We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really feel the monastery aspect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really feel the monastery aspect!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This old monastery is the real deal!! The property is an old monastery really we'll kept. Rooms are very spacious and all originality we'll maintained. Some rooms are located right above the many crypts that you can actually visit. Amazing authentic Guatemalan chocolate mini factory and candle making shop on the premises. I must say that my wife & I felt a little spooked with the monastery music in the outside hallways but you will feel there's lots that happened there. Overall it was nice and food was average.

Room Tip: If you get spooked easily, I wouldn't recommend this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quintanaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you very much for the review. We are glad to know you enjoyed staying in CSD and had time to visit the museums, chocolate, wax and pottery workshops. We hope you can come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    225
    70
    24
    31
See reviews for
221
403
66
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
N. Augusta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel is a centuries old monastery, parts of which have been dug out from volcanic ash. The hotel rooms have been built into and around the monastery in a seamless fashion. The flow of the rooms, open walled restaurant and lush gardens leave you wanting to to discover every part of it. At night the corridors are lit with candlelight and the glow fills you with a quiet peace. From the sounds of the water fountains to the beauty of the parrotts, you won't find a more truly relaxing and refreshing place to stay.The restaurant is extremely good and the service is very attentive. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skipper501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you very much for your comment. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your visit and hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I recently traveled to Casa Santo Domingo to photograph a destination wedding for a great couple, I was very impressed by the hotel and the beauty of Antigua. I took in the sites, with zip-lining, coffee plantation tour, and walking tours throughout the historic city.

My good friends from Paris, France, were also married at Casa Santo Domingo, and they have been telling me about how great it was for years, I am so happy I got to experience it myself.

The photos from the wedding ceremony on the grounds of the hotel are viewable here:

http://johnmarchisi.com/#!/images/nuptials/lauren/1

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to know you were positively impressed with CSD and La Antigua Guatemala. We hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
300 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Love this place and all the history within it, but always feel it's a bit "dressy". If you are looking for a formal location with food to match then you have found your spot. So many nice things about this property and staff. Antigua at it's best.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KentuckyGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you very much for your comment. If we have the opportunity to serve you in the future, we suggest you visit our restaurant in the hill (Tenedor del Cerro) which is very casual and you will be able to enjoy wonderful views and pizza, pasta & grill menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

This place is beautiful. So much to see. I don't think there are places like it in the states. Staff was flexible, helpful, pleasant. Room was amazing song with the view from the roof. It was classy with all the amenities you could want with a feel of being back in time.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank oweazzello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for writing such a nice review. We are pleased to know that our staff was helpful and pleasant and that you enjoyed special details such as the music and amenities. We hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Note: We stayed here in 2006. This was one of our all-time favorite hotels. A monastery devastated by an earthquake and later reconstructed into a five star hotel, the place is rife with history. The rooms are decorated almost like a museum with lots of tile work and statues in the room. Our room was enormous, with a garden-like bath -with a trellis of vines overhead - and a sitting room. Breakfasts were incredible, with every kind of fresh fruit. A patio above our building gave us a fabulous view of the city and the surrounding volcanoes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for writing a review of our property. We are glad to know you returned and once again, enjoyed your stay. If you plan to return, pls contact me at igomez@casasantodomingo.com.gt, I will be pleased to make your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A place worth visiting! Be prepared to walk a lot and avoid high heels as this is a 16thC Monastery transformed into a 5Star hotel. The place is beautiful, if you get to see the volcanos, the view is awesome. If you feel like rest and relaxing this is the place. For a business meeting, is very convenient too! The breakfast service is very nice, and the food at the restaurant is great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrisGomez, Gerente at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your comment. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your visit and hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.6 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#4 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#7 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#8 of 82 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#26 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#5 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo

Property: Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Address: 3a Calle Oriente No 28 A, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Antigua
#2 Business Hotel in Antigua
#3 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santo Domingo Hotel Antigua
Casa Santo Domingo Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing