We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comforts of home in historic Guatemalan city”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garage and Patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Garage and Patio
Newly Painted
Newly Painted Hallway
Looking up to Kitchen's Cupula
Hallway
Entrance to Master Bedroom
Bathtub. This was built May 2012
2nd bedroom
3rd Bedroom
One of the bathrooms
Patio
Stairs to Terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Denise P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comforts of home in historic Guatemalan city”
Reviewed 28 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This home was perfect for our overnight stay in Antigua. We've already booked it again! The home has a lot of local character and we enjoyed having space to spread out, having the kitchen for breakfast and snacks, and having the living and dining room area for games at night. We parked our car securely off the street within the locked doors of the home. Rosita made sure everything was clean and well stocked for us. Carlos, the owner, stopped by to meet us and explain everything and was a wonderful host. The internet worked well. We loved the inside patio and the spiral staircases to the roof terrace and to the upstairs bedroom nook. And we were able to walk all over Antigua from this home--it is very convenient to everything!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character, convenience, size, price
Liked least: Would have liked a king size bed
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crock1972
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place, great experience!”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We couldn't have had better service! We loved the property and location. Hot water, wifi and large open spaces! You have gone way above what we asked for. Thank you for working with our budget! We look forward to returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2015
I'm glad we were able to provide the accommodations and services you needed for such a large group. We hope you come back, you will always be welcome in our houses. Thanks for your kind comments and for taking care of the house. I really appreciate it. Please come again! Sincerely, Carlos
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcofC52...
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Nice home , great location and and owner that cares .”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We just came back from Holly Week in Antigua (3/29/2015 to 4/05/2015). We rented this property for a week and I am glad I did. My group consisted of two senior couples and my wife and I . The house location is at walking distance from many of the historical places on a quiet wide street away from the noisy restaurants and bars . There is plenty of little stores and restaurants at walking distance . The house is comfortable , clean and with everything you need for a long or short stay .The whole process of renting this property was easy with Carlos and he really cares and wants to make sure you are 100% satisfied with the property .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location , on quiet street at walking distance of historical sites.
Liked least: There nothing that i didnt like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2015
Hi Marco, it was a pleasure to meet you and your family. I'm glad you had a good time in the house and in Antigua. Holy Week is special time of the year in Antigua. All the religious activities make a very special place. Thanks for taking care of our house. I really appreciate it. Please know that you are welcome to come back anytime. Sincerely, Carlos
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bsk2015
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Great host, great house, great location”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We couldn't have been happier with our host, Carlos Santacruz; the house; or the Antigua location. The house is located on a street within walking distance of all historical sites and restaurants in Antigua, as well as within walking distance of the major indoor and outdoor markets. In addition to the indoor areas of the house, we took full advantage of the rooftop terrace and garden area. We liked that the property was Guatemalan-owned, traditional in style but with modern amenities, and not in a gated community. Carlos was accessible at all times; arranged transportation for various family members who arrived at different times, and even drove my husband to and from the airport himself; provided a wonderful breakfast/tea bread for our consumption; and loaned me a cell phone for the duration of my stay in Antigua (which was longer than the period of the house rental), which was definitely way beyond anything that was required or expected.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our host, the kitchen, the roof terrace, the location
Liked least: No negative comments
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2015
Hi Karen, it was a pleasure to meet you and your family. I'm glad I could be of service. I hope you can come back again. Thanks for taking care of the house. Best wishes to you and your family. Remember you have friends in Guatemala. Sincerely, Carlos
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klr1213
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exactly what we wanted”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Carlos was a great host and made sure we had everything we needed. The property was clean and in good condition, exactly as advertised. We had fresh water, soap and shampoo/conditioner in the bathrooms and a fantastic rooftop where we could look at the stars. The location is perfectly located on a quiet street within walking distance of hustle and bustle of the city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Courtyard
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2015
I'm really glad the house met your expectation. Thanks for taking care of it. Please know that you are welcome anytime. I hope you can come back again. Sincerely, Carlos
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed V
1 review
“The house was great, but what impressed us most was our host, Carlos Santacruz.”
Reviewed 30 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Our host, Carlos Santacruz, was fantastic. He helped us with our transportation needs and came by to make sure everything was all right. He personally went to the airport to get our granddaughter who came in separately and arrived before us when our flight was delayed. The house was great! It was very comfortable. The garden was very pretty. It has all the amenities we needed. The location was great. It was within walking distance of everything we wanted to see. We will rent it again when we return to Guatemala.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The host
Liked least: We had no negative experiences.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2015
Hi Ed, thank you for your kind comments. I'm glad you enjoyed the house and I'm grateful for taking good care of it. It was a pleasure meeting you. Please know you are welcome anytime in Guatemala and particularly in Antigua. Thank you for your help and work with what you and your family do in Guatemala. I really appreciate it and wish you the best in the future. Sincerely, Carlos
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Traveling Alone”
Reviewed 24 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

As I was Traveling Alone I did not need this big of the rental, but since Carlos' house was not rented for the week he made me a deal. Additionally, when I arrived in Antigua I was sick. When he realized that I did not feel like going to town for food or money, he offered to do both. He also checked on me a couple of times during the week to see how I was doing and if I needed anything else and made it clear that I could call him if I needed anything else.

Needless to say, it was a Godsend to have a safe, comfortable, clean place to stay during this time. He also gave me suggestions on where to connect for additional day trips

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Carlos' attentiveness, location.
Liked least: Cant think of a thing that I did not like.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2015
Hi Linda, Thanks for sharing about your trip and your travel experience in Antigua. I'm glad you were able to shake your cold. Thanks for the positive comments about the house and myself. I really appreciate it. Please know that you are welcome to come back anytime and you have friends in Guatemala. Thanks for your contribution to help the people of Guatemala during your mission. You'll find that as they say 'what goes around, comes around' Sincerely, Carlos
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing