We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a rare jewel in the heart of old town Antigua”
Review of Aurora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aurora Hotel
Ranked #21 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“a rare jewel in the heart of old town Antigua”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

when you travel from california to Central America you know you will get different level of service.
not really the case here Guatemala we have found to be real unique country .
this hotel is so calm and relaxed and the service is pure joy.
they are aware you are the one they keep their jobs and the show it with great service.
the rooms are like visiting old grandma in a flair of old times.
yet again if i wanted holiday in i will stay in the usa. smiling
really top location, walking around the heart of the city and having a wonderful few days in
this old city of colors and flavors. we enjoyed the hotel and we promise to come back.
no sour face service what's so ever!
i like it. as i know its not not always the case.

Room Tip: just ask for the south side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank navawritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    90
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
63
82
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Aurora Hotel during both of our visits to Antigua. This hotel gives excellent value for the price - breakfast is included, the rooms cleaned daily, and the staff is always more than willing to help.
The location couldn't be better. The same street includes many cute places to shop and there are various good restaurants in the vicinity. It is also a two minute walk to the Central Park.
One of my favorite things about this hotel is the relaxing atmosphere. Aurora Hotel has such beautiful gardens that I enjoyed waking up to. I recommend this hotel to anyone who values cleanliness and comfort at a good price.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JennaMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Ca
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here for one night at the conclusion of our mission trip. Everything couldn't have been nicer. The rooms and the gardens are beautifully maintained, and the location is perfect. While some of the reviews complained about noise, we did not experience this, though we did have to keep our window closed to the street. Our room was near the desk- no issues. The staff was very kind and accommodating. We had brought back some food after dinner, and they kindly kept it for us in the fridge until the next day. My one warning to others would be about the breakfast- continental breakfast is included with the room (fruit, bread, coffee), if you eat the pancakes and eggs, there is an extra charge.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMRah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I have been staying at Aurora since 2006 with a service group and always love the experience. The location is good, the staff is wonderful, the rooms are beautiful and the garden is peaceful. My only complaint is that they are often full, when I've happened by with out a reservation!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NC4Guate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Butiful garden lovely rooms and very clean.
thre is alot of place to seat and chill
Near the central park
Staff was helpful very nice and kind
We will be back there again
1 minute walk to the central park and 10 minutes to the market

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank matan y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I first visited Guatemala eighteen years ago and stayed at Hotel Aurora with my wife and my daughter who was serving in Guatemala as a Peace Corps volunteer. We were all impressed by the overall quality of the establishment from the standpoint of comfort, friendliness of staff, security and value. I have returned many times since then and always stay at Hotel Aurora if Antigua is on my itinerary.
WAyne Hess
lapedreraschoolproject.com

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZorroPlatiado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

They were very accommodating. We stayed for a very short period of time and left a five a.m. The night stay were willing to get up to let us know our taxi had arrived. The beds are amazing and extremely comfortable. Hot showers, cable television, good location. My only complaint is the Internet. It was extremely weak and only worked if I was directly at the door. Maybe if I had asked the staff to reset it, it might have worked. Otherwise for the price its great

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynetteLuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.1 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#22 of 75 in Antigua
435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 75 in Antigua
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#29 of 75 in Antigua
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#26 of 75 in Antigua
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Pasos
Hotel Los Pasos
#13 of 75 in Antigua
240 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#10 of 75 in Antigua
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel

Property: Aurora Hotel
Address: 4a Calle Oriente 16, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Antigua
#17 Family Hotel in Antigua
#20 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful hotel, located 3 blocks away from the Central Plaza.Cozy with an affordable rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Antigua Guatemala
Aurora Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing