We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm, outrageous art, landscaping done right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I don't know why people go to Florida for a warm vacation. Why not just keep flying a couple more hours, land in Guatemala, have a taxi take you to to this incredible hotel and just relax for 4 days? Really. This is a world-class hotel/museum/art gallery/restored cathedral/garden/pool. The walls are 4 ft thick in places of this old monastery. Long ago, an earthquake destroyed half of this old monastery but it is now renovated to an understated artistic standard that you don't find in hotels at this price. Be sure to take the free shuttle bus up to their other site "up the hill" that has has more incredible landscaping, restaurants, a museum...but also a zip-line, an incredible sculpture garden, a performance space and the best view of Antigua. Adventuresome families will love this hotel and its hidden surprise facility up the hill.

Room Tip: Choose an interior room, not on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madison515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

We appreciate very much your very nice comment and are pleased to know you enjoyed most of our services. Pls let us know in advance if you plan on visiting us so we can update you with our new activities and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

524 - 530 of 1,468 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stepping off the street into the beautiful, peaceful grounds of the hotel was a welcome respite. Loved the lorros in the trees, the pool, the candles that light the passageways in the evenings. Enjoyed the suite with 2 double beds but had to pay extra for the attentive service to make up the sofa bed. Seemed silly. Same with the bottled water in the rooms & the wi-fi, usually complimentary. Loved the heated pool and jacuzzis. Room could have used a dehumidifier to dispel the dampness.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you so very much for your comment and observations. We hope you return in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

From the moment we arrived at the hotel, I knew it would be a special treat. The extensive grounds incorporate the ruins of an ancient monastery, yet the boutique hotel touches abound everywhere. The room was super large, with two double beds and a private balcony with a great view of the grounds. The bathroom was stocked with everything, including razor, shaving cream and toothpaste/toothbrush which I have only seen in top hotels. The Sunday brunch was a treat, with everything from local delicacies to fresh baked breads, pupusas station, omelette station and everything else you could wish for. A plunge in the hotel pool and the hot tub after touring the city all day was the best remedy for relaxation. The hotel price was very very reasonable. I wish Antigua, Guatemala was closer, as I'd be staying there often. If your travel plans take you there, do not miss this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank acdcusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for such a nice comment, we are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and our service. We hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

If you want to feel like a VIP this is the place to go. Their service is outstanding, the hotel itself, the ruins, spa, museum and restaurant are all award worthy. One caveat, though, even if it's a wonderful hotel, be prepared to pay even for the bottled water in the room, which is complimentary in other hotels. Wi-fi is paid, too. Bedding and pillows could also be a bit better, since this hotel is marketed as one of the best in Guatemala.

Room Tip: Try avoiding rooms near the pool. No soundproofing available, the ones behind the check in area are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Worldtrekker21012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for such a nice comment. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and the service delivered. We hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

The perfect place to stay in Antigua Guatemala, Guatemala. You have to walk a lot to the town center, but worth it! The hotel is stunning! It's incredibly beautiful. The food, yummy. The kindness excellet.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iscdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for such a nice comment, we are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and our service. We hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Everything in this hotel was so neat... so perfect, we even joked about trying to find something wrong, something out of place. But we couldn´t. The service, the details, the taste, the music, the food... the whole place was ment to making us comfortable. I think the only disapointing moment was to leave.

Room Tip: Try to get a suite. Getting one of the suites isn´t that expensive. Probably will cost as an average...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for such a nice comment. We are pleased to know you found everything to your liking, also that you enjoyed your stay and our service. We hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

A fantastic location in the city of Antigua. It's kind of museum, in the heart of downtown, overlooking the volcano. From the hill you can see the entire city of Antigua. A paradise. The rooms are like living in years old and fascinating décor. We guided and helped to perform different types of activities, truly a place to repeat, we are satisfied in this maoavilloso realmentes place, Casa Santo Domingo is a great indoor Paraiso. By the way there is a day to make sushi and it was delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you so very much for such a nice comment. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and the service delivered. We hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
944 reviews
0.7 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#5 of 75 in Antigua
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#7 of 75 in Antigua
434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pensativo House Hotel
Pensativo House Hotel
#14 of 75 in Antigua
172 reviews
1 mi away
Soleil La Antigua
Soleil La Antigua
#12 of 75 in Antigua
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo

Address: 3a Calle Oriente No 28 A, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Antigua
#2 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#2 Business Hotel in Antigua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: £82 - £1,051 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santo Domingo Hotel Antigua
Casa Santo Domingo Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing