We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the place to stay and relax.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porta Hotel Antigua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Porta Hotel Antigua
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Buena Park, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“This is the place to stay and relax.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed across from the main complex that has the pool, restaurant and lobby. There is a underground tunnel that connects the two sections. Rooms are in a one floor courtyard with huge rooms, tall ceilings, fireplace, large bathrooms purified water and pool in the middle of the complex. Buffet meals were excellent with so many choices with great service and what a view of the volcano. Lounge bar is nice and has a two for one happy hour from 6-8. Good location just a few blocks from city center.

Room Tip: I would stay in this section but in the other court yard away from the pool. Got a little loud one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave277-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Dave277-12,

We are glad you've had a nice experience at Porta Hotel Antigua. Thank you for sharing!

Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    219
    30
    5
    8
See reviews for
240
203
44
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merrick, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

I liked the hotel amenities. I didn't like that we were not in the main hotel building, we were across the street. We asked to be moved, but were told there weren't any rooms at the rate level we had. I booked a deluxe room and thought it would be air conditioned, it wasn't. I was offered a premium room with air conditioning for $40/night more. The nights in March in Antigua are cool enough that we didn't need A/C but I wouldn't want to stay in this room in July.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building. If you're going in one of the hot month make sure your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear alan s,

We apologize for not been able to fulfill your expectations on your last stay with us. Your comments motivate us to improve on weaknesses found,

We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in a near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This was our second visit to Porta Hotel Antigua. I don't think our kids could imagine staying anywhere else in Antigua. This time we had a room adjacent to the lap pool, which was a great amenity. The room was a good size, with a nice, modern bathroom and a fireplace. The property in general is lovely, and it's within walking distance to most everything in town. Just a few blocks to the park. My kids like the playground and the guacamayas. Breakfasts are outstanding. Food at lunch was good too, though the service was a bit slow and special requests (ex. no lettuce) weren't consistently accommodated. Also, you can request a children's menu and a sandwich menu. Kudos to Claudia who was helpful as concierge. We would not hesitate to recommend Porta, and we hope to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_Therese15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear M_Therese15,

We really appreciate your comments. Don't hesitate we'll work on every single detail to make your next stay an unforgettable experience again.

Hope you have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

From the street, this doesn't appear to be a hotel. But enter through the arch, enjoy the fountain with fresh flowers, and feel welcome in the lobby with more fresh flowers. The grounds are beautiful--tropical flowers and two macaws. Step right up to take their pictures--they're quite used to the attention. Everything from the arches, the weathered wood, the tile floors says "Old Spain." Don't be fooled--everything is up to date.

Rooms are charming, but there is no heat. Rooms have corner fireplaces without wood.
we learned later we could request a fire from the front desk, but you are required to be in your room. We arrived during an usual cold snap, and the room was frigid. The (very comfortable) bed had a comforter, and we found a heavy wool blanket in the closet. We used both! Usually antigua has mid 70s weather year round, so heat usually is not needed.

Also, no hair dryers in the rooms. You can check one out at the front desk, but better to bring your own. We didn't expect this.

The buffet breakfasts are not to be missed. They also serve the best Guatemalan coffee with warm milk. Wonderful! We were with a week-long Compassion International tour, so had a buffet dinner served every evening. Again--wonderful food.

The grounds are so beautiful, the hotel would be a destination in itself. They have a fun children's playground and a beautiful pool (too cold during our stay).

The hotel sells the fresh coffee at a better price than the markets. Buy here! We also bought the silverware holders used at each place setting for hotel meals. Reasonable price, no haggeling needed, and we never saw these anywhere else. But don't miss the big market to enjoy Guatemalan craftsmen and a bit of bargaining. Also, take a walking tour of this fascinating city. Rich in history.

If I were in this area again, I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear deekerdaisy,

Thank you so much for sharing your review with us, your comments are taken seriously to improve on our weakness and make our future guests stay as comfortable as possible. We are glad that overall you liked the hotel and you've enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again around here very soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I just returned from my trip to Antigua, and staying at Porta Hotel was the best decision I made. Not only is the hotel beautiful and well kept, but their service is marvelous, and the food delicious! If you get a chance to stay there, PLEASE DO!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank yvogacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear yvogacha,

Thank you for sharing such a delightful experience at Porta Antigua.

Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA USA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

I would live here if I could, I just loved it ! An eight foot door, sky-high ceilings, three foot thick walls, tile floors, an in room fireplace and the best bed and sleep I had on a ten day Guatemala trip. The bathroom was well appointed yet the shower head wasn't to my liking. The lap pool, gardens, business center, restaurant and bar all added to a very good value. It fit me. DonQ

Room Tip: Room 506 Roadway traffic outside sounds like wind blowing down a valley, most obvious in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonQuix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Mr. DonQuix,

It's great to know your opinion! We'll take into consideration your experience with the shower head.

Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

My friend and I just returned from a month in Guatemala--2 American women driving ourselves all over the country! Of all the hotels, we found the Porta Hotel Antigua to be far and away the best place we stayed. It is a gorgeous property just 3 blocks off the main square with a beautiful pool and grounds and spacious, clean rooms with fireplaces. We spent 6 nights here as we arrived in the country and 4 nights at the end of our trip…it felt like coming home when we returned. One of the things that make this hotel so appealing are the extraordinary staff…from the reception desk staff to the wait staff, the concierge staff, the bell hops, the Spa staff and the cleaning staff. It is really impressive to find such a well-managed property with an entire staff focused on giving their guests a wonderful experience. It was also very helpful to have many staff who spoke excellent English, as our Spanish left a lot to be desired!

We were especially touched by the special assistance we received from Maria Del Rosario, who was one of the staff at the reception desk. She is a gem! She assisted us in solving many problems we would have struggled to handle on our own…lost baggage from the airline, how to pay a parking ticket we received in town, arranging to get us some medication from a local medical doctor for some aliments and generally just being a kind and friendly resource. Claudia and Percy from the concierge staff were also exceptional in helping us with directions to local attractions (coffee and the macadamia plantations) and dinner reservations. They are very good at their jobs!

This is a very family friendly place with activities and amenities for children...swing sets, slides, wading pool and parrots in the courtyard trees!

Before we arrived in Guatemala, we had heard about the problems with safety and were warned about crime. We can honestly say that not once in a month of travel throughout the country were we ever concerned for our safety. In fact, we found the people of Guatemala to be extremely kind and helpful. We sought out and thoroughly enjoyed our close interactions with the Guatemalan people and their culture.

We usually only ate the buffet breakfast at the hotel. It was excellent with lots of options…fresh fruit, yogurt, omelets, nice pastry, dry cereal-- both traditional Guatemalan foods and more standard Americanized food.

We highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Antigua.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms on our 2 separate stays. One was in the back up a short flight of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schleuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando X, Gerente at Porta Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Mrs. Schleuder,

It's so nice to hear about you on TripAdvisor! Good to know you got back home safe.
We are so glad you have enjoyed your stay as you deserved in Porta Hotel Antigua.
Honestly, in behalf of all of our staff, it's been a pleasure to be your hosts in La Antigua Guatemala.

We hope this is not the last time we receive you here at Porta Antigua.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
14.5 mi away
Casa Santo Domingo
Casa Santo Domingo
#6 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#7 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#2 of 82 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#26 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Encantada
Casa Encantada
#9 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Hotel Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Hotel Antigua

Property: Porta Hotel Antigua
Address: 8a Calle Poniente No 1, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Antigua
#1 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#2 Green Hotel in Antigua
#4 Family Hotel in Antigua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Porta Hotel Antigua 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO PORTA ANTIGUA - LA ANTIGUA GUATEMALA Marvel at majestic volcanoes, roam cobblestone streets that twist past historic churches and monument or just embrace the warm culture found only in the enchanting city of La Antigua Guatemala or better known as Antigua This is isn't just a holiday, wedding or meeting destination - it's a journey that will enrich your life. Guatemala located in Central America is recognized as the Heart of the Mayan Civilization. Porta Antigua connects you with the culture, history, tradition, glamour, passion and spirit of Guatemala. Located strategically in the historical district of La Antigua - one of the three main capitals of the new world together with Mexico City, Mexico and Lima, Peru during the Spanish conquest period - our quaint yet sophisticated accommodations offer an unforgettable experience. You'll be inspired by the energy that permeates every corner of this unique destination. Just relax and take it all in. Porta Antigua previously known also as Hotel Antigua, the hotel with most tradition in the destination for over 65 years was chosen as one of the Top Five Hotels in Central America by readers of Conde Nast Traveler magazine. You'll realize why as soon as you step inside. Each of our 110 rooms and suites features traditional-style architecture accented with local Guatemalan crafts and textiles. Enjoy total luxury with our opulent master suite or reserve one of our functional and affordable deluxe rooms. We make sure you stay connected to your friends back home with wireless Internet access and we'll also help you make your flight on time with our airport transportation - just a few of the perks at our hotel. Share this unforgettable destination with your family, friends, loved ones or colleagues by hosting a special event in Porta Antigua. This is the ideal venue for exceptional weddings, banquets or corporate events. With eight individual rooms that can comfortably accommodate up to 400 attendees, we can handle everything from large gatherings to intimate occasions. Looking for authentic Guatemalan cuisine? You'll find it just outside your hotel room door at Los Moros Restaurant. Complete your evening in the stylish El Conquistador Bar. Unwind with a muscle-melting massage or invigorating ritual and then enjoy a beauty treatment at our luxurious and renowned Ceiba Spa. Featuring a wet sauna, relaxation area and temazcal (indigenous sauna), the Ceiba Porta Spa and Gym is your ultimate place to escape. It also offers state-of-the-art fitness equipment, including cardio and weight-training machines, which will help you maintain your workout while on business or vacation. The finest restaurants, the happening bars and the best and most exquisite shopping are only moments away from your hotel room. Experience fascinating museums and amazing ruins or meet locals in the nearby markets. Can't decide which attraction to visit first? Golf, volcano climbing, canopy tour, orchid farm, so much to choose from, we can help. Our friendly staff is always willing to answer any questions you might have about the region or contact our tour operator located in the lobby of the hotel. Stay at Porta Antigua and discover why we remain one of the most renowned and leading hotels in the enchanting city of La Antigua Guatemala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Porta Hotel Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Hotel Antigua Guatemala
Antigua Hotel Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing