We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Tradiciones Antigua
Ranked #10 of 127 Antigua B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Felt like home”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Hotel is absolutely precious! Rooms were all lovely. Suggestion would be to have a slightly larger tv (one room has a very tiny tv..) rooms were all cleaned and sheets/towels changed everyday. Common areas were really nice. Spacious. Wifi connection every were. Breakfast every morning. Fruit, ham, cheese, plantains, beans and eggs. Fresh juice. Hot coffee. My suggestion is to change the breakfast menu occasionally. Perhaps a sweet breakfast, pancakes, French toast, crepes.

The overall experience was absolutely wonderful. The staff is supper friendly. Beatriz is such a sweetheart! And her helper is great too. They make a great team.

It's a great hotel within walking distance from everything in Antigua. If you don't mind walking the location is perfect. For older ladies, the walk may be too much because of the cobble stones and unsafe holes. Watch your step!

Basically this will be my perfect stay in Antigua!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bgarci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
49
19
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I can't say enough about the charm & warmth of this property & Beatriz who was so sweet & helpful! Our daughter lives nearby, so it was the perfect location for us. The king suite was HUGE, clean & tastefully decorated. It is a short walk to the fabulous restaurants & shops. We loved the views from the rooftop terrace. Breakfast was good; fresh fruit, eggs cooked to order & pancakes each morning. We highly recommend this hotel if you find yourself in Antigua!

Room Tip: If you want privacy the suite on the second floor is nice. All rooms looked charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here in February 2014, and loved it! It is a lovely place, and the staff was was welcoming and helpful. They made sure everything was perfect. The location is good, an easy walk to the center of town. It is a really wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piracicaba, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This is a great hotel I love it. I went to assist to meting about Forest Stakeholders and due to it´s a small hotel I can concentrate optimal in my business…The Beatriz´ attention it´s wonderful. I stayed in the Suit, spectacular, Jacuzzi, fireplace…the room is enormous... I want to return… for holydays…

Room Tip: take the suit.... have jacuzzi.....wonderfull
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lily g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed at this B&B for four days in February 2014 and were thoroughly pleased. The accommodations were nice and clean and the staff (especially Beatriz) went out of their way to see to it that you were enjoying your stay and everything was to your liking. As an example, on the first morning, we asked if they had hot chocolate. They didn't but the next two mornings, they made sure they did.

It's just such a delightful B&B. We thought our room was beautiful and charming as well as the rest of the B&B, with the courtyard and rooftop terrace. We also found the location to be nice. It's just blocks from the center of town.

Overall, it was fantastic and we cannot recommend this B&B enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

I chose this hotel after much research on where to stay in Antigua. My husband and I were very happy with my choice. The rooms are beautiful and clean - super charming and full of Antiguan character. The city has a bit of a European/Guatemalan fusion feel and so does the hotel.
The hotel arranged pick up for us at the airport. The driver had a sign with our name on it and was right on time. This was extra, but totally worth it, since at $40 it was about the same as a cab ride anyway.
The breakfast - which is of course included in the price is delicious and varied. Pancakes are a welcome break when you've been surviving off eggs and beans in the rest of the country.
The rooms and bathrooms are clean and comfortable. My husband got a little hot at night, but there was a fan and really I was fine.
The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. We didn't require much, but did reserve a shuttle to another city for us easily.
The location is in walking distance of everything in town. It's a little on the edge and more residential than some, but we still never took a cab. At night, walking back from the restaurants, the streets get a bit quiet and empty - so you might consider taking a cab just for safety's sake. Of course, we never took one and didn't have any problems.
All in all, I certainly recommend this hotel. It's excellent value for what you pay. We will likely stay there again when we come back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TellAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here four nights during February 2014. During our first stay of three nights we had the room on the street side and it was a bit noisy at night, but very comfortable and clean and nicely decorated. We decided to return for a fourth night at the end of our trip and this time had the suite upstairs. Outstanding in every respect, including the views of the garden and volcano! The common areas of the hotel (actually a B&B) are beautifully restored, decorated and maintained including a delightful courtyard and garden. Beatriz was extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#25 of 76 in Antigua
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#8 of 76 in Antigua
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#9 of 76 in Antigua
205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 76 in Antigua
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tradiciones Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tradiciones Antigua

Property: Hotel Tradiciones Antigua
Address: 1 Calle Oriente 34 C | Alameda Santa Rosa, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have five comfortable rooms those invite you to rest in a natural way, wrapped in a warm and welcoming, letting her thoughts wander to distant times where the Spanish lived in these beautiful lands surrounded by its beautiful volcanoes.We offer you rooms with beautiful architectural details, colors and furnishings in keeping the environment that will allow you to welcome the rest of the body and mind. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing