We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its OK experience”
Review of Toko Baru

Toko Baru
Ranked #11 of 365 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$6
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Its OK experience”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We popped into the Toko Bar and tried their
falafels. Yes its cheap but as they
say cheap isnt always better.

It was Ok quality given the price.

Its Mcdonalds fastfood in a falafel.

Service was good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ernesto E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    58
    9
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very bad Special of the day”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stopped by Toko Bar and instead of eating from
their regular menú, we chose to try their lunch special
of fish and chips.

What a mistake that was. The fish may have been fresh
but it was so overcooked it was like eating a piece
of cardboard. The french fries were also horrible but
I can´t explain what they did to them for them to be so
poor.

Next time we go we will stick to their regular menú.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tonita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zoomclaro, Owner at Toko Baru, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Tonita
Thank you for your feedback.
Naturally we are sad to hear that you didn’t enjoy the food with us when you tried our daily special.

We regret that both main items of the special weren’t up to par with our standard.

Yet of course we’re happy to read that you will give us another chance with our regular menu despite the bad experience you had with us recently!

We will try to make sure that this time you leave Toko Baru satisfied!

We are looking forward welcoming you at Toko Baru again soon.

Sincerely,
Toko Baru Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvador
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Nice staff!!! One orded it's enough for me , I only ate half. The spciy sauce it's good!!! But for an Asian not spicy at all.jajaja

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank linda0435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“best value in antigua”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Excellent chicken tandoori, falafels, fish curry and on certain days they have a British favourite of fish and chips. All really delicious and extremely cheap, this is the best value I've found in Antigua so far. The staff are great and the kitchen is open so you can see everything that's going on. You find a mix good of people inside, often long stay travellers, volunteers and locals making the most of the cheap eats. Only negative I can think of is that it closes at 9.30pm so its no good for after beers munchies.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EleanorTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Cheap Food”
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Toku Baru is a tiny place, friendly, and fast. You can get full or half orders of falafel at very inexpensive prices. Eat a good healthy meal, enjoy a beer, and listen to the varied languages spoken here by the other customers—you can usually join in! Did I mention great sweet potato fries?

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank moemack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toko Baru also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Toko Baru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing