We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like history, mystery & romance look no further”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Incredible experience if you like the idea of staying in a heritage site. You will give up on some of the modern conveniences but will be better for the experience. If you are the type of person who woukd want to stay in a castle when you visit Scotland and the old town when you visit Jeruselum - the this is your spot - enough said.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

We appreciate very much the time you took to write your review and hope you visit again our Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,307)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 1,307 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

The grounds of this hotel/museum are beautiful and the amenities are top noch. The service and staff were all very professional and helpful as well and the location is convenient to all things in Antigua. The rooms however feel very dark and a bit dated. The beds and linens are very comfortable and clean and the room sizes are nice but the carpet shows a lot of wear and tear with some staining. The bathroom also was very dark and needed some attention to mold in the calk around the tub. Overall a very nice place, but the rooms could use a bit of attention to match the quality and beauty of the grounds.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celtictravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you very much for your observations, we will review them carefully. we hope to have a future opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My husband and I recently returned from a visit to Antigua Guatemala and stayed at Casa Santo Domingo. It is a hidden treasure! Built from the ruins of a 1500's convent. There is a museum on the grounds right behind the pool. The walkways are covered in a hanging latticework of flowers. Your walk around the grounds and to and from your room is beautiful. I didn't take advantage of the spa, but friends of mine that did said it was the best massage they have ever had. The breakfast at the restaurant on site is wonderful, especially the made to order omelette. Another advantage to the hotel is it is within walking distance to a lot of restaurants and shops in Antigua. The central park is a short 10-15 minute walk away. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would love to stay here again and again! Thanks!

Room Tip: If you can, ask for a room with a little balcony. We didn't realize they had balconies because w...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisham3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you very much for writing such a nice review and are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Casa Santo Domingo is a beautiful oasis in bustling Antigua. The perfect place to stay, relax, and enjoy the on-site museums, gorgeous grounds, candlelit evenings, fine dining, art, and on and on... It is an easy stroll into the Central Park area. It was our first time to Guatemala, and we were extremely pleased with our choice of Casa Santo Domingo. We spent our first 2 nights there before heading to Lake Atitlan, and then returned for one more night before flying home.
We received excellent service throughout both stays, and enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel. One of the best hotels we've ever had the pleasure of staying at. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 225 the first 2 nights. It was rather dark and poorly lit, but it was a standard roo...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SenoritaSuzieCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you very much for your comment. We also hope you return soon and let us be your hosts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Casa Santo Domingo is a hotel built in the ruins of a Spanish colonial mission. The entire hotel is beautiful and it is filed with art and artifacts hundreds of years old. Ancient stone walls draped in greenery, orchids and other flowers.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at CSD and we hope to have a future opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

It has cloisters and courtyards, macaws, candlelit dining room, suites, good food, international guests. We have stayed in other converted monasteries and this is the nicest. It also has a lovely pool, warm, and spa. The hotel is walking distance to almost everything in pretty, colonial Antigua.

Room Tip: Ask for a room or suite with natural light. Some can be dark. Hotel should not charge for internet...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archeology101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your comment. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I recently had the good fortune of spending four nights at Antigua's fabulous Casa Santo Domingo. Over the years I have been fortunate to visit many countries and many great hotels, however, none can compare with this unique establishment. Built around a sixteenth century thrice ruined convent the architects have done a masterly job of incorporating the old with the new. The place is a virtual museum but unlike a normal museum the Casa operates as a five star hotel. Likely the best in Antigua which is considered the best example of a Spanish colonial city to be found in the Americas. Oh and did I mention that the property sits in the shadow of three amazing volcanos. A must visit!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rangitoto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your visit to La Antigua and CSD.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
884 reviews
0.7 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#5 of 75 in Antigua
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Soleil La Antigua
Soleil La Antigua
#19 of 75 in Antigua
485 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#8 of 75 in Antigua
437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#7 of 75 in Antigua
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo

Address: 3a Calle Oriente No 28 A, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Antigua
#2 Business Hotel in Antigua
#3 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: £82 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santo Domingo Hotel Antigua
Casa Santo Domingo Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing