We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and well located, but overpriced!”
Review of Hotel Casa Bella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Bella
Ranked #40 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We spent a night at Casa Bella and were pleased with the location, the service and the decoration of the room on the top floor. Having had an opportunity to compare with other hotels in Antigua, I must however say that it was overpriced: the room was small, and as indicated by another reviewer, there wasn't enough hot water to fill the jacuzzi. We had previously stayed a few blocks away at Sor Juana Hotel, which, for a significantly lower price, have superb rooms twice that size and a fantastic terrace with amazing views. We would have enjoyed Casa Bella at half the price it was, but would certainly not recommend it at its current price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beatrice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaBellaAntigua, Owner at Hotel Casa Bella, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for your review, as mentioned before we have recently installed a heater solely for the jacuzzi. Casa Bella is competitively priced with other hotels in the same category, I have not heard of the other hotel with big rooms and amazing views from the terrace but i can assure you that we use luxury linens, duvets, give a great breakfast with complimentary coffee throughout the day and free wifi! There are many, many hostals and guest houses to choose from in Antigua that have nice terraces and big dorm rooms. But speaking about hotels, in terms of quality they are all quite reasonably priced and have great customer service. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Casa Bella. It is just two blocks from the main square yet completely peaceful and safe. We felt right at home, got to know the staff and were taken care of as family. The prices include a lovely breakfast with fruit, choice of eggs, juice, toast, coffees, etc. They were always ready to help with directions, recommendations and arrangements. Lovely manager Angelica and the whole team was very professional. We arrived too early but were allowed to use an unreserved room to rest until ours was prepared. We slept with the windows open and it was so peaceful. After staying in other hotels with more amenities I think we made the best choice in that it was so quiet and restful there. Decor is quite special too!

Room Tip: The room with terrace offers an outdoor seating area and lots of privacy. The jetted stone tub is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bbchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaBellaAntigua, Owner at Hotel Casa Bella, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We think it best not to charge for every extra detail. At times, dependent upon availability we offer our guests free early check-in and check-out. We strive for customer satisfaction and always try to impress our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed there this month in 2 different rooms. Initially we stayed in a regular 2 person room on the ground floor. Rooms are a bit small but very complete. The second stay we had the master suite on the 1st floor which was very roomy with its own terrace and windows. Angelica at the reception is very nice and helpful but all the staff are very nice. Breakfast is good and complete. The location is great, very close to the main square.

Room Tip: Get the master suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smookToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaBellaAntigua, Owner at Hotel Casa Bella, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Some rooms are small and others, larger. There are quite a few different price points depending upon the type of room chosen. We hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had to take a client from Antigua Guatemala to the airport at 4h30 in the morning, so we decided to spend the evening in Antigua at a different hotel than we usually stay.
The location of the Casa Bella - a nice little Boutique hotel is excellent - only 3 blocks from the Central Park, and easy walking distance to most attractions.
The Hotel itself was clean and well decorated, and the lady at reception [Angelina] was very kind and patient (you'll know why later in this review). We had booked the suite [#8 -La Escondida] which is alone on the second floor. The room had a King sized bed, an ensuite shower and toilet and in the main room there was a Jacuzzi. The bed itself was comfortable, but the pillows were flat and had plastic on the inside of the pillow case which made them less pleasant. The room was warm when we got there and could have used a fan. There were 2 large windows which we opened, but they had no screen to stop insects from visiting. The Jacuzzi looked nice - but after running the faucet for a few minutes I gave up waiting for any warm water. The bathroom had 1 light over the sink, but no lighting in the shower area - which made it quite dark to bathe at 3h30. However - don't get me wrong - it was a very nice room; but for some unknown reasons, smaller hotels seem to miss out on the special :client attentions" that make the difference between a good place to stay and a great place to stay!
We also had a chance to look at the other rooms on the main level - and all were clean, and well decorated!
The rooms are far from sound proof; when a family arrived at 9h30 with a crying child - it seemed that they were next door, even though they were downstairs..... but that was bad luck on our part.
At $94/night we found the Hotel overpriced.
I am giving this Hotel 3 Stars for people who arrive without their own transport.
For those who come with their own car, I will give it just 2 Stars - and this is why.....
When we booked the suite on BOOKINGS.COM it stated that there was "public parking" nearby, and some private parking "on site" if a reservation was made..... which is one of the main reasons we decided to try this hotel. Guatemala is not the safest place to leave your vehicles unattended - especially at night. When we checked in, we were told that the "public parking" was to park on the street (something to avoid at the best of times), and that there was no "on site" parking. However, we were told that we could possible leave our car at the Sky Café which was [initially] 2 blocks down the street. Apparently the hotel had an arrangement with the Café to use their private parking, which would be locked at night from the inside. As we were to leave at 4hh15 in the morning, we wanted to have it confirmed that we could have access to leave at that time - otherwise our clients would miss their early [and only] flight home. When we decided to move the car to the Sky Café, we were told that the parking was actually 2.5 blocks down the avenue and then another 1.5 blocks up the street. It is unsafe to park on the streets at night, and just as unsafe to walk alone 4 blocks at 4am.
Finally we left the car on the street in front of the hotel with the promise that the night person would keep the from door open to watch that no one tried to break into it.
As I mentioned - both the receptionist and the night person [a very nice young man] were very kind and patient with our concerns. We would have chosen another hotel with parking - but we were told that we could not get our money returned, as was BOOKINGS.COM policy.
So - in retrospect, it was a nice hotel, with a great location and friendly staff - but because of the parking situation we would never return.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite on the 2nd floor for privacy; although the other rooms looked nice too. The rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TedandDoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaBellaAntigua, Owner at Hotel Casa Bella, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for your comments. I have updated the policy on Booking.com in regards to the parking lot, we offer parking a block away at an additional fee with transport courtesy of the hotel. Being from Guatemala City and a frequent visitor to Antigua, I am confident that you are aware that all of the streets are "one way." So, when you were told that the parking was one block away (geographically) the statement was correct, because our hotel is on 2nd avenida and the parking is on 1st avenida, but the entrance is on the backside of the building. Walking distance is one block away and driving distance is about 3 blocks because of the one way streets, not sure what the problem is?! Water pressure has always been an issue in Antigua and I purchased a secondary pump and heater solely for the jacuzzi(s). Since about 90% of your review was dedicated to the parking issue you had at 430 am, I have since rectified the problem. Parking is 1 block away, there is no parking on site (booking.com required us to include that on our booking.com page - i might add) We have transportation to and from the parking lot free of charge to collect guests and luggage, there is an additional fee charged directly from the parking lot (like everywhere else in Antigua). I have done some research and there are few if any hotels that offer a King Size bed, jacuzzi, rainforest shower head, volcano views, mini bar and fridge, telephone, free wifi, guest computer with scanner and printer and full breakfast for 2 people and 2 blocks from the park for $94.00.

Would love to have the two of you back to visit again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Great location -- interesting room designs, a desk clerk in the afternoon and evenings who is extremely gracious, helpful and kind -- she made our stay much more pleasurable. Breakfast was excellent and provided a good opportunity to meet other guests. On the other side of the ledger, water leaking into the room during a fierce evening thunderstorm our first night and bathrooms not as clean as they ought to be.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaBellaAntigua, Owner at Hotel Casa Bella, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for your comments Richard. We always like to hear the good, the bad and even...the ugly. A more rigid bathroom cleaning process has been given to staff and is checked regularly by the Rooms Manger. That fierce thunderstorm enabled us to find problems which we normally wouldn't have, fixed and no longer an issue. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We first visited the hotel in 2011. It was a beautiful visit, but unfortunately there was a big water problem in all Antigua. We had booked one of the jacuzzi suites (which are gorgeous), but without water we had a bit of misfortune of course ....
Chris, the owner, offered us a nice deal to revisit the hotel. We went back this spring for Semana Santa and this visit was excellent !!!
Rooms are decorated with taste, breakfast is wonderful, jacuzzi's are so relaxing after a touristic day in Antigua. The biggest asset of this hotel however (and all 6 of us agree on this) is the magnificent staff : Angelica, who manages the hotel, goes OUT OF HER WAY to help you with just about anything. She is amazing ... !!!!

We will for sure visit again !!!
Thanks Chris and Angelica for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaBellaAntigua, Owner at Hotel Casa Bella, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Bert, as always, it was nice to have you come and visit us again. Again. thank you for being so understanding and Angelica was ecstatic to see your review. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

this is a great hotel with an amazing location. The owner Is a cool American that will attend your needs!! the rooms are very elegant, really clean and beds are very comfortable.

The breakfast is great, try the Huevos chapines!

If you can book the suite it has a great Jacuzzi and its not that expensive, you are getting rooms that are 5 stars for the price of 3

so dont even think about looking at another hotel and stay in CASA BELLA

cheers!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rod O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaBellaAntigua, Owner at Hotel Casa Bella, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for your excellent review, these are the types of reviews that make us work so hard for the Guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#22 of 75 in Antigua
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Parque
Hotel Casa del Parque
#34 of 75 in Antigua
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#25 of 75 in Antigua
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
#44 of 75 in Antigua
141 reviews
0.2 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#21 of 75 in Antigua
439 reviews
0.6 mi away
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
#31 of 75 in Antigua
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Bella

Address: 2da. Avenida sur No. 5, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: £54 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Bella 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Bella is beautifully designed boutique hotel located in the center of Antigua. Each of our 8 rooms are complete with high-speed WiFi, telephones, flat screen TVs with cable, pillow top mattresses, rainforest shower heads and suites with jacuzzi. Breakfast is included as well as a smile upon arrival. Customer service is of the utmost importance to us and look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Casa Bella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing