We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unique”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This hotel certainly is unusual in many respects. The ruins are worth the stay. Ambiance is a big appeal. Very pretty grounds. The foliage is beautiful. The room is average but nice. The only thing that was bad was the smell at night; sewage. There was also some difficulty with billing on room & services. Still not sure was charged correct. Get ready for a big tourist charge at c/o. Overall a very unique place. Also I might add, the rooms are very dimly lit.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faith07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 1,333 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013

We revisited casa santo domingo 3 weeks ago and found it was as delightful as we remembered it. We upgraded to one of the "estancea" rooms and it was much bigger than the room we had last time. It was room estancea los novisios. Novicios was a large suite with fireplace, sauna, and jacuzzi, and a wonderful view of the volcano. Everything was fine EXCEPT at night the resturant across the way had a very large spotlight aimed directly into our room, it was so bright we had to keep the blackout curtains closed. They used it to light up there parking lot. We asked several times during our 3 day stay to have it reaimed or removted but to no avail. Oher than that it was a delightful stay with great food and charm. The several museums on the grounds were very intereting, and at night the candels were very nice and were everywhere,creating a romantic feel of yesteryear. The hotel was built on the ruins of a very old monastery and the owners have kept the feel. There are wonderful pieces of art on the grounds and in some of the rooms. The many macaws also added to the ambiance. It is near downtown so a cab is not needed to access the main square and shopping.

Room Tip: check what is going on around the room you pick, ask about any renovation or construction going on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Amazing property. A favorite. You get to stay in a museum and among the relics and ruins. SO beautifully preserved. Fun to have a fire place in the room.
They have their own chocolate factory on site. Restaurant is lovely. Pool is fun. Parrots and gardens are a joy.
internet never worked.

pool is lovely. multiple choices for dining on site - maybe the best visual appeal of any hotel.

Watch for the noisey rooms near the street.

Room Tip: make sure you are not near the street - the cars make noise when they drive on the cobble stones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank medanichangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I would go back to Antigua just to stay in this hotel. I stayed in the deluxe room with 2 beds and highly enjoyed myself. I had way too much fun here. Fireplace is awesome, great view of volcano, great location. The site is gorgeous! Wasn't too impressed with the dining but food tastes in Guatemala are far different than America. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Antigua.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLK241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

This is one of the best hotels you will find in Antigua and just about anywhere. This actually use to be a monastery and has the original construction in place. The customer service is bar none one of THE BEST I've experienced in Central America, and really anywhere. Although I went on a business trip, it could easily be a trip for a couple who is on a honeymoon. Rooms are beautiful and clean, with amazing ambiance (rose petals in the water, beautiful music in the speakers throughout the hotel, and an amazing view of the huge volcano behind it). It is absolutely worth every cent. The food in the restaurant also amazing (prepare to come back and get on a diet) and the shopping choices are excellent all around beautiful Antigua.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letsdeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

This hotel is by far the best hotel in Antigua; but also one of the best hotels anywhere. It keeps 80% of the original convent construction (500 years old) and introduces new buildings almost without you noticing. The.service is unsurpassable. The rooms are so romantic. The ambient music is perfect. The location is.ideal. It is hard for me to think on ways to improve this hotel. The only complain is the internet connection which is slow, but that seems so irrelevant in a place like this...

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

Exceptional hotel in one of the most beautiful cities in the world. An absolute must stay for any traveller to Guatemala.

Hotel is located on a old monastery. Church/chapel ruins are spectacular. I have never seen better landscaping anywhere in the world. Might be the most romantic hotel in the world.

Staff is just exemplary !!! I think my rate was $119 a night. Greatest value in the world

Hotel tends to sell out on weekends for the variety of weddings it has on the grounds. They generally have availability Sunday through Thursday even on short notice so plan accordingly.

I've been blessed to stay at some phenomenal hotels in the world .... Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton etc. Casa Santo Domingo is still my favorite hotel in the world.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kennethsoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
890 reviews
0.7 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#5 of 75 in Antigua
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Soleil La Antigua
Soleil La Antigua
#18 of 75 in Antigua
492 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#8 of 75 in Antigua
437 reviews
1.5 mi away
Finca Filadelfia Coffee Resort & Tours
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo

Address: 3a Calle Oriente No 28 A, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Antigua
#2 Family Hotel in Antigua
#3 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: £83 - £568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santo Domingo Hotel Antigua
Casa Santo Domingo Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing