We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic to be staying in a 16thC Monastery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is amazing - the history of the Monastery now a wonderful 5star hotel - the breakfast, the staff, the Spanish architecture you can just wander through the grounds and let your imagination run wild as to what it would have been like in the 16th Century as a Dominican Monastery.
A beautiful place to stay in Antigua and handy to the town centre of Antigua.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anzactravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your comment. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our breakfast selection, the service, the architecture and wandering through the grounds. We hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Reconstructed monastery turned 5-star hotel (5-star by Central American standards, at any rate). Huge hotel grounds, classic Spanish colonial architecture, lots of modern art and old religious artifacts scattered around, museums on site, comfortable rooms. The restaurant and bar were ok although service could be slow, especially in the bar. The breakfast buffet was quite elaborate. Easy walking distance to lots of great restaurants, shops, the artisan market, and other attractions in the city center. Don't miss the restaurant on the hill - there is a shuttle from the hotel street entrance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your comment, we hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Wonderful resort, good food, extraordinary staff. Was there for a business conference and brought my wife...who thoroughly enjoyed the pool, spa, workout Faciltities, town of Antigua and more.

A highly recommend.
Would be even better if there was another restaurant to opt for, however. Staff was well above and beyond the normal definition of courteous.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

We are glad to know you visited the hotel with your wife and enyed your stay, the pool, spa, workout facilities and La Antigua Guatemala. If you return, pls make sure to visit our other restaurant at the hill where you will also be able to enjoy nature, different art exhibits, canopy and more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel is sprawling and beautiful. You can spend hours here just looking around at the monastery ruins, art galleries, candle making, etc. We stayed in the Estanzia de Nobleza which was a huge suite with fireplaces in the living area and bedroom. There was a huge jacuzzi tub in the large bathroom and we had a beautiful private balcony that stretched the entire length of the suite overlooking the courtyard. The room itself is filled with nice details: antique furniture, wood for the fireplace, l'occitane toiletries. The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful. We did not have any problems at all during our stay, but am sure they would have promptly done anything they could if something would have come up! The breakfast was delicious (not included, though) and we also had the pleasure of dining at the restaurant at night--it did not disappoint. The area feels very safe and the hotel is close enough to walk to any attractions within Antigua.

Room Tip: Try to get a room--preferably one of the suites--in the older part of the hotel. Has much more "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 770HeatherM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay in the "Estancia De la Nobleza", walking through the grounds and our different services. We hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is the place to stay if you want to immerse yourself in ancient history, museums, crypts, great food and comfortable accommodations. We were there for a week and wandered through the grounds every chance we could. The museums on the grounds are interesting and full of artifacts.

If your are not the squeamish type, decent the spiral staircase near the Cathedral into one of the crypts…. bones and bodies…. what other hotel has this amity :-)

The food is great, breakfast is a buffet with make to order eggs. Sunday buffet is huge and it is best to go early as it gets busy. The dining room roof ends half way so you can choose to eat under the sky or indoors.

By the 4th day we had a reserved table in the lounge and they would bring us to the same table each time… not that we drink a lot… we just like the atmosphere of the lounge…

The pool is awesome, they serve by the pool…..

No A/C but ceiling fans work perfectly…. We had a first floor king.. definitely recommend that. Also ask to not be on the street side….

The center of town is only a few blocks away so shopping and dining are a breeze.

I'll be back --- hmm where did I hear that before ---

Room Tip: Definitely recommend the king bed on first floor. No elevators. Also ask to not be on the street sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hyjinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comment. We are glad that you had enough time to enjoy our different services and to wander through the grounds. For your information, as a result of guest recommendations, we are currently working to install A/C in our rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I Was there on a 2 night stay. The place is a beautiful place all around no one can take that from the hotel grounds.
However the service that the employees provide is awful. For as much as you are paying they should have excellent customer service and try to make your stay more pleasing and comfortable. They all seem to be unhappy to do anything for you. It all started when my first room I was given had a very large spirder on the bed and immediately requested a new one. The lady at the check in desk seemed bothered I requested a new room as if it was a inconvenience to her for me to do so.
At the restaurant that night I request a side of dressing and took them 30 minutes to bring it out. Mind you if the restaurant was busy then I completely understand. But there was only 3 other couples other then us. So By the time it was out my food was cold and I was more upset then hungry. No command curtesy for any of the servers for a simple I'm sorry or anything like that.
And on my check out day same young lady that checked me in, had the same attitude as if it was a inconvenience to have her do her job and check me out my room.
Things that went wrong in my visit were simple things. But goes to show you how important customer service is for us who are paying over 200$ a night. Save your self money and go else where. Theres plenty of beautiful hotels there.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricky1715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

We are very sorry to know that you had such a bad experience during your stay and most of all, for not having known about it in order to solve it immediately. Even though we have a very strict pest control program and all our processes are certified, we will look into the matter. If you give us the opportunity of serving you in the future, pls contact me directly at igomez@casasantodomingo.com.gt so I can take care of your reservation personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Spent 5 days here during a business trip. A converted convent similar to the Santa Clara in Cartagena. Rooms are spacious, each with a small balcony. Staff attentive and you never seem to see them as the place feels large and tranquil. But service did not suffer. Food was top notch, local and western and the bar was good. The centre of town was a five minute walk from the hotel. All in all a wonderful historic hotel in a part of the world people do not visit. But I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Santo Domingo.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you very much for writing your comment. We are pleased to know that even though you visited on a business trip, you were able to enjoy our hotel and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
890 reviews
0.7 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 75 in Antigua
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Soleil La Antigua
Soleil La Antigua
#18 of 75 in Antigua
491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#8 of 75 in Antigua
437 reviews
1.5 mi away
Finca Filadelfia Coffee Resort & Tours
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo

Address: 3a Calle Oriente No 28 A, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Antigua
#2 Family Hotel in Antigua
#3 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: £82 - £564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santo Domingo Hotel Antigua
Casa Santo Domingo Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing