We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Nearby Hotels
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Porta Hotel Antigua(Antigua)
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Casa Cristina(Antigua)(Great Value!)
US$32
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$26
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,545)
Filter reviews
1,545 results
Traveller rating
1,106
277
88
32
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,106
277
88
32
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssanto domingochocolate factoryhotel museumbeautiful hotelstar hotelmodern artgrounds are amazingsmall balconyhotel guestsbreakfast buffetevery cornerstandard roombottled watermagical placecentral americaguatemala cityan oasis
Filter
Updating list...
508 - 513 of 1,545 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Our family stayed at the hotel for three nights. The grounds were more impressive
than I had expected. I found the historical setting fascinating and very atmospheric. The pool was large, and when we were there, we were virtually the only people in it. The grounds were well kept, leaves and petals picked up almost as soon as they fell . The children loved watching the parrots being put on their
perches every morning.
The food was of excellent quality and very well presented, we enjoyed choosing from the gourmet menu every day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmaIlminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for your comment. We are glad to know you had a nice experience at Casa Santo Domingo & hope you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at Casa Santo Domingo for four nights during Semana Santa. The hotel is beautifully set amongst ruins of a convent. The attention to detail was amazing- flower arrangements that changed daily, multitudes of candles displayed at night, the gardens and ruins, the classical pianist in the courtyard, etc. Our kids loved the beautiful pool and exploring the ruins, church and different museums on site. We even visited the candle workshop where they were able to take a class in candle making. Each staff member went out of their way to say hello with a smile and the food was amazing! Breakfast was included with our stay and the selection pleased all of us, from continental to regional there was a tremendous choice. No regrets, we highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank violet50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for your special review. It pleases us to know you enjoyed our flower & candle arrangements, the music, visiting the museums and our service. We hope you return to La Antigua and visit us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here for only one night, but it was certainly memorable. The hotel is built on the grounds of a very old convent - and the architects maintained much of the old structure. Ancient walls can be found throughout the grounds, as well as statues and even an old crypt. There is a beautiful pool, a spa, a museum, an extraordinarily good restaurant, and the rooms and suites are large and well appointed. At night, the entire place is candlelit giving the hotel an almost surreal ambiance. I would liken staying overnight at the Casa Santa Domingo, to staying in a haunted museum. The hallways are dark, except for the light shining on 17th century statues which line the way. Gregorian chants are piped in everywhere. it was not a "cozy" experience. But it was definitely memorable, and for Guatemalan standards a bit cool in attitude and high in price. Also, the location is not central, but a about a 10 minute walk from the plaza.

Room Tip: Make sure to stay long enough to enjoy the grounds and museum
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased to know that you had a memorable experience & hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This place is amazing! The grounds are so unique and pristine we felt like we were in another world. We stayed for 4 nights for an on site wedding and loved it. Every detail is attended to. The pool, rooms, nooks and crannies of the grounds and the breakfast buffet were all great. The only sub-optimal experience we had was that we couldn't get lunch (only drinks) delivered to the pool so we spent over an hour waiting for cheeseburgers at the cafe in the center of the complex...time that would have been much better spent at the pool. Otherwise, this is an experience that can't be missed!

Room Tip: Our room (102) opened up to a gorgeous quiet alcove with a fountain. I'm not sure I would have liked a room overlooking the pool as much.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you very much for your comment, we are glad to know you enjoyed your stay and will look into the pool service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This hotel has an amazing environment. From the ruins to the corridors of an ancient monastery I didn't want to leave. With opera or chanting on the speakers it feels peaceful everywhere on the grounds. The pool was great and rooms spacious and complete with a working fireplace. Loved it and will be back. Spa was great with hot rock massage!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 406dl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for your comment, we are glad to know you enjoyed our services - including the "Jade" rocks massage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews