We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just one of those places you have to go, and come back again and again”
Review of Toko Baru

Toko Baru
Ranked #16 of 385 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$6
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Really good food (owner, Eduardo is Dutch/Indonesian, and he has learned from his Indonesian mother!) and very cheap. Really good chips, both potato and sweet potato, your choice. They are NOT american fries!
Make sure to try some of the salsas that they put on the table.
Some of the regulars also come to play chess, so if you are in the mood, just ask Eduardo if he's up for a game

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ole_Bangstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 202 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2013

Toko Bar is good for budget minded people.

Its cheap and the value is good for what you get.

But, its comparable to a fast food joint in quality
of food, service value.

Worth going to but don´t expect a true restaurant
experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Mario S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We popped into the Toko Bar and tried their
falafels. Yes its cheap but as they
say cheap isnt always better.

It was Ok quality given the price.

Its Mcdonalds fastfood in a falafel.

Service was good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Ernesto E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stopped by Toko Bar and instead of eating from
their regular menú, we chose to try their lunch special
of fish and chips.

What a mistake that was. The fish may have been fresh
but it was so overcooked it was like eating a piece
of cardboard. The french fries were also horrible but
I can´t explain what they did to them for them to be so
poor.

Next time we go we will stick to their regular menú.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Tonita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zoomclaro, Owner at Toko Baru, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Tonita
Thank you for your feedback.
Naturally we are sad to hear that you didn’t enjoy the food with us when you tried our daily special.

We regret that both main items of the special weren’t up to par with our standard.

Yet of course we’re happy to read that you will give us another chance with our regular menu despite the bad experience you had with us recently!

We will try to make sure that this time you leave Toko Baru satisfied!

We are looking forward welcoming you at Toko Baru again soon.

Sincerely,
Toko Baru Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Nice staff!!! One orded it's enough for me , I only ate half. The spciy sauce it's good!!! But for an Asian not spicy at all.jajaja

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank linda0435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toko Baru also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Toko Baru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing