We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”

Iglesia de La Merced
Book In Advance
More Info
US$75.00*
and up
Half Day Tour to Antigua Guatemala
Ranked #7 of 81 things to do in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Destroyed twice by earthquakes, this 1548 church was rebuilt in the 1700s to withstand earthquakes and boasts a lovely yellow façade and a huge stone fountain, reputed to be the largest in Central America.
seattle
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I loved this old Catholic church. It has old antique furniture and statues that have been saved throughout its history. There is also a park and bus stop so you can interact with the local people. I watched the women embroidery and weave. It was a beautiful experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nursepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    245
    74
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Howell, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
110 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Stop by for some photos”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

A very old church with an interesting history. I walked around and took some photographs, while walking through the city.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place to take photos”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I got some great shots, if you are a photographer, this is a great place to visit. It gets kind of expensive to take the whole family, American tourist will pay a much higher price than the latin american tourists, but the price is still reasonable.

You can purchase a guided tour for a better experience, but I just wanted to take some photos.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Solecito_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a must see when in Antigua”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

nice - big - church - but simple/elegant in decoration.
right behind the Arco - worth a visit. Not sure why the review has to be 50 characters - when I can state my view in less. let's try to submit now.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Marimbas!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stumbled on a huge marimba concert in the courtyard of La Merced as we were on our way to Cafe Escobar for dinner. The concert was wonderful and the steak at Escobar was delicious. (The marimba is the national instrument of Guatemala.)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iglesia de La Merced also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Iglesia de La Merced? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing