We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best anywhere!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

This hotel is by far the best hotel in Antigua; but also one of the best hotels anywhere. It keeps 80% of the original convent construction (500 years old) and introduces new buildings almost without you noticing. The.service is unsurpassable. The rooms are so romantic. The ambient music is perfect. The location is.ideal. It is hard for me to think on ways to improve this hotel. The only complain is the internet connection which is slow, but that seems so irrelevant in a place like this...

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 1,333 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

Exceptional hotel in one of the most beautiful cities in the world. An absolute must stay for any traveller to Guatemala.

Hotel is located on a old monastery. Church/chapel ruins are spectacular. I have never seen better landscaping anywhere in the world. Might be the most romantic hotel in the world.

Staff is just exemplary !!! I think my rate was $119 a night. Greatest value in the world

Hotel tends to sell out on weekends for the variety of weddings it has on the grounds. They generally have availability Sunday through Thursday even on short notice so plan accordingly.

I've been blessed to stay at some phenomenal hotels in the world .... Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton etc. Casa Santo Domingo is still my favorite hotel in the world.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kennethsoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

It had a great location, setting, and food. The Hotel has many museums, such as a chocolate museum, a silverware museum, and some art museums. To just go through and walk around all of the museums is an amazing experience. There is a pool there also, it is not the nicest, but it is pretty good. When you are there, you are in the mountains, in the daytime, it is warmer, but at night it is cooler. Make sure to pack some jeans and a sweater.

The room was overall good. We got two rooms, so you could see the differences. One of the issues that we had, was the safe. at first we could not figure out how to open them, but you put the key in, turn it, pull the entire lock out, and the door falls down. Also our doors were difficult to open. There is no room key, like ones at the Sheraton, or Marriot, but keys like the ones to your house. The room was a bit dark, but there is a built in fireplace that you can actually use and have a warm night. The room was pretty big, there were two beds in each room, and a TV, and a little balcony.

The breakfast service, if you order off of the menu, is a little slow. We got down there 45 minutes before we had to leave for an activity we had that day. The food came 40 minutes later, and we were a little late for the activity. This was our choice though, there is always the option of getting the breakfast buffet, which is not to bad either.

Overall it was a good experience, not far away from the town, beautiful mountain views, and great activities. I would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Very nice rooms,great location,Great restaurant (but can in the evening be a little cold,so that a sweater we you) .The atmosphere is stunning.The history and the ambience from it hotel is unique, Great grounds & museum.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hikerIzegem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I loved this unique hotel concept. It has so much history and the ambience is unique, definitely a gem and a must visit in Antigua. I stayed in a regular room and was a bit disappointed. The rooms are expensive but not really that special or comfortable. Breakfast in the restaurant was good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ewelchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Absolutely beautiful setting. Our room was large and comfortable, but it was so dark, we felt like we were in a cave. We had a terrible problem with the shower. On our first day there after a long trip, we wanted to shower and relax. When we turned the shower on, the entire faucet was rusted and the shower was inoperable. This hotel is supposedly a 5 star property. The maids should have noticed this problem when cleaning the room. Two days later, the management sent up a fruit plate to apologize for our inconvenience.

Service was nothing special. Charged to print boarding passes in the business lounge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with daylight coming through.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

W did not stay here, but had dinner and visited the bar.
As others have said, this is a showplace. The atmosphere is stunning. The owners have done an unbelievable job creating a magical setting.
I would suggest the folowing improvements to the management. The bar area could use a professional consultant. The menu is in a tiny font. Mixed cocktails, which many North Ameicans enjoy were hard to understand given their titles such as Ocean Breeze, which in explicably has Fraangelica (hazelnut). The staff had to read directions to make the drinks on the menu. Service was slow and inattentive even though the bar was nearly empty, on a Friday night.
Have a graphic designer and a consultant rework the menu, get a trained bartender and a knowledgable wait staff. This could be done in a very classic and elegant style and make you a lot of money. Its clear that no one meets there for drinks, despite the comfort of the room. i am from NY and could think of several places here that could be an inspiration.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JackieDz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Thank you for your comments. We want to let you know that we have confirmed a course for our staff (next year) with trained proffesionals. We hope that in your next visit you experience improvements. We will also look into the menu design, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
890 reviews
0.7 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 75 in Antigua
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Soleil La Antigua
Soleil La Antigua
#19 of 75 in Antigua
492 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#8 of 75 in Antigua
437 reviews
1.5 mi away
Finca Filadelfia Coffee Resort & Tours
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo

Address: 3a Calle Oriente No 28 A, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Antigua
#2 Family Hotel in Antigua
#3 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: £83 - £570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santo Domingo Hotel Antigua
Casa Santo Domingo Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing