We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean but very small dorm rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Antigua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Antigua
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Clean but very small dorm rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

This hostal was clean, had friendly staff and the free purified water had a nice touch to the atmosphere. However, the 4-bed Dorm that I stayed in was extremely small, which meant that whenever someone woke up early to use the bathroom, he or she would wake everyone else up. If I were to go back, I'd opt for the single (although the price skyrockets from a $7 for a 4-Bed Dorm to $37 to a Single) or try to get a cheaper single in an another hostal.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    59
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
4
49
58
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Seriously the best hostel I've stayed in here in Guatemala (for similar price range). Super clean. Comfortable beds. Little benefits that add up like free purified water, nice rooftop terrace, small but nicely stocked kitchen, towels and soap in the dorms, etc. Great location. Super friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ada B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We were super glad we found this place!
After arriving in Antigua, we discovered over and over of Antigua hostels being infested with bed bugs(!), but NOT this place=) We did a very thorough check of the beds here (because of our first bug experiences in Antigua) and they were definitely clean (no evidence that they ever had bugs).
Past that, the beds were comfortable, the rooms and bathrooms very clean, the staff were friendly, it was nice quiet at night, the kitchen was well stocked with everything needed, and it's close to city center. All that matched with the fact that it's one of the most economical options in all of Antigua, makes this place an AWESOME choice!

We stayed here for about a week, loved every day of it.

Room Tip: Word is out on this spot so definitely make reservations for you full stay. Past that, I don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onlinepersona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

great place for the price. quiet, clean, good working facilities, and a nice little roofdeck with a decent view of the surrounding volcanoes. we found it to be in walking distance of the main city square and most of the city, with lots of nice restaurants/bars around that area in general. (btw - we traveled in July 2011).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

$5 a night for a dorm bed, plus a Hot shower! On demand hot water that does not run out! Though they have five or six private rooms, it is hard to go wrong for dorm beds that are five bucks. Private rooms are a steal as well, $25-$35 a room, but the showers are better in the dorms. Book in advance, this place does fill up. The dorm in the back is the one that you want. Test the beds, some are comfier than others. WI-FI signal is great, strong and clear. The computer that they have in the lobby is ancient and slow. Bring your own or go to Mono Loco and pay by the hour.

We stayed at a handful of different places in Antigua, and this one is the best. I traveled solo and stayed here and with my husband. They are so nice, and one night when they were full, they found us a place nearby, for the same price for a private room

The staff is super friendly and helpful. We arranged for private Spanish instruction through them, and it was very affordable. (Much cheaper than a school, and, the money goes directly into the teachers pockets, and not to the cost of running the school.) The staff helped us to make phone calls several times, to negotiate taxi's and tours.

This place is extremely clean. The mattresses in the dorms are very new, and everything is thoroughly cleaned everyday, including all linen. Towels and soap are included. The bathrooms are big, well lit, and pristine.

Laundry is affordable on site, and can be dropped off in the morning. Free purified water on site.

The location can't be beat. Two blocks off of the main square, and very close to some great restaurants. Plenty of good cheap eats. Antigua is more expensive than other parts of the country, but with a five dollar a night bed, there is a little room to splurge on food.

Ask to see the location of your locker when picking a bed. Some are harder to reach than others.

Best place in Antigua. Breakfast is not included, but don't pay more for breakfast at another hostal. It is not worth it, as breakfast is very cheap nearby.

Room Tip: Get the back dorm. Take a shower here! On demand hot water! It is not an electric shower head. Temp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
257 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

By Guatemalan standards it is worth 4 stars, by US standards 3. But it is nice and clean, has a, friendly and capable staff, offers dorm rooms, singles and doubles with private baths. A rooftop patio is a delightful spot to relax. Nice decor too. Two blocks from the central plaza. Wi-fi plus a computer in the officina. Good value for Antigua. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: There are less than 10 rooms. They will gladly give you your choice. Dorm rooms hold 3 or 4 person...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilfromDayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

In early November of last year I stayed at this hostel and boy could I have stayed longer! When I first arrived I was greeted by genuine smiles from the front desk staff and they never wore off the entire six nights I stayed there. The 12-bed dorm room was spacious, with lockers for each guest. The two dorm bathrooms were cleaned daily and even the shower curtain was changed every day - that's practically unheard of in other hostels. There is a small but functional kitchen upstairs on the terrace and the market is about a 10-minute walk away where one can buy anything one needs. WIFI worked fine for me in the dorm and on the terrace. The views of the surrounding volcanoes were pretty spectacular from the rooftop. The central park is two blocks away and everything in that part of Antigua is within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theladylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#49 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Capitan Tom
Hostel Capitan Tom
#12 of 98 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Antigueno
Hostal Antigueno
#11 of 98 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostel Restaurante Casa Jacaranda
0.3 mi away
Jungle Party Hostal Club & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
El Hostal Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Antigua

Property: Hostal Antigua
Address: 5th Ave sur # 22, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 98 Speciality Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great hostel, 1 blk from Antigua's Parque Central. Private & dorm rooms w/private bath in each room, cable TV & free fast Wi-Fi. Rooftop terrace with views, kitchen for guest to use, laundry service, secure lockers & travel services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing