We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, safe, and very close to everything!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Tradiciones Antigua
Ranked #14 of 135 Antigua B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 September 2012

This is a very small but charming hotel right in the middle of Antigua. There are maybe 4-5 rooms that open up to a beautiful garden. Our room was perfect with its own beautifully tiled bathroom. A lovely living area adjoins the dining room and kitchen. Each morning there was fresh coffee, fruit, breads, cereal, pancakes, and made-to-order eggs that Beatriz was so sweet to prepare for us. We always had fresh water in our room. It is impeccably clean. I also loved that it was so safe. The front door has a doorbell that was answered promptly to let us in. It was just blocks from the town square with tons of coffee shops and places to eat. It was a wonderful place to stay and if we ever go back to Antigua, we will definitely choose Hotel Tradiciones :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marcy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

We LOVED this place. The decor was beautiful, the breakfast (included) was delicious and Karla and Beatriz were lovely and helpful. We arrived late after a LONG day and Karla took us right up to our room with out making us go through any of the standard check-in procedure. And what a room. We were lucky enough to be bumped up to the suite (for no added cost) b/c all the other rooms were full. It is AMAZING. While it costs more money, it is definitely worth it. If you are going to splurge on any room during your trip this would be the one. Not only is the room huge with a gorgeous bathroom, but you have a view of the volcano from your french doors that open up to a roof top area with even better views. I loved Anitgua in general, but having the suite to come home to every night made it even better. Even if you don't get the suite you will still enjoy your stay as the whole complex is beautiful with a sitting room and a roof top view of the volcano for everyone to enjoy. Other posts mention that the day time staff doesn't speak english. It is true that Beatriz speaks almost no english but she was very kind and we saw her looking up how to say something to us in english on google translate, which was very sweet. Karla is there most of the time and her english is great.

Definitely book this place and you won't be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pipedreamforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

It was our pleasure to stay at this wonderful property in Antigua in August, 2012. There is a small interior open-air courtyard with a fountain, a rooftop terrace with lounge chairs, a lovely living room with fireplace and plenty of comfortable seating. Our room was bright and spacious, with plenty of hot water in the tiled bathroom. Although the hotel is only 3 years old, it has an air of colonial ambiance, and wonderful little decorative touches. It is only a few blocks from the main plaza - an easy walk. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and gracious - they provided bottled water for us, breakfast was cooked to order, and on our departure day, Beatriz got up at 3:30 AM to see us off! That was service above and beyond our wildest expectations. Our host Karla was charming and knowledgeable, and we are happy to write this glowing review of her property. We paid $85/night for this fabulous inn, and consider it a terrific value for our dollar.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DonnaandCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

It's definitely one of the best hotels I've ever stayed. Been there with my girlfriend for a weekend, and we found that the rooms are very comfortable, the decoration is beautiful and the staff is really great.

It is not a large place, but there is enough space in each room and it's rather quiet too, so we had a very relaxing time. Privacy is not an issue, even in the lower floor rooms, wich are closer to the living room. There are bigger and more expensive hotels where accessing to some of the rooms is a bit uncomfortable, due to original design of the buildings (colonial style), but that's not a problem here. The terrace is a nice spot, very quiet with a nice view to the mountains surrounding the city. Unfortunately it was raining during our visit, so we couldn't spend as much time on the terrace as we wanted to.

We usually like going out to eat, but since breakfast is included, we decided to try it. It's a nice meal, pretty much everything you'd like to have for breakfast... fruit, cereal, eggs, beans, ham and cheese, orange juice, tea, and coffee, etc.

Beatriz was the person in charge when we visited the hotel. She was very kind and helpful, always in her place and paying attention to the guests.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RcBarillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel in September 2011.

We showed up without any prior booking the night of. It cost us about $70/night and it included breakfast.
The place was very clean, very safe and had hot water. I went out the next morning to look around at different/cheaper hotels, but they weren't as nice as this place.
Elizabeth did a great job of running the hotel, she was up early to make breakfast and stayed up when he guests came home late.

Overall a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c0c0_pie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This is a quite new and small hotel with only a few rooms. As I was there in low season there were days I had the hotel completely to myself. The hotel was very clean, warm water worked fine and the staff were always friendly and doing their best to help out with whatever was needed.
The hotel has a roof terrace which is a great place to relax and admire the volcano and great landscape around Antigua.
The location has just the right distance of being in a quiet neighborhood but still being able to walk to the central park square in around 5 minutes. There are some small neighborhood stores which supply water and groceries in the streets nearby.
The breakfast was a highlight, being typical guatemalan, thus including eggs, spicy tomato sauce and beans. A perfect start to explore Antigua!

Room Tip: Rooms located go towards a patio and are thus a bit darker, while rooms on the first floor have more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lavacaniere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

nice place to stay, but it was a bit basic for the price ($85 per night) - rooms are fairly basic, but still quite pretty/romantic with exposed brickwork and beams. It's also a bit out of the central part of the town. It does have a beautiful and peaceful roof terrace and the staff were very friendly and did a fantastic breakfast.
Unfortunately the staff didn't speak a word of English, which was a little disappointing given that email exchanges had all been in English and the price was at the premium end of the hotel market in the town. We had experience of 3 other hotels all on 3a calle poniente and each of those had staff who could speak at least some English, so if you don't speak any spanish at all this might not be the best place to stay!
If you do stay then the biggest suite looks like the best one to stay in - didn't stay in it ourselves, but had an opportunity to peek our heads round the door when it was empty on our first day there and it was a beautiful room - very big, with wide screen tv, walk-in wardrobe and massive bathroom with big tub (much better than our twin room with small shower room and little tv) - bit more expensive to stay in that room though.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.0 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quinta de las Flores
Quinta de las Flores
#14 of 75 in Antigua
292 reviews
0.0 mi away
The San Rafael Hotel
The San Rafael Hotel
#1 of 75 in Antigua
302 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#45 of 75 in Antigua
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tradiciones Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tradiciones Antigua

Address: 1 Calle Oriente 34 C | Alameda Santa Rosa, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range: £57 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have five comfortable rooms those invite you to rest in a natural way, wrapped in a warm and welcoming, letting her thoughts wander to distant times where the Spanish lived in these beautiful lands surrounded by its beautiful volcanoes.We offer you rooms with beautiful architectural details, colors and furnishings in keeping the environment that will allow you to welcome the rest of the body and mind. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing