We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, good place”

Guest House Los Arcos
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Guest House Los Arcos
Ranked #59 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Antigua
1 review
“Good price, good place”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed there with friends, is a nice place and price is cheaper than the most of hostels. We recommend it. The room is comfortable and clean, has a private bathroom and warm shower. The kitchen is small but well equipped. Location is near of central park of antigua around 5 minutes

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
4
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I stayed here during peak spring break/Holy Week season for a couple of nights, so this definitely should be taken into consideration, as cynical price-gouging and poor service rule Antigua at this time. However, still, price per night was expensive-beyond-cynical, mid-range peak season hotel level pricing for this hostel experience (I arrived unexpectedly without having time to make pre travel arrangements). No towels in room. No change of linens. No hot water in shower. Wi-fi barely functioning. Attached bar area full of loud folks without shirts or shoes until 1-2 am.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coprinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radovljica, Slovenia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for a couple of days and we felt really warm and cosy. Inside casa there is a nice little patio, full of flowers. Location is good, a bit off from central Antigua, but quiet though. Lady owner is nice, it's not bad if you know some spanish words. We enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klavdij L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed for almost a month here in 'Casa Los Arcos' where we received a recommendation of fellow family travelers.
There's a kitchen(tiny, and there are occasional cockroaches), and our room was slightly tight for four people but functioning well, with a fridge, desk, closet and attached bathroom(there were frequent problems with the toilet though, the water won't build up in the closet! We had to open the cover often to close the plug. A normal toilet would have done this automatically). Sometimes there was no water as early as 10 in the night and also there was sometimes only lukewarm showers instead of hot ones but this is Guatemala. The cleaning lady cleaned our room once a week, she did a good job but we wished she would clean more often. But no major problem with the room. Besides there are chairs and desks out that gives a great view of Volcan de Agua. And plenty of place to hang our laundry. Perhaps about 15 minutes or so by walk to the centro, or the market and the big supermarket 'La Bodegona'.
Now here's the problem: the owner. She's an old lady who mostly has no problems with us. She speaks zero English which can be a bit of a problem if you don't speak Spanish and have to argue about your room. The problem is she keep changing her words! She takes a reservation and later she says 'come later to make sure'. There was even one situation when she took a reservation and then gave the booked room to someone else(another family's story, no doubt made them very angry). Not to mention her sometimes sour personality. She was the main reason why we did not come back after we left the place.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Unyeondong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua, Guatemala
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2012

My husband and I stayed in Los Arcos while celebrating our wedding anniversary and we had everything we wanted here. A beautiful private room with bathroom and hot showers, EXCELLENT wifi connection. a well equipped, clean kitchen and really friendly staff. Really good value for money too, a similar price to what yoiu would pay in a hostel but with privacy and we felt much more spoilt!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAffliction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Clean rooms around patio with comfortable seating and views of volcanoes. Family run, friendly, safe. Some rooms with private bathrooms. Well equipped small kitchen for guests use. Handy for market so you can cook well and cheaply. Wi fi with excellent speed in all rooms, internet and on site laundry. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IXQUIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
14.5 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#59 of 75 in Antigua
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#44 of 75 in Antigua
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#49 of 75 in Antigua
116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
#40 of 75 in Antigua
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#11 of 107 in Antigua
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House Los Arcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Los Arcos

Property: Guest House Los Arcos
Address: 7a Av Norte And Callejon Camposeco 5A, Antigua, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing