We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Everywhere you look, you find a beautiful view in this hotel that used to be a monastery. Clean and very friendly! One tip.....if you need to use internet, go to the next door restaurant food is good there by the way. Internet in the hotel never worked!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you very much for your comment and observations. We hope you return in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,306)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 1,306 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

On the firts week of december my mom and i stayed in this hotel. we didn't know where to head our sights and point out as there were so many interesting, cultural, beautiful things to see, only within the hotel, that we couldn't believe it... frankly i had big expectation on this place, and i'm often considered a difficoult client - i complain when i don't like something - and i admit that this place was outstanding. Everything is great: the care of the workers that make this beautiful surrounding a great experience; the place itself, and old monastery that still mantein its structure, the altar and the statues, the furniture, all the flowers everywhere. it's linked to another place, el cerro de Santo Domingo, another beautiful Project on the mountain (10min by car) where you can play canopy and have a nice dinner just next to the Vulcano de agua and vulcano de fuego. The place emploies 300 workers and 500 if tehre's an event. I didn't see anyone not looking sober or uncaring the place, probably because this hotel draws a cooperative Project and takes care of its community. Great job!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CrisisA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

We appreciate very much the time you took to write your review and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed our services during your stay. We hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is an experience, not only a hotel. It is a Museum Hotel, which means you are inside a museum and in a hotel. Everything is incredibly beaultiful. The room is big, thematic, very well decorated and everything works very well. The bathroom is big, the shower is very relaxinh and the amenities are there, much more than one can expect.
There is a special care with cleanliness and with the neat. I strongly recommend. Also near of everything, just 3 blocks from the main point of downtown.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the view to the internal park with balkon.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandreCohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you for choosing CSD to stay while visiting La Antigua Guatemala. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

A great way to visit the country and give back at the same time. Literacy rates need to grow in Guatemala and through GiveGetGo, I was able to enjoy touring the beautiful and safe city of Antigua and help build another classroom for the rural Melody School. Principal Igor Xoyon is giving back, helping the children regain their Mayan language. Some children can afford to attend while others are sponsored. 20 Canadians worked as a team, learning how to make rebar, mix cement and lay cinder blocks with direction from the local site manager. There was a chance to interact with the children, lunch and learns on tamale making and weaving and time off for hiking the volcano, zip-lining above the forests and visiting the colourful markets. We ate well at Fusion, Cinq and at the spectacular Santo Domingo! Fantastic experience!

Room Tip: Most rooms have little balconies, all appear to have wood burning fireplaces. Wander the pathways of...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pattie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thank you for your comments and hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

There is a very large buffet every Sunday at Santa Domingo.

The selections are mind-boggling....from fresh fruits, salads,
camarones and of course eggs any way you like them.

The service is good too. Prices are very good for an all you
can eat buffet.

Worth the visit Sunday morning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you very much for such a nice comment. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your experience at El Refectorio. We hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This hotel is unique in terms of its site: constructed in the ruins of a former monastery, it conveys a charming atmosphere. Service and food are very good, even if some of the staff still lack experience and proactiveness.
If there is one thing to criticize, then it is the dated interior of the rooms with its rather old carpets and lack of sufficient lighting.
Fans of modern gyms will be disappointed by the tiny room offered for this purpose. However, for a couple on a Sightseeing Trip to Antigua, this hotel is a very good option.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Camillo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you very much for your comment and observations. We hope you return in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We traveled to Guatemala few days ago through Adrenalina Tours, we are very happy because they recommended us to stay in this hotel, and of course we really this beautiful place, the staff is friendly enough to make people have a good time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

We appreciate very much such a nice comment and are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
884 reviews
0.7 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#4 of 75 in Antigua
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Soleil La Antigua
Soleil La Antigua
#19 of 75 in Antigua
485 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#8 of 75 in Antigua
437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#7 of 75 in Antigua
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo

Address: 3a Calle Oriente No 28 A, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Antigua
#2 Business Hotel in Antigua
#3 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#5 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: £80 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santo Domingo Hotel Antigua
Casa Santo Domingo Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing