We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
“Just the best”
Reviewed 17 March 2005

This is the most beautiful hotel I’ve ever visited in Central America. And not because Hollywood celebrities and the former US presidents had stayed there – but due to its unique “espris“. Coming to Antigua Guatemala you first of all are looking forward to being “conquered” by its historical heritage, and Casa Santo Domingo is one of the town’s colonial jewels. Staying at this charming hotel you just follow the style.
Situated in the premises of the former Dominican monastery, the hotel possesses huge flourish territory with ruins of the medieval cathedral, fountains, museums , and even small candle workshop on it.
Rooms are incredibly spacious, convenient and specifically furnished “a la temps colonial”, with working fireplace and personal exit to the garden. Plus all the 5-star hotel facilities.
Service – second to none. Stuff is rather friendly and helpful.
Unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed May 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank KSergey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    861
    225
    70
    24
    31
See reviews for
225
405
66
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 March 2005

We spent several days at the Casa Santo Domingo in February 2005. We could not have been more pleased with the "museum" atmosphere. The room with two double beds was luxureous, and the bath was excellent - a large bath tub with shower, every morning new toothbrushes, razors, and anything you might need. The room had a balcony, a working fireplace, and quiet. The room was quickly madeup when we left the makeup request on the door when we went out every morning. Several morning we requested and promply received morning coffee in our room. The adjacent two museums, which are part of the restoration, should be visited more than once. The undergroung parking garage is very well staffed and must be seen to believe; the design and construction sets a standard for other garages. Not even in a Ritz Carlton has the director volunteered to help me and took the time to asked how did I find the hotel and how did I think the hotel could improve. (Only one meal was slow being served.) We plan to spend several weeks in November so that we can enjoy this wonderful hotel as the base from which we will study Spanish.

Guatemala, as well as the guests of the Casa Santo Domingo, are most fortunate to have the Arimany family which preserved historical artifacts which the family so tasefully incorporated in its restoration of the monastery for visitors to Guatemala.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2005

Absolutely romantic! The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are quaint, & rustic, the staff extremely friendly & helpful. Every night w/ turndown service they also offer to start the fire in your chimney, because we were
going out to dinner one night, we asked that they do it around 10PM figuring that this is when we would be back from dinner. We didn't arrive back until 11:30PM. Wouldn't you know it, the guy stuck around & waited for us to start our chimney fire when he could have gone home for the night...now that's service!

The steam rooms which for some reason they call saunas, they're not, are great & smell really good. the pool is beautiful, especially at night. The grounds are great to walk at night too, everything is lit by candle light.

For a little history of the city, the best walking tour is done by Elizabeth Bell. It's 3hrs, but well worth it. La Fonda is very good for lunch. Dinner is divine at Panza Verde, another beautiful hotel, but on a smaller scale to CSD. The city is surrounded by 3 volcanoes, one spits out smoke every day...very cool!

Safety: I read the US/GOV sight too, which made me leave all of our jewelry at home and really nice clothes, which I regret. They have done a lot & is still doing a lot to clean up this city & make it tourist friendly. We had no trouble what so ever. We walked back to the hotel late at night by ourselves & we were fine. We wandered throughout the city during the day without any trouble at all. Wear comfortable shoes tough, the cobble stone isn't smooth & you can seriously twist your ankle or trip over loose stone.

Although the hotel doesn't mention anything about the safety of the water, we used bottled water to drink & brush our teeth. However, we did have margarita's & rum & cokes in restaurants. We did get sick when we got back home, my husband started to feel sick the day we left & was sick for about 2 weeks. Went to the ER, ran blood tests.etc. he was fine, just had to sweat it out...It's a chance you take when you visit places like this, no regrets.

What the Government sight doesn't tell you is that a lot of the really bad stuff that takes place happens to vehicles carrying missionaries who dare to enter into these remote villages thinking that they can convert the indigenous people. We know this because we became friendly with some of the Americans who have lived there for years. Of course one should be smart, if there are places that you won't go to back home for fear of danger, don't do it there either.

  • Stayed January 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank TravelNutsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 February 2005

I once lived just blocks away from the Santo Domingo and still visit it when in Antigua. I have watched it grow from a private residence to a small restuarant and to what is now the most elegant hotel and cultural center in all of Guatemala. The facilities include five world class museusms, wonderful restuarants, and absolutely gorgeous grounds. The Santo Domingo is a must for any visitor to Antigua, even if you choose to stay elsewhere.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 76 in Antigua
853 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#7 of 76 in Antigua
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 76 in Antigua
708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#8 of 76 in Antigua
404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 76 in Antigua
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo

Property: Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Address: 3a Calle Oriente No 28 A, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#2 Business Hotel in Antigua
#2 Family Hotel in Antigua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santo Domingo Hotel Antigua
Casa Santo Domingo Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing