We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great brunch by the Pool” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porta Hotel Antigua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Porta Hotel Antigua
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great brunch by the Pool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We often go to Hotel Antigua just for their sunday
brunch. Often we go for breakfast and then return
for the lunchtime brunch. Both are excellent!!!

The selections are extensive. Something to
make anyone happy regardless of their desires.

Prices are quite reasonable. Service is very good!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ignacio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Mr. Ignacio L,

We are happy to know you've enjoyed every visit to Porta Hotel Antigua.

We hope we see you again around here very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    219
    30
    5
    8
See reviews for
239
203
44
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I would like to recommend this hotel for anybody going to Antigua, Guatemala. It has the best Guatemalan food I've ever had.
Breakfast buffet for 2 is included in the stay and well worth the money. On the weekends they have special tamales made for the occasion. They also had a marimba band in the afternoon!
Pool is a adequate for the kids (we brought our 2) and they also have a children's playground.
Room was comfortable, we had our own little patio. Close to pretty much everything including the market.
The guys in our group were impressed at the gym amenities, wow!

Staff is the very attentive to any needs, specially during meals. It is truly a delight. Grounds are an eye candy with the Volcan de Agua as a backdrop. Really this is a must hotel!
I should also mention that my friend had her destination wedding here and it was truly a dream come true!!!

Room Tip: If you are a family ask for the ground rooms with the patio. They were adequate for us. They also pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LunaMar282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear LunaMar282,

We are so glad you've liked our services, and we appreciate very much you've taken the time to recommend to live the experience Porta to our next visitors.

Do not hesitate to come back, it will be a pleasure to receive you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

The hotel is very nice, clean, warm and inviting.

We ate here on several locations and enjoyed
dining by the pool. The Sunda Breakfast and Lunch buffets
are outstanding.

The selections in the buffets are second to none and the food
is excellent. I'm surprised the food is hot even though in a buffet style
service area.

Service was always very attentive and helpful.

Prices for the hotel and the restauarant is very very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benito W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Mr. Benito W,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Porta Hotel Antigua. You motivate our team to continue improving and giving their best at all times.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culver, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I travel all over the world for work and don't generally write reviews. I have been to Antigua several times but have never stayed at this hotel. That was a mistake! This past weekend I stayed at the Porta Hotel Antigua and have to say that it is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. The location is perfect and the service is as good as any five star hotel in the world. The rooms are extremely nice and every detail is met for one's comfort. The gardens and privacy of the individual courtyards are amazing. The majority of rooms have fire places and charming courtyard, pool, patio and mountain views. The breakfast is very good. I will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Mr. Tony G,

We are so pleased to know we fulfilled your expectations in your most recent visit this month.

It will be a pleasure to receive you again on your next visit!

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax Station
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Hotel experience was very unique. From the outside, the hotel looks average but inside was really nice and cozy. The rooms in the main hotel are big but without airconditioning, some have ceiling fans. I requested to move to a room with airconditioning and I was transferred to another building. The building had poor lighting inside the hallways and it was scary going to my room which was at the very end of the building. I didnt' feel like going out again once I got inside my bedroom especially at night.

Staff were very nice and extremely helpful. The souvenir stores are 4 blocks away and the central park is within walking distance.

Overall, I'd recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose 200 series located across from the swimming pool and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Mrs. Marie R,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we apologize for not completely satisfying your expectations. Don´t have a doubt that your comments will be taken into consideration for improvement projects in Porta Hotel Antigua.

We hope we see you again in a near future around here!

Warm wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Pleasantly surprised does not cover my reaction when walking into the courtyard of this hotel. I love the open air atmosphere that this hotel exudes. The staff was very nice and friendly. The rooms were large and spacious. Now granted we were there in the "rainy season" and did not need air, but i did love the little windows in the door frame you could pop open for circulation. The pool was heated and the garden surrounding it, very relaxing.
The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 was our last night at dinner. We decided to stay in for dinner and having eaten there for dinner our first night and all of our breakfasts during our stay I was expecting the same quality of food and service. Well both the service and food was not great. I'm not sure if it had anything to do with a wedding that was there or what, but truly disappointing. But other than that, I would recommend this hotel again.

Room Tip: We had a lower level room, and it was fine because it was so quiet we could leave the window open, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabby1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear 1htvxvn,

Your comments help our operation improve on details that we may have not seen on the moment, and we really appreciate you have taken the time to describe your experience at Porta Hotel Antigua.

We are so glad that overall you have enjoyed your stay, and we thank you so much for recommending us and sharing your experience to our future guests.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Quiet and charm place, to be relax at night and enjoy delicious meals! The meeting rooms also offer the option to turn off air conditioning system and to held a natural meeting.
I really enjoyed my stayed for the 4th time in this hotel. Very recommendable for couples

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Camilo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Mr. Camilo O,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Porta Hotel Antigua.

Hope we see you again around here very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
14.5 mi away
Casa Santo Domingo
Casa Santo Domingo
#6 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#8 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#2 of 82 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#23 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Encantada
Casa Encantada
#9 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Hotel Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Hotel Antigua

Property: Porta Hotel Antigua
Address: 8a Calle Poniente No 1, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Antigua
#1 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#2 Green Hotel in Antigua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#4 Family Hotel in Antigua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Porta Hotel Antigua 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO PORTA ANTIGUA - LA ANTIGUA GUATEMALA Marvel at majestic volcanoes, roam cobblestone streets that twist past historic churches and monument or just embrace the warm culture found only in the enchanting city of La Antigua Guatemala or better known as Antigua This is isn't just a holiday, wedding or meeting destination - it's a journey that will enrich your life. Guatemala located in Central America is recognized as the Heart of the Mayan Civilization. Porta Antigua connects you with the culture, history, tradition, glamour, passion and spirit of Guatemala. Located strategically in the historical district of La Antigua - one of the three main capitals of the new world together with Mexico City, Mexico and Lima, Peru during the Spanish conquest period - our quaint yet sophisticated accommodations offer an unforgettable experience. You'll be inspired by the energy that permeates every corner of this unique destination. Just relax and take it all in. Porta Antigua previously known also as Hotel Antigua, the hotel with most tradition in the destination for over 65 years was chosen as one of the Top Five Hotels in Central America by readers of Conde Nast Traveler magazine. You'll realize why as soon as you step inside. Each of our 110 rooms and suites features traditional-style architecture accented with local Guatemalan crafts and textiles. Enjoy total luxury with our opulent master suite or reserve one of our functional and affordable deluxe rooms. We make sure you stay connected to your friends back home with wireless Internet access and we'll also help you make your flight on time with our airport transportation - just a few of the perks at our hotel. Share this unforgettable destination with your family, friends, loved ones or colleagues by hosting a special event in Porta Antigua. This is the ideal venue for exceptional weddings, banquets or corporate events. With eight individual rooms that can comfortably accommodate up to 400 attendees, we can handle everything from large gatherings to intimate occasions. Looking for authentic Guatemalan cuisine? You'll find it just outside your hotel room door at Los Moros Restaurant. Complete your evening in the stylish El Conquistador Bar. Unwind with a muscle-melting massage or invigorating ritual and then enjoy a beauty treatment at our luxurious and renowned Ceiba Spa. Featuring a wet sauna, relaxation area and temazcal (indigenous sauna), the Ceiba Porta Spa and Gym is your ultimate place to escape. It also offers state-of-the-art fitness equipment, including cardio and weight-training machines, which will help you maintain your workout while on business or vacation. The finest restaurants, the happening bars and the best and most exquisite shopping are only moments away from your hotel room. Experience fascinating museums and amazing ruins or meet locals in the nearby markets. Can't decide which attraction to visit first? Golf, volcano climbing, canopy tour, orchid farm, so much to choose from, we can help. Our friendly staff is always willing to answer any questions you might have about the region or contact our tour operator located in the lobby of the hotel. Stay at Porta Antigua and discover why we remain one of the most renowned and leading hotels in the enchanting city of La Antigua Guatemala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Porta Hotel Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Hotel Antigua Guatemala
Antigua Hotel Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing