We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable but needs minor fine tuning” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa Bella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Casa Bella
Ranked #46 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
182 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Very comfortable but needs minor fine tuning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

Highlights:

- The staff: Always smiling, extremely polite and helpful.

- The coffee: one of the best I had in Guatemala.

- Location: close enough to the main plaza that you can walk there, far enough that you don't suffocate.

Problems:

- Hungry after having breakfast. Needs 1 more item.

- Our room was the first one on the right as you enter the hotel, adjacent to the entrance hall/bar and because of its location a) you're often woken up by music at really weird times like 8am b) smoking in the entrance hall is immediately felt in the room.

- Trying to charge us more for the second night (the first night was paid via booking.com) because we "picked a different room" than in our original booking when we checked in. Reality of course is that we were told we could choose ANY room we liked when checking in for the same price. Unnecessary.

Having said all this, will I stay here again? Definitely.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank djopm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaBellaAntigua, Owner at Hotel Casa Bella, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you for your review. I have never received a negative comment about the breakfast before, but I would like to tell you that asking for seconds at Casa Bella is permitted and we hate to send away our guests hungry :) Since then, I would like to inform you that we have a CHef solely dedicated to the breakfast and he has received many compliments from our guests and from myself.

There is no smoking in the hotel, however some guests do get away with sneaking a cigarette in the garden, or in your case, on the street as you had the room with the street facing window. My apologies!

I remember your booking and do remember that a single room was requested and paid for. But, i think because it was during the week that we upgraded you to a double queen room at no extra charge. What might have happened was if you stayed during the week through booking.com and then stayed the extra night on a Friday or Saturday, the price does go up on weekends. We would never try to over charge our guests because we want you all to come back!

We are always trying to improve and satisfy our guests. That is our goal at Casa Bella, thank you for your comments and suggestions. Happy Traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    25
    11
    5
    10
See reviews for
16
42
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

The hotel staff are friendly, a bit slow to open the main door. The hotel is in a great central location and is very lovely. However it lacks parking and the rooms have an unfinished feel to them. The rooms (unless you get one of the suites upstairs) have no windows or AC,making them quite stuffy. There is a fan, which helps some.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guatechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaBellaAntigua, Owner at Hotel Casa Bella, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
GuateChic, Thank you for your review. We have recently installed a doorbell and cameras to constantly check on the main door. We do have a security door at the main entrance and that is because our guests' safety is of the highest concern, we apologize for the delay. The hotel was renovated from an old colonial residence to the nicer more open style we now have last year; Antigua has many laws protecting the old walls that are still used in the hotel so we can not simply put in windows, however we do have plans to add a central air system and skylights in the rooms without windows in the off-season. We hope to have you stay with us again in the near future to see our improvements first hand. Happy Traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

The owner and staff are great but...they have water supply issues. We went out for the night and wanted to shower when we returned and had NO water in the shower...just a trickle? There seems to be water pressure and availability issues. Next we got up in the morning only to find we had a parking ticket for 200Q after having a permit For the previous day and it is impossible to buy a new parking permit while you are sleeping...ticket was around 8am Sunday morning. Luckily the staff member got hold of the police and got it removed. We really had higher expectations.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GPSMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaBellaAntigua, Owner at Hotel Casa Bella, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thanks for your comments. We had been struggling to find the source of the water supply issue and after some time and hefty investment we had finally narrowed it down and corrected the problem. We apologize for the parking ticket, but Antigua is becoming increasingly smaller and now the municipality are creating bi-laws to make it more pedestrian friendly. We do work with a private parking lot about 2-3 blocks away and we would gladly arrange for your car to be parked there the next time you stay with us. On-site parking is something we simply do not have... but the view from our terrace is like no other in Antigua!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We looked around at a few places in Antigua and found this to be a nice place with good value. The rooms are clean and cozy, very nice decor. The courtyard leads upstairs to a nice terrace with amazing views of the volcano and surrounding areas. the staff very very friendly and accommodating (Angelica and Henri), called cabs for us, made a reservation in Guatemala. In fact, Angelica was so friendly and involved I thought she was the owner! Very comfortable place with great service. The hotel is only a year old (in July 2012) so everything is in top shape. Th only thing I noted was there are a few areas that still looked unfinished. But this hardly detracted from our stay....

Room Tip: If you can get the room with the window. We stayed in two rooms without a window and one of them was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ddmac9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaBellaAntigua, Owner at Hotel Casa Bella, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you very much for your fantastic review. This is what makes everything worthwhile. I had showed this review to my staff and they were extremely happy, thank you for that! We are very pleased that you had a wonderful time with us and that you could take advantage of the breathtaking views from the terrace. It was great meeting you both and we look forward to having you stay with us again, our doors are always open!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

I stayed at Casa Bella this October based on a friend's recommendation and was VERY impressed. The owner and front desk people we friendly, helpful, and very knowledgable about the area. The location is great, so great in fact that we often just walked out the door with no plan-and always found beautiful sites within just a few blocks!

Location-very close to the main plaza and great food. Don't miss the mayan laundry literally steps from the hotel door. Also, an unassuming old church just a block or two away was one of the highlights of our wanderings.

Rooms-Very big and comfortable beds! The shower was very cute and the beds were the most comfortable of our entire trip in Guatemala.

The VIEW- Make sure to take your breakfast up on the roof, the view is splendid!

Overall top notch-we really loved this place!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aroundtheworld2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaBellaAntigua, Owner at Hotel Casa Bella, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
It was great meeting you and as I mentioned in one of the other responses, i showed this review to my staff too and they were quite content. Thank you for your great review. I hope that others come, stay, enjoy and have experiences like the one you had. We take pride in the comfort of the rooms and in the one of a kind views from our terrace. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights with a buddy while we hiked the volcanoes and the service was awesome and the rooms were clean. Very accommodating! Would recommend to anyone.. Have a drink with the owner Chris on the rooftop terrace with incredible views of the volcanoes.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crazzylocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaBellaAntigua, Owner at Hotel Casa Bella, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
I remember you guys quite well. Thanks for your amazing review and recommendation. I'm happy that you enjoyed your room and got a chance to relax after your hike up that massive volcano. We have made quite a few changes to the terrace and are sure that you will be impressed. Hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

I first stayed here with all of my co-teachers on a school arranged trip. We all had a great time and I have been back twice since then. The atmosphere is classy colonial and the service is unbeatable. The staff are very helpful without being too in your face. The rooms are very comfortable and private. The courtyard is framed by a super stylish staircase that leads up to a rooftop deck that is perfect for enjoying food, drinks and stellar views of the volcanoes and the iconic cross that overlooks Antigua. To top it all off, it's right around the corner from the main square, making it possible to walk to all the restaurants, bars and markets of Antigua. I would recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in Antigua.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pete c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.5 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#9 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Convento Santa Catalina
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#23 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Catedral
Hotel la Catedral
#15 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#5 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#25 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Bella

Property: Hotel Casa Bella
Address: 2da. Avenida sur No. 5, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Bella 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Bella is beautifully designed boutique hotel located in the center of Antigua. Each of our 8 rooms are complete with high-speed WiFi, telephones, flat screen TVs with cable, pillow top mattresses, rainforest shower heads and suites with jacuzzi. Breakfast is included as well as a smile upon arrival. Customer service is of the utmost importance to us and look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Casa Bella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing