We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!”
Review of KIDS Restaurant

KIDS Restaurant
Ranked #178 of 375 Restaurants in Antigua
Price range: US$8 - US$10
Cuisines: Diner, Mexican, Guatemalan, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Kids restaurant is a part of the educational centre the Tess Unlimited. The kids who come to the center to have englsih clas, computer class and cooiking class, can practice their skills 2 a month when we open the restaurant. This is where the kids can practice what they have been learning in classes. The prepare the food and serve it to the guests. Every kid can find themself a reason to come to kids restaurant!
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I love the KIDS Restaurant. A nice project from TESS Unlimited where children learn cooking and English and where they can practice during the restaurant night. I have enjoyed the Thai dinner tonight and the children are very well skilled in what they do, no matter in the kitchen, restaurant or the bartender. A place to eat if you are in Antigua.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aliceyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    5
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheswick, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I don't get it!”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Our last night before departing back to the USA we were going
to dinner with a friend and she recommended Kids Restaurant.
She too had never been there before but had heard to go and try it.

We knew no better so tagged along. What a mistake.

This is not a restaurant/business in any sense. As a business goes,
they are open only once every two weeks. Their costs are next to nothing as its kids who
are being trained in the restaurant business as well as how to speak english.

Their menu is extremely limited as they are only preparing food once every two weeks.
So, when it comes to rating Kids restaurant against others in Antigua it is no better than a
1 STAR. The food is typical Guatemalan that costs almost $10.00 USA (including a drink)
and which you could get elsewhere in Antigua for half the cost if you wanted such food.

Now, don't get me wrong, I am not against the fine job this group of volunteers is doing.
I am simply being honest so others don't go to Kids expecting a typical restaurant experience.

So if inclined, show up to assist with this group!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great program!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I read about the work that this program was doing to help students and wanted to be a part of it. Everything went well from our being picked up at Central Park to our return. The students did a great job of planning, preparing, and serving the meal. We had tostadas with beans and avocado for our appetizer, then a typical Guatemalan dish, pepian for our main, with candied sweet potato slice and ice cream for dessert. Horchata was our included beverage. The menu changes after two times. The restaurant is only open every other Friday evening. The students' English was quite good. It was interesting to talk to volunteers and teachers, and I was amazed at the number of ways they help students and families in the area for free. I am very happy to have had a chance to enjoy the evening and help the KIDS restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eatgourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Unique opportunity to relish what a volunteer organization can achieve”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We have been to KIDS restaurant twice (it is held at 6pm each second Friday with a different international food theme) since arriving in Guatemala. Run by T.E.S.S. foundation it provides for Guatemalan children to learn hospitality and practice their English. Whilst not a commercial restaurant, the three course meals have been thoughtfully prepared by children under adult supervision (and sometimes with professional guidance from local restauranteurs) and served to tables by others.

Our experiences been very good with Japanese and Guatemalan fare presented. The 75Q cost is fair value for the food and experience with free taxi pickup in Central Park at 5pm if needed.

Great experience and the opportunity to see the good work a foundation can do in this country. Tess, Alice and the volunteers are always approachable and great to talk to to discuss their work and love of the people.

Give it a try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank prholst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Just flew in from the states and had dinner at KIDS restaurant! The food was delicious and the kids were helpful, sweet, and accommodating! I would come back again in a heartbeat!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Molloy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed KIDS Restaurant also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to KIDS Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing