We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porta Hotel Antigua(Antigua)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$308
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 22/07
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
113
10
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
10
2
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Arrived at the hotel and once situated in our room, there were several things that we noticed right away. First, there was an unpleasant odor. This odor worsened when the water in the bathroom was turned on. The "bathroom" was very small - I could wash my hands, empty my bladder, and (almost) take a shower without leaving the same spot. There was no air conditioning but this isn't the worst thing in the world as the temperatures were not hot. There was also a dog somewhere close that continually barked for about two hours (up until we left the hotel to find some friends). Hot water was available if you were willing to wait 5-10 minutes. All in all, it just left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2016

We really loved this place. It's charming, and our room (the second floor suite) was very clean, beautifully decorated, great view across the rooftop to the volcano. Karla's English is good, and she was very helpful, arranging rides for us and answering questions. She's not a native of Antigua, so we didn't find her the perfect person to help us plan our day, but she gave us brochures and helped us track down information. The rooftop is a fabulous place to spend an hour or two with a beverage and a book - the most amazing views of the city, of gardens, of the mountains. No complaints about the shower as I saw in another review - my husband took a cold shower because he turned it the wrong way, but I turned it the right way and had a lovely shower.
Breakfast was very good, although we were there for five morning, and would have enjoyed a little more variety. But good coffee and excellent fresh fruit every day makes me happy...they also made some really good salsa for the eggs.
I would absolutely stay here again. For us, this is the right kind of place - beautiful, clean, great bed, the right kind of charm to make you feel like you're someplace special. I am not a fancy chain hotel kind of person...I love these unique places that I remember fondly as adding to the vacation experience, rather than just a place to stay.
We had trouble with wifi when we first arrived, but Karla contacted someone to troubleshoot, and helped get it going.

Room Tip: Loved our suite on the 2nd floor-more $ than the other rooms, but still reasonable compared to comparably nice places in other countries.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

I was so disappointed in this hotel, that we only stayed there an hour. I told my husband that I didn't care what it cost, but we had to find another place to stay. We were the only people there. No one spoke English. We couldn't get the wifi to work. You had to let the water run for 10 minutes before it got hot. There was a dog howling non-stop for the hour we were there. Sounded like it was locked up somewhere close to our room. They want payment in cash. No Credit cards. BEWARE!! I do not recommend this place to anyone!!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank lydaclan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla G, Gerente at Hotel Tradiciones Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2016

I really sorry for your bad experience with us, we work hard to trying make the stay of our guest a pleasant
1. I wrote to your husband told him that the day you arrived would be my day off; I am the person who attend guest and I speak English. This day I would return in the afternoon.
2. You never said nothing about the problem with wifi signal to the person in the front desk, because she could have helped.
3. We can´t control what happen with the neigbour´s dog. And we can´t complain for that with them at 3pm o´clock of the day in a regular day. When you were trying to sleep. I sorry for that.
4. Your husband knew very well about our payment way, and he accepted since the first time he wrote a month and half before your arrival.
5. The time for hot shower is 3 min. probably you turn to the wrong side the shower handle.
6. I really regret this complain. But I sincerely believe that you are blaming us for your anger due your previous problems of losing your connecting flight and the loss of your luggage where you had party clothes for the wedding you attended.
7. Even you were not our guest anymore, I was helping to your husband the next day calling to airline office asking about your lost luggage when he came to ask me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2016

Karla is wonderfully friendly and helpful, the place has only 5 rooms/suite so it's very quiet. Perfect breakfast served as you like (thanks Vanessa) and we know that those little attentions are making the difference : I felt at home there. And the view from the rooftop is simply the best you can imagine in Antigua! I'm loooking forward to coming again there!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on 2nd floor ;) more light
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amelie509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016

This hotel is in a beautiful building in the northeast quadrant of the old city. It is an easy walk to the central square and two blocks from the city's fanciest hotel, St. Domingo. We stayed in the master suite, which was incredibly luxurious and about half the price of a basic room at St. Domingo. The room was huge with a very comfortable king-size bed. The room has a functioning fireplace that we used on a cool night--very romantic. The bathroom adds to the romance; it has a two person jacuzzi that provides instant relaxation after long days of sight seeing. French doors lead to a large balcony overlooking the hotels central courtyard. A stairway from the balcony leads to a roof deck that provides great views in all directions. Carla and her staff were friendly and efficient. Breakfast is big and delicious and served in a dining room with old-time charm. I will definitely choose this hotel (and, if possible, the same room) the next time I go to Antigua.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews