We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolutely heavenly experience!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Porta Hotel Antigua
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“An absolutely heavenly experience!!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I just returned from my trip to Antigua, and staying at Porta Hotel was the best decision I made. Not only is the hotel beautiful and well kept, but their service is marvelous, and the food delicious! If you get a chance to stay there, PLEASE DO!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank yvogacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear yvogacha,

Thank you for sharing such a delightful experience at Porta Antigua.

Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    235
    34
    5
    10
See reviews for
263
214
46
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA USA
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I would live here if I could, I just loved it ! An eight foot door, sky-high ceilings, three foot thick walls, tile floors, an in room fireplace and the best bed and sleep I had on a ten day Guatemala trip. The bathroom was well appointed yet the shower head wasn't to my liking. The lap pool, gardens, business center, restaurant and bar all added to a very good value. It fit me. DonQ

Room Tip: Room 506 Roadway traffic outside sounds like wind blowing down a valley, most obvious in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonQuix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Mr. DonQuix,

It's great to know your opinion! We'll take into consideration your experience with the shower head.

Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My friend and I just returned from a month in Guatemala--2 American women driving ourselves all over the country! Of all the hotels, we found the Porta Hotel Antigua to be far and away the best place we stayed. It is a gorgeous property just 3 blocks off the main square with a beautiful pool and grounds and spacious, clean rooms with fireplaces. We spent 6 nights here as we arrived in the country and 4 nights at the end of our trip…it felt like coming home when we returned. One of the things that make this hotel so appealing are the extraordinary staff…from the reception desk staff to the wait staff, the concierge staff, the bell hops, the Spa staff and the cleaning staff. It is really impressive to find such a well-managed property with an entire staff focused on giving their guests a wonderful experience. It was also very helpful to have many staff who spoke excellent English, as our Spanish left a lot to be desired!

We were especially touched by the special assistance we received from Maria Del Rosario, who was one of the staff at the reception desk. She is a gem! She assisted us in solving many problems we would have struggled to handle on our own…lost baggage from the airline, how to pay a parking ticket we received in town, arranging to get us some medication from a local medical doctor for some aliments and generally just being a kind and friendly resource. Claudia and Percy from the concierge staff were also exceptional in helping us with directions to local attractions (coffee and the macadamia plantations) and dinner reservations. They are very good at their jobs!

This is a very family friendly place with activities and amenities for children...swing sets, slides, wading pool and parrots in the courtyard trees!

Before we arrived in Guatemala, we had heard about the problems with safety and were warned about crime. We can honestly say that not once in a month of travel throughout the country were we ever concerned for our safety. In fact, we found the people of Guatemala to be extremely kind and helpful. We sought out and thoroughly enjoyed our close interactions with the Guatemalan people and their culture.

We usually only ate the buffet breakfast at the hotel. It was excellent with lots of options…fresh fruit, yogurt, omelets, nice pastry, dry cereal-- both traditional Guatemalan foods and more standard Americanized food.

We highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Antigua.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms on our 2 separate stays. One was in the back up a short flight of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schleuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Mrs. Schleuder,

It's so nice to hear about you on TripAdvisor! Good to know you got back home safe.
We are so glad you have enjoyed your stay as you deserved in Porta Hotel Antigua.
Honestly, in behalf of all of our staff, it's been a pleasure to be your hosts in La Antigua Guatemala.

We hope this is not the last time we receive you here at Porta Antigua.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudsonville, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We were in Antigua for a long weekend and enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Our room was very spacious-king size bed, full private bath, and very clean. A tip for booking your room: do it on line as there are more specials available that they don't offer if you call. Also read the fine print as to what exactly you are requesting. We ate at the hotel restaurant for breakfast one morning-the buffet was really outstanding; ordered lunch by the awesome pool-food wasn't so great but the cervezas made up for it; had drinks in the bar-excellent; dessert on the last night- outstanding! The grounds were beautiful and very family friendly. The hotel spans 2 blocks and has several venues. There was a wedding reception in our building one night but we didn't hear a thing. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Mrs. Suzanne K,

We truly appreciate you took the time of writing a review to us. We are glad we have exceeded your expectations overall.

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Very romantic and very clean. The fireplace was lit in the evenings. The staff was wonderful. The grounds were beautiful. Our breakfast buffet was great. My husband and I were on a tour with Caravan Tours and fell in love with historic Antigua. We did not use the Spa but plan on using it on our next visit this coming December. I wish we had more time to spend at this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GermanFrau1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Mrs. GermanFrau1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. It was a pleasure to be part of this lovely experience that you can only find at La Antigua Guatemala.

See you on December to delight you with our service again!

Warm wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My family and I loved our 8 night stay here over Christmas, after much deliberation (and we did cancel one other reservation we had in stead favouring the Porta Hotel only 3 weeks before we were due to arrive) we made an excellent choice.

We stayed in a junior suite and had our own living area and a small courtyard patio. Ideal with a toddler. I requested a cot for the room however when we arrived the sofa bed in the living room was made up. When I spoke to the staff on reception everyone sprung into gear and within 30mins we had a moveable cot (on wheels - ideal for our room to move it away from the tv if we had it on) and the sofa bed reverted back to a sofa.

The food was great, really good value and lovely staff in the restaurant, My son loved the attention he was getting from them. We were all made to feel really welcome. The weather was glorious, we made it in the pool a couple of times (although we did go in around lunchtime as it tended to cloud over a little in the afternoon). the grounds are meticulously maintained with staff going about their business watering / trimming etc. The 4 macaws were a highlight for my son who was fascinated with the wonderful colours. The playground is well used and a delight to see it so well maintained. The kids club didn't appear too busy though that was because there weren't many kids around, though the girls in there were super friendly to my son and he loved getting some balloons.

Good location too with restaurants and bars nearby.

The wifi was pretty decent - went off a couple of times but not for long and the hotel knew there was a problem with the servers. $14 I think for the code - why when I stayed at Casa Cristina a couple of years ago at a fraction of the cost with free wifi.... sorry but that is a bug bear of mine...top hotels charging for wifi!!This however didn't detract from a wonderful stay and would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Away from the pool - it can be quite loud. Opt for the suites if you can afford one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKTraveller2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Mrs. UKTraveller2009,

We are so glad we fulfilled your expectations overall, and we are sorry if wifi was not working as expected. Your comments are more than welcome and help us identify weakness to turn them into strengths, so that we'll prevent these issues to happen again in the future.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

stayed here in Jan. 2014. Loved everything about it. Situated in historic Antigua, simply walk out the door and enjoy the town. Beautiful grounds, nice rooms, staff was very helpful. I was with a tour group and we ate most of our meals at the hotel buffets. Food was very good, great service. Rooms have small coffee pot, TV, hair dryer, water bottles, shampoo, soap, etc. safe to lock your valuables. I felt so safe here and really enjoyed everything about the hotel. Only complaint was fireworks were set off two nights in a row, very loud, sounded like gunfire right outside our door. I think there were weddings celebrating late at night.

Room Tip: we stayed in the main part of the hotel near the pool, can be loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaroard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Mr. Jaroard,

We appreciate you share your experience at Porta Hotel Antigua with us. Your comments are welcome and motivate us to continue on the road to excellence.

Regarding the fireworks, this is not permitted at our facilities or meeting rooms, neither at weddings in which we provide catering service to, but some people outside and not related to Porta, do this without the permission of the city hall late at night, and unfortunately, these situations affect to all of us and neighborhoods around when done late at night.

We hope to see you again in a near future.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.5 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 75 in Antigua
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#8 of 75 in Antigua
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#7 of 75 in Antigua
309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Soleil La Antigua
Soleil La Antigua
#19 of 75 in Antigua
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Hotel Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Hotel Antigua

Property: Porta Hotel Antigua
Address: 8a Calle Poniente No 1, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Antigua
#2 Green Hotel in Antigua
#2 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#4 Family Hotel in Antigua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Porta Hotel Antigua 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO PORTA ANTIGUA - LA ANTIGUA GUATEMALA Marvel at majestic volcanoes, roam cobblestone streets that twist past historic churches and monument or just embrace the warm culture found only in the enchanting city of La Antigua Guatemala or better known as Antigua This is isn't just a holiday, wedding or meeting destination - it's a journey that will enrich your life. Guatemala located in Central America is recognized as the Heart of the Mayan Civilization. Porta Antigua connects you with the culture, history, tradition, glamour, passion and spirit of Guatemala. Located strategically in the historical district of La Antigua - one of the three main capitals of the new world together with Mexico City, Mexico and Lima, Peru during the Spanish conquest period - our quaint yet sophisticated accommodations offer an unforgettable experience. You'll be inspired by the energy that permeates every corner of this unique destination. Just relax and take it all in. Porta Antigua previously known also as Hotel Antigua, the hotel with most tradition in the destination for over 65 years was chosen as one of the Top Five Hotels in Central America by readers of Conde Nast Traveler magazine. You'll realize why as soon as you step inside. Each of our 110 rooms and suites features traditional-style architecture accented with local Guatemalan crafts and textiles. Enjoy total luxury with our opulent master suite or reserve one of our functional and affordable deluxe rooms. We make sure you stay connected to your friends back home with wireless Internet access and we'll also help you make your flight on time with our airport transportation - just a few of the perks at our hotel. Share this unforgettable destination with your family, friends, loved ones or colleagues by hosting a special event in Porta Antigua. This is the ideal venue for exceptional weddings, banquets or corporate events. With eight individual rooms that can comfortably accommodate up to 400 attendees, we can handle everything from large gatherings to intimate occasions. Looking for authentic Guatemalan cuisine? You'll find it just outside your hotel room door at Los Moros Restaurant. Complete your evening in the stylish El Conquistador Bar. Unwind with a muscle-melting massage or invigorating ritual and then enjoy a beauty treatment at our luxurious and renowned Ceiba Spa. Featuring a wet sauna, relaxation area and temazcal (indigenous sauna), the Ceiba Porta Spa and Gym is your ultimate place to escape. It also offers state-of-the-art fitness equipment, including cardio and weight-training machines, which will help you maintain your workout while on business or vacation. The finest restaurants, the happening bars and the best and most exquisite shopping are only moments away from your hotel room. Experience fascinating museums and amazing ruins or meet locals in the nearby markets. Can't decide which attraction to visit first? Golf, volcano climbing, canopy tour, orchid farm, so much to choose from, we can help. Our friendly staff is always willing to answer any questions you might have about the region or contact our tour operator located in the lobby of the hotel. Stay at Porta Antigua and discover why we remain one of the most renowned and leading hotels in the enchanting city of La Antigua Guatemala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Porta Hotel Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Hotel Antigua Guatemala
Antigua Hotel Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing