We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious site, wonderful service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2007

Although we were walk-ins - no reservations - who had arrived in Antigua for a one-night stay after a session at a humanitarian project, the staff were gracious, did not blink at the paint and concrete dust on my clothes, and found us 3 rooms. Mine was Suite 4S, situated in a condo outside the main hotel. It is a 2 story/loft apartment that was impecible, clean, with fresh drinking water , a great king-size bed and no end of hot water (essential ), the usual amenities and large bath sheets. Extremely secure. My only hesitation was that there was no quick entry to the hotel from the apartments. The suite is great for a family as it has a pull-out sofa, a full kitchen and 1 1/2 baths. Other suites have washer/dryer sets. The hotel site is beyond belief in its beauty. We visited with florists setting up for a wedding, and toured the historic site. Note the parrots, gardens, gorgeous pool, and non-aggressive sales people in the small stores. I hope to stay there again. The prices are more than reasonable! I also enjoyed the mix of relics and modern art on display and the baroque music.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank NancyChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

818 - 824 of 1,476 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2007

The Casa Santo Domingo is absolutely lovely! We arrived at night when all the candles were lit and soothing music was playing in the corridors. We sat in the outside hot tubs and sipped glasses of wine while enjoying the candles around us. We had a large standard room with a fireplace, balcony overlooking a garden and volcano and a tv with international channels. The bathrooms were large and a jar of floating rose petals was next to the sink.The staff were friendly and helpful and the museum is very interesting. We only had one night here but plan to return!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank smgapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2006

We just returned from an exceptional week at Casa Santo Domingo. We had read the reviews from previous visitors prior to our booking of the hotel and admittedly, we booked with some caution. Having now used TripAdvisor to assit our travel on several occasions, we've learned to read between the lines and get an overall sense based on numbers of reviews. So, I offer our perspective for those who might be contemplating a visit.

A first consideration is to remember that this fine hotel is in a different culture than the United States. Thus, American-based expectation might lead to some disappointment. The Latin Americans are much more laid back yet are sincere, friendly, and humble. But I wouldn't consider the staff at this hotel trained to address guests as if one were at a Ritz-Carlton. Frankly, though, I find some degree of pretension at the Ritz-Carlton, although many guests I know groove on that kind of attention. Our service was genuine and taken with responsibility.

As one reviewer commented, the rooms do not have airconditioning (the cooler temps of the region don't usually necessitate A/C) but we did request a fan as the room was a bit stuffy. However, they were well-appointed, beds very comfortable, there was a pillow-menu, and bath ammenities provided. We were quite comfortable.

The grounds rival any hotel I've ever experienced. The hotel captures well the feel of a monastery, and it did not at all seem pretentious. With hundreds of candles, beautiful flowers, exquisite plantings, phenomenal period art pieces, and well-manicured grounds, a guest is treated to a feast for the eyes.

We had several meals at the hotel and found them quite nice, although we took advantage of some incredible meals at other restaurants. I highly recommend Nicolas and Le Casserole. The breakfast buffet at the Casa Santo Domingo is adequate for the money but does remind me of convention breakfast buffets but with a Guatemalan twist.

The concierge is more than helpful. We found Elizabeth Bell's walking tour quite informative and well worth the money.

In summary, if a beautiful setting, a unique hotel experience in another culture, a lovely ambiance, and above average comforts are your idea of a vacation, then I think you'll enjoy Casa Santo Domingo. Just remember that this isn't an American hotel, these aren't Americans, but they are wonderful, humble people who are interested in your having a terrific vacation. We'd easily book this hotel again . . . and probably will.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
23  Thank RWMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2006

A gorgeous physical facility - the gardens, parrots, candle-lit hallways. Rooms were nicely appointed although quite dark. The restaurant was not up to the standards of a 5 star- either in service or food quality.

Gripe #1 - maid service pounding on the door at 8am on a Sunday morning at a resort destination... what's the hurry ??

Gripe # 2 - watching 5 (FIVE) staffers trying to check out one guest (me) in under 20 minutes. It's not all that complicated. Put some people on the front desk who understand how the computer system works. Wasn't much better checking in either.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank SuperSpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2006

I stayed there one night, the Grounds are fabulous, but then you could go there to visit the museum while you stay at a different Hotel. The Staff is not very helpful and definetaly dont provide a five star service.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank rileymaltez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2006

We stayed in this hotel for 3 days. The museums, ruins & gardens are as good as everyone says, in fact, they were some of the best we saw in Antigua.
Unfortunately, this hotel was uncomfortable. Although our room was pleasant, there was no air conditioning which was very much needed. After a shower, the bathroom became sauna-like & the tiny window in there was useless. There was no air conditioning in the breakfast area either which was very hot & much worse in the buffet area containing heating appliances. Even the staff there were suffering. We spent each breakfast perspiring & chasing flies from our plates as the "windows" (the original building's arches) were not covered.
Also, some staff seemed to lack professionalism. The problem wasn't the errors they kept making but how they handled them. Reception was the worst & they were not very friendly when the errors were pointed out to them either. The errors/confusion were mostly over our booking, our breakfast entitlement (that was a saga each day) & receiving another room's account which was unceremoniously slipped under our door.
Other bad points were the way staff would barge into our room using their keys after hardly knocking, white ants invading our bathroom, the badly cracked washbasin & mould around the bath (this is a 5-star hotel). A bigger bad point was the very poor lighting, particularly in the bathroom.
The hotel itself is a fine building but some things appeared a bit contrived or pretentious (religious robes worn by staff, music played ad nauseum throughout the grounds, rose petals everywhere, namedropping of previous "famous" guests). This all depends on one's personal tastes but diverting some of their efforts (& cash) to improve basic guest comforts would have been preferable.
This hotel is around 15 minutes away from the main plaza. The walk there & back is very pleasant although the streets can be very dark & isolated at night with the occasional policeman patrolling the area. This was not a concern for us but it may be for nervous nellies.
It's possible to just visit the hotel's grounds for a fee without having to stay which I think is a better option. After visiting a friend at the the Porta Antigua Hotel we decided we'll be staying there when we visit Antigua next time as that hotel obviously has guest comfort as its first priority.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank PabloSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2006

This is one of those hotels that have details - every nook and cranny gives you some detail. Staff are very nice and polite. Grounds are outstanding. Rooms are lovely. Food and service good. The only bad part is that Antigua is worth visiting and you do not want to leave this great hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Happy_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
946 reviews
0.7 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 75 in Antigua
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#4 of 75 in Antigua
435 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pensativo House Hotel
Pensativo House Hotel
#13 of 75 in Antigua
173 reviews
1 mi away
Soleil La Antigua
Soleil La Antigua
#16 of 75 in Antigua
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo

Address: 3a Calle Oriente No 28 A, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Antigua
#2 Business Hotel in Antigua
#2 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: £85 - £1,047 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santo Domingo Hotel Antigua
Casa Santo Domingo Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing