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
41
20
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate roomnice rooftop barpor que nonight guardpleasant place to stayshared bathroomguatemala tripminute walkother guestsfiltered waterdormtvhostelbedswifilockersplaza
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed at Villa Esthela for 4 nights with my partner. We had a private double room that worked perfectly for us. There was a locked armoire for clothes, etc, a writing desk, 2 beds!, and the hostel offered a selection of books to read on downtime, a rooftop terrace with hammocks, free water and use of the kitchen/fridge. It's just far enough away from central park to not be noisey, but still just a 5 minute walk. It was a great place to stay in a new city!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

At least for a solo traveller who wants a private room, this place is fantastic value. And the rooms are well equipped as well - I stayed in different rooms over a few stays, and always had drawers, a desk and a lockable cupboard. The showers genuinely have hot water (unlike the tepid dribbles that often come out in other hostels in Antigua) and the kitchen is fully equipped so that it is actually usable and with plenty of space to store food. Free tea, coffee and drinking water is an added bonus. Wifi that actually works throughout the hostel and not just in reception is also a nice benefit.
There is a lounge as well, although I didn't use it, and the roof terrace has great views of the volcanoes. It's a few blocks away from the centre so it's much quieter than most places, but it's still only 5 minutes walk from Parque Central.
Finally, the hostel can arrange a variety of shuttles and tours - and these are all very well priced. Many travel agents in Antigua will always try to add on a few dollars and it can get wearing having to negotiate to get the actual price every time - at the hostel you can be guaranteed to get the best price in town without any hassle.
I can't recommend this place highly enough - I've stayed in a number of hostels here, but I wouldn't go to any other one now.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_llrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Villa Esthela is a quaint hostel with an amazing rooftop terrace, probably the feature of the hostel. Our private room was comfortable with a shared bathroom next door. Rooms were clean and warm. 5 minute walk to the centre. It is great value for Antigua, staff were very helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Richie126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed at the guest house of the Villa Esthela hostel. It was a little copy of Antigua - peaceful, cute and has all one needs. The kitchen is well equipped, the inner yard is great. Rooms are clean, beds comfortable, air is a bit moldy.
The owners are really great, very helpful - before and during the stay. Had some good recommendations for eating and organized tours and transport that were all good.
The guesthouse is a bit of a walk from the center, but a great walk.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nocturne27p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed in Villa Estehla from 17 to 20th October and was really pleased with this small hostel. Though inexpensive it has a nice atmosphere and a fantastic terasse with a view to the volcanos surrounding Antigua. The rooms and the kitchen are clean, and Daniella - the owner - is very helpful and gives you all the information you need.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank Eva O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews