We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning property”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This property is simply stunning, the moment you step inside the main doors and off the busy street, you instantly feel a sense of serenity. The hotel is a perfect blend of old ruins and modern day comfort. The room had a really great ambiance although I would have liked the option to have a bit more light and preferred a tile floor to the thin wall-to-wall that was there. Our room was on the second floor and had a wonderful little balcony with a small table and chair and was surprisingly quiet for being just above the walls on 1a Avenida Sur. The grounds were really the best part with free access to the museum, ruins and colorful parrots in the courtyard! Relaxing by the pool and taking a dip in the hot tub made our day complete! Most of the staff we interacted with were very pleasant and will to help in any way. One late evening, after returning from dinner and not finding a pharmacy on the way, one of the younger guys at the front desk went as far as calling the 24 pharmacy and having our item delivered! Truly excellent service! It was also the first place that we had really hot water since we arrived...unfortunately the downside of the shower was the ceiling was really low (I'm 5'10" and the ceiling was just a few inches higher) and the shower head was pointing at my neck. I'm rating the property only 4 stars (I'd like to give 4.5 but can't) because as with most expensive places the more you pay, the more you have to pay for extras. This hotel did not provide free wi-fi as nearly all the other hotels we stayed at did, and even in the town, you could go to any little cafe and get free wi-fi. Free water was only provided in the afternoons near the front desk which was rather disappointing. At checkout, I was told that since we had booked through a tour company and used a "voucher", I could not have a copy of the bill showing a zero balance (we had several room charges which we paid at checkout but could not get a copy of the overall bill and zero balance). This made me quite uncomfortable because if any mistake was to occur, I didn't have proof that I had paid the complete bill at checkout. I wouldn't let these nuances discourage others from staying, the property and staff are well worth it, it's just good to know and be prepared!

Room Tip: it's probably not a good idea to face the pool because the walls are super thin and the pool are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liv D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you very much for writing such a nice review and are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. Since you confirmed your reservation through a travel agency, they should have given you the correspondent invoice and this is why we only provided invoice for consumptions & x-tras. If you have further questions, pls dont hesitate to contact me at igomez@casasantodomingo.com.gt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    879
    229
    73
    24
    31
See reviews for
232
417
67
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Casa Santo Domingo deserves every bit of praise it has received from TripAdvisor contributors. We stayed four nights the first week of January, splurging on one of the best suites. The room was split level, with a sofa, chair and coffee table on one level and the king-bed area four steps up, with a generously sized bathroom with good counter space yet another step up. The bed and all the furniture were comfortable. We had two patios wth a table and chairs on both and a shallow hot tub on one. We even had a burbling little fountain in the room putting out its soothing sound.
We experienced a little bit of slow service at breakfast the first morning but the rest of the time the service was just fine. The breakfast buffet wasn't inexpensive but was worth it. What makes the place so special are the spectacular grounds of the former monastery, including museums of artifacts found during construction, a chocolate shop, an area where local artisans sell their wares, a large chapel and acres of quiet patio with more fountains. Undiscovered until the last day was an underground block of retail shops and a business center.
Antigua is a great destination, a place with a stunning colonial past that feels safe and welcoming. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldtraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your visit to La Antigua and to Casa Santo Domingo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Totally outstanding. This kind of atmosphere cannot be reproduced. Wonderful preservation of ancient buildings with modern uses - this is how to revitalize history. Dining was wonderful, very fresh food. Ruined church makes a wonderful wedding chapel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MingoAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you very much for your comment. We hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Santo Domingo is a stunning property! There are ruins right within the walls of the hotel. The church is gorgeous. I wish we could have spent more time here. The staff was pleasant, the food was good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d22randy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you very much for your comment. We also hope you return soon and let us be your host.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estoril, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

It is not easy to describe, one has to get there to understand. The Hotel is located in an ancient spanish convent in the former capital city of Guatemala, Antigua, which was destroyed in the 18th century by an earthquake. In fact, most of the destruction was caused by an huge amount of water accumulated in the crater of the Agua vulcan, which caused a land slide and went down on the city during the earth quake. Antigua in its colonial stile, is today classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, so it well deserves a visit. The Hotel Casa de Santo Domingo is the result of a very careful and well done recovery of the convent ruins, in total respect to the old colonial stile architecture and the retirement atmosphere inherent to these places. It is amazing how the reconstruction and transformation of this convent into an quite large hotel, has succeeded in maintaining the peaceful, quiete and contemplative environment. You can enjoy every corner where you will find beautiful gardens, fountains, a nice swimming pool, statues and religious art, and all sorts of recovered old materials and objects. The Hotel has a beautiful museum where most of the religious art found is in exhibition. Excellent restaurant and bar. Excellent service and sympathy everywhere. Being a 5 star hotel, the prices are on the high side, but I found worth every penny I spent. I would like to add one more loin to this review: While in Guatemala, we got around in a very special and extensive tour organised by the local travelling agency "Maya Exotic", which I strongly recommend because they have demonstrated to be extremely competent, honest and available at all times, They provided a guide and van driver who had the patience and the wisdom to teach us during 10 fantastic days. Sorry for a long review! I would gladly add some photos, but the site is not responding.

Room Tip: I was in two different rooms in two occasions and I would prefer the one on the cloister (I guess so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andandoporai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit to Guatemala and your stay with us. We hope you can return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is probably the most beautiful hotel we have ever stayed in. It is a living museum, and so tastefully restored. It breaths another time,full of heritage and magic. Around every corner there is another fountain or colonial saint. The pool area is refreshing and time no longer matters.

We had two garden view double room which sleeps 2 adults and 2 children each. They are large and generous. Impeccably clean and there is dry wood should you wish to have a lazy evening round the fire. Great buffet breakfast included in our price. Check on sites as it is not the case in all. Our only regret was only to have stayed 1 night. 2 or 3 would have been perfect!















round every corner there is another magical fountain or colonial

Room Tip: Top/second floor rooms have a higher ceiling and appear larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Impresionist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope the next time you can stay longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Set within the ruins of an old monastery, this hotel is absolutely beautiful. The rooms are built in clusters within lush gardens containing fountains and parrots and connected by walkways lit at night with candles. The pool is lovely and warm, surrounded by flowering plants and comfy lounge chairs, with a fountain in the middle. Most rooms have a fireplace and balcony and they are clean and well-appointed with mini-bars, coffee machines and a large selection of bathroom amenities.

The rooms vary greatly in size and quality of view, however. Upon checking in for a four-night stay, my husband and I found ourselves assigned to a small room with two smaller-than-double beds. My efforts to obtain a different room were time-consuming, frustrating and ultimately unsuccessful, as the front desk staff insisted that we would have to pay an increased rate almost 50% higher than what we were paying to obtain a room with a single large bed. The staff's unwillingness to at least discount the rate was really disappointing, especially since it was obvious that the hotel was not full during this mid-week period in mid-December.

Our experience throughout our stay revealed that the inflexibility demonstrated by the front desk staff is characteristic of the staff property-wide. We repeatedly were frustrated by the staff enforcing irrational "rules", such as the inability to take a plate from the breakfast buffet out to a table on the restaurant's patio, a direction not to move an exercise mat in the fitness center and being practically thrown out of the bar because it was closing at 6 pm. The ultimate example of this inflexibility came when we returned to the hotel one evening after the gates had been closed. The doorman refused to let us in until everyone in our party showed a room key. My husband and I often go out carrying just one key between us -- especially when the key is an actual key attached to a 3" metal disk. We both had a key that evening, but the impression we got is that one of us would have been left standing outside the gate if we each had not had a key.

The owner of this hotel obviously has invested a lots of money developing and maintaining what undoubtedly could be considered a 5 star hotel. What the owner needs to realize is that guests won't feel like they are staying in a 5 star hotel unless they feel like the staff is making every effort to allow them to fully enjoy this beautiful property. If a guest wants to move a mat out from between two machines in order to do sit-ups in open space, the attendant should move it for her instead of telling her she can't do it. In a restaurant with more than ample staff standing around, they should be happy to allow a guest to enjoy breakfast on the patio even if it means covering a table outside of their normal area. Security is great but common sense is important too. The owners must trust (and train) the staff to make the decisions necessary to make guests feel welcome and pampered so that they will rave about the hotel as a whole rather than acknowledging the beauty of it and complaining about the lack of hospitality. Only then will this hotel deserve an "excellent" rating.

Room Tip: The rooms in the 240 range abut the wall along the cobblestone street so they are noisy and do not h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WnnaBTrvlWrtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
We appreciate very much the time you took to write your review and hope you visit our Hotel soon. For future reference, we have 83 standard rooms (only 8 with 1 king size bed each) and the rest with 2 full-size beds each and this is why we recommend to make special requests in advance. Please contact us in the future to take care of your reservations directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
857 reviews
0.7 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 75 in Antigua
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#7 of 75 in Antigua
432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 75 in Antigua
303 reviews
0.9 mi away
Soleil La Antigua
Soleil La Antigua
#17 of 75 in Antigua
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo

Property: Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Address: 3a Calle Oriente No 28 A, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Antigua
#2 Family Hotel in Antigua
#3 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santo Domingo Hotel Antigua
Casa Santo Domingo Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing