We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally a Clean Kitchen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Place to Stay Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

after visiting 50 or so hostels in Central America, I must admit that this is the cleanest kitchen of all....plenty of pots pans, dishes, blender...and the market to get all your food is right across the street.....lots of good times too...( I ended up spending several months there) great atmosphere and place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SirFartswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

I felt like home here. The location is very good, the price is not too high and breakfast is included.
The owner of the place is the most helpful host I have ever met on my journeys. He helped me to book all my shuttles, took me to Guatemala City to buy a bus ticket at Tica bus office and when I was in the hospital he came to see me there 3 times a day, helping with translation and all the other things. I am really thankful for everything and the days I spent here. When I go back to Guatemala, I will definately stay here again!!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Omayaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The plays is ran by 2 very nice brothers that are very helpful and speak good English, Raul (one of the brothers) also now the basic of other languages.
There is a good kitchen (for Guatemala) free drinking water and lot of friendly people, good atmosphere and the place make you fill at home.
They have good wi-fi and hot water 24h. The bed are not the best (bat relatively good for Guatemala) and there is no room with privet shower, bat the is chip for Antigua.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eran F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

What to say?
Nice place, (nice city...), nice staff, helpfull owners, lovely pets (four cats, a rabbit and a turtle...), hot shower and free freakfast, international custumers (so nice talks), the place is regularly improved, and the prices are reasonable... maybe noisy sometimes but it would be so boring if perfect :-)

Room Tip: Upstairs room are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaddyNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My partner and I used Antigua as our base from which to explore Guatemala on various two to three week jaunts to different parts of the country. We stayed at Place to Stay each of the four times and I HIGHLY recommend this hostel as THE ´place to stay´ in Antigua. The owner Raul goes out of his way to help you organise whatever you need hassle free and answer your quuestions. We were able to store our luggage safely for free each time which was an absolute godsend for us. Raul and the whole crew always greeted us with a smile and warm friendly welcome, the room was always clean and available when we arrived and a hot cup of good coffee was always there for us. The hostel attracts a friendly, laidback group of travellers, there are good kitchen facilities available and free purified water and breakfasts included too. Wifi connection is great. It is not a loud party hostel, which we thoroughly appreciated. You will not be disappointed by this hostel and its friendly, family vibe. Our time at Place to Stay is up there on my list of Guatemala highlights! Thanks to Raul and the crew for your hospitality and help, we really appreciated it :)

Room Tip: Rooms up the top floor are lighter and more airy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liv_climbsmountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Amazing and beautiful hostel and amazing hospitality! The owner always managed to make us comfortable and help us with whatever we needed! There is also a beautiful garden, delicious breakfast and good wifi. Thank you!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Alireza T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This place is everything that you will look for in a hostel : nice, helpful staff, nice guests, great location and amazing atmosphere!

I was tired from an overnight bus ride from Flores to Guatemala City then Antigua, after worrying about being sold a fake bus ticket and the bus stopping in the middle of nowhere (I was sure we would be robbed!), I showed up on the doorstep of A Place To Stay way before normal check-in time, around 7:30 am, as I had a reservation there for the next couple of nights.

I was greeted by Raul who got switched to English almost right away after hearing my poor Spanish and when I asked if I could leave my stuff there until later when my room would be available, he lend me a key to a free room saying that I could sleep there for a few hours until my room was ready... He could see how exhausted I was i guess!

When I woke up, he offered me breakfast and asked if I needed help with anything... and hiim and Antonia even took care of my laundry (for a real cheap price, considering I wouldn't have to handwash myself!).

Then I got to meet Fernando, Raul's brother, who's also always willing to help (he showed me around, took me to the supermarket and to the Tour Company I booked with so I could confirm my excursion the next day), with an everlasting smile, interesting comments about the city and a genuine interest. Every time I was there, when he woke up from his nap (3-5 pm is sacred nap time at Place to stay!), he always offered coffee to everyone who was there.

Overall, I enjoyed relaxing in the outdoor-covered area, with the cats and the live-in bunny. The shared kitchen and the big dining table along with the benches encourage travelers to meet and chat and Fernando and Raul both enjoy taking the time to talk to their guests and they really care about you feeling home during your stay. They will help you with everything, from finding a shuttle to changing money or any other help a traveler may need.

I left with teary eyes and it is absolutely certain that I will go back there if I ever go back to Guatemala. I recommend it to all the backpackers of the world as it is, definitely, A PLACE TO STAY.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdithBCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#10 of 120 in Antigua
538 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cucuruchos Boutique Hostel
0.7 mi away
Three Monkeys Hostel
Three Monkeys Hostel
#2 of 120 in Antigua
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel Capitan Tom
Hostel Capitan Tom
#14 of 120 in Antigua
153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostal Antigueno
Hostal Antigueno
#13 of 120 in Antigua
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bigfoot Hostel Antigua
Bigfoot Hostel Antigua
#4 of 120 in Antigua
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Place to Stay Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Place to Stay Hostel

Address: 5ta. Calle Poniente Callejon | Callejon Landivar # 42, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 120 Speciality Lodging in Antigua
Price Range: £8 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Statement: We strive to be more than just “A Place to Stay. Our goal is to make Our Home...Your Home ...away from home. We place a high value on maintaining a clean, safe, relaxed, and community oriented environment where everyone feels welcomed. Our guiding principle is integrity and we believe mutual respect is the key to our success. After over 15 years in business we have undergone a major renovation: from new beds in the rooms to the addition of lockers in the dorms, newly decorated common areas, expanded dining area and the building of a fourth shared bathroom. What was once just a backpacker’s hostel is now our home. Our story began here at the hostel 2 years ago when after traveling for 18 months Kerry came here as a guest and met the owner, a confirmed bachelor, Raul. They feel in love and married a few months later and began their journey as husband and wife and business partners to develop a new improved Place to Stay. Together they make a powerful team with Raul’s intimate knowledge of his native homeland Guatemala and 17 years working in tourism and Kerry’s extensive experience as a traveler they have created A Place to Stay which is a haven for travelers craving a comfortable place that feels like home. Since this is our home we are not your typical hostel/hotel, therefore, the types of people that enjoy what we have to offer are couples traveling on a budget, families, and solo travelers who want a clean, safe and affordable place where they can meet others. Our small size (maximum of 20 people with 9 guest rooms) makes for a cozy environment and our shared kitchen and lounge area promote interaction among our guests. It’s important that you like animals as we have pet cats and bunny rabbits; the animals roam free around our property and are very friendly. If you have allergies you should be fine as our pets are not allowed inside the guest rooms. While you are a guest in our home we require you respect our House Rules which includes no smoking or drugs on the property and a curfew of midnight (00:00) every night with no exceptions. Those not back by midnight will not be allowed in until we re-open at 7:00 in the morning; no refunds or discounts. Come join us for a night, a week or a month and find more than a place to stay...find your home away from home. Cancellation Policy: 5 days before the arrival Check In: 13:00 (early check in upon request& availability) Check Out: 11.00 (middle of the night departures require 24-hour advanced notice) Payment due upon arrival, CASH only! Sorry, we can no longer accept USD, only local currency. Breakfast and coffee is included, served exclusively between 9.00 – 10.00 am Taxes are included. Directions: Head to the large Artesania market. There is a restaurant Pollo Campero on the corner near, which is near the Artesia market. If you are facing Pollo Campero, walk for 50 meters down the road that is to the left of Pollo Campero. Then take the first road on the left where you will see a black door with the number 42 written on it. You have found A Place To Stay. Alternatively, take a Tuc Tuc (a little three-wheeled car) or regular Taxi to A Place To Stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your A Place to Stay Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing