We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really pretty hotel but crap service and terrible noise issue” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aurora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aurora Hotel
Ranked #21 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really pretty hotel but crap service and terrible noise issue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We arrived in Antigua really late at night, completely exhausted after a bus trip from Honduras and were greeted with the news that despite booking a room with two beds they didn't have one. The guy on the desk really wasn't helpful and offered to book us in at another hotel (it was 11pm) but after sitting there refusing to leave they 'found' us a room with two beds. It was all very odd. The other issue was the rooms - they have windows (some of them open) facing the courtyard and from early in the morning, guests and a lot of staff walk the paths talking really loudly. IF you're looking for a romantic getaway with sleep ins, this is not the place to be. The hotel itself is really pretty and well maintained, but I was really unimpressed considering the glowing nature of some of the other reviews on this site. It's also much more pricey than other comparative places to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneIsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    88
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
62
82
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

This hotel is very close to the Central Park which makes it an easy option for food an other excursions. The rooms are beauitful and the bed is comfortable. The only downside to this hotel is that you will want your window open for frsh air - the road is very noisy! Admittedly, I'm a light sleeper so gauge my review based on that: I had a hard time staying asleep due to the sounds on the road, loud people talking right outside my window at 0330 in the morning. Otherwise, I loved this hotel and the staff. They even found a fan for me to help block out the street noise!

Room Tip: Try to get a room off of the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cass W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

The hotel is a single storey structure built around a lovely garden courtyard, with spacious, charming, tastefully decorated rooms including a flat-panel TV with an amazing selection of international channels. It's in a great location, two blocks off the Parque Central. One quaint service I kind of liked: since there are no phones in the rooms, a wake-up call is a knock on the door. According to The Rough Guide to Guatemala it's Antigua's original hotel, but the writer goes on to say that "it's a little old-fashioned." What's he looking for in this enchanting city of Spanish colonial wonders, the Hilton Garden Inn? The hotel's motto is "Hay cosas que el tiempo no cambia..." (there are things that time doesn't change (even if it does bring CNN and WiFi)). I would recommend the Hotel Aurora without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P_Cherches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful. The rooms surround a large quad with a fountain. And the hotel is only a 100m from Parque Central and hence close to many restaurants. But it is a pricey option, and you can get the same comfort for a much lesser price if you are prepared to stay a little further from the centre of town. My rating of average is determined by the less than satisfactory service. The check-in staff were exceptionally slow, and showed no urgency to help us on arrival. Further, we were left waiting for 10min outside on the road while trying to get into the hotel at 10:30pm after going out to eat, as the night manager did not respond for some time to the bell.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GarethKZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Hotel Aurora and the staff was extremely helpful in assisting us with booking various trips. We were there during Holy week and though the city was busy the hotel had beautiful gardens to come back to get away from the crazy streets and relax. There was some noise, but it didn't bother us at all. I would definetly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 992stephanies992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel last week. We enjoyed our first 2 nights so much we canceled our other hotel and stayed here an 2 additional nights after returning from Lake Attitlan. Unfortunately, we had to stay our last night at another hotel because Hotel Aurora was booked due to Semana Santa. The price was reasonable and the rooms and ambiance were large and well-furnished with comfortable beds. The rooms had purified water and the shower and bath was lovely. The front desk was very helpful and made calls for us as needed. Breakfast was mostly fresh fruit and yogurt and granola with coffee (included) but you could also order a fuller breakfast from a full menu. The location of this hotel is superb, located near shops and restaurants and central to everything. The Semana Santa processions go right by the hotel. Highly recommend; definitely worth the extra money over a more average hotel. (Our last night we stayed at another hotel in town that was not half as nice, cost $40 more and did not include breakfast or purified water in the room.) Note, this is one of the oldest and lovliest old hotels in Antigua with beautiful gardens and a courtyard with lots of chairs and tables to sit and relax. One recommendation would be that they serve drinks or coffee in the afternoon so if you have company you can entertain guests. They have 2 computers with internet and a printer that are free-of-charge.

Room Tip: Great Value. We had rooms 14 and 15 which were lovely. They all look like they would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bugebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

We recently spent 10 days in Antigua, Guatemala in the Hotel Aurora. This is the original hotel built in Antigua. It has been updated wonderfully with sound deadening windows, modern baths,and room decoration. The garden in this small, one story hotel is beautiful, full of wonderful flowers and is very well maintained. The full veranda provides ample, comfortable conversation areas, enabling the visitor to enjoy the tranquility of the garden at any tome of the day or evening.
The complimentary breakfast was great and one could supplement it with special orders, very reasonably priced.
The best feature, in our opinion, was the staff. Everyone, from the owners, to the desk people, management staff, breakfast servers, and room support ladies, was friendly and went beyond what I would expect to accommodate our every need and solve particular problems;
all this in a very beautifully appointed but extremely moderately priced hotel. I would recommend this hotel very highly to anyone traveling to Guatemala, and specifically to Antigua.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.1 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#16 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#5 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#25 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#9 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Catedral
Hotel la Catedral
#15 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Pasos
Hotel Los Pasos
#11 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel

Property: Aurora Hotel
Address: 4a Calle Oriente 16, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Antigua
#17 Family Hotel in Antigua
#20 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful hotel, located 3 blocks away from the Central Plaza.Cozy with an affordable rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Antigua Guatemala
Aurora Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing