We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely - Old world charm and tranquillity”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aurora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aurora Hotel
Ranked #21 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely - Old world charm and tranquillity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2009

We walked past this hotel twice as it is discretely hidden behind old panelled doors. It was an old school or convent with shady courtyard and charming rooms with up-dated bathrooms.
While we were searching for the hotel we met a couple who were living long term in Antigua and had researched lots of hotels in town for their parents who were visiting shortly. They told us this was the best of all the hotels they'd seen in this medium priced category. We could only agree with them. Excellent breakfast in the old refectory.
We loved it all.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraveliteSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    89
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
62
82
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
240 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2009

We stayed here for six nights and loved it. The location is perfect, only two blocks from the central plaza, but far enough away that it was a tranquil spot for relaxing after long days of seeing the sights. Ample outdoor seating on the terrace that surrounds the gardens added to the sense of space, although the rooms are large and well-lit as well. The breakfast is minimal, but can be supplemented with inexpensive well-prepared hot dishes if desired. This is the first place I can ever remember having the blankets washed during our stay. Not just the sheets, the blankets! Security is good and the staff responsive. The price of the room is more than is shown on the TripAdvisor page. Our stay was during the low season, and the price was $55 cash or $60 with credit card, much less than the posted rates shown for high season, but quite a bit more than the $41 shown on this web site. Nevertheless, we found it to be a good value.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandCruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
530 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2009

We second the avin492 remarks, and found this to be at the top of our list of 5 different hotels in the country where we stayed. Several breakfast options, immediate response from the English-speaking staff at the front desk, ideal location, and two Internet connections in the dining area added to our appreciation of Aurora. True, the dining room staff knew little English, but we had no problem communicating our wishes to them.

We were there for the big Palm Sunday parade and some of the Holy Week events, which draw in thousands from the countryside. We stopped by Anthony`s coffee store nearby for some great Guatemalan coffee beans and entertainment by this Texas transplant. You shouldn`t miss him or his concoctions. And see our forum post on car and driver if you want a guide for anywhere in the country.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2009

Found this place through tripadvisor reviews and was very pleased with it. We got here and were immediately impressed with the open air courtyard and fountain that greeted us. Very helpful staff that arranged shuttle service for us the next morning to the airport.

Room was very nice as well- steamy hot shower was much needed after a couple days of lukewarm water at other hotels in various locations around GUA.

Located just a few steps from the town square, highly recommend this should you find yourself in Antigua for a day or two. If you're staying longer, and looking for cheap/value spots, then you may want to look elsewhere, but definitely worth a night or two.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights at the start of our trip to Guatemala and Mexico. It was fine, the room was quite big although we had two largish single beds not a double. The room was quite dark but the shower was good. Breakfast was nice but would have been much better if you could have a glass of juice as well as the fruit. The staff didn't speak much English but tried to be helpful if you asked although they didn't give out any maps or information on Antigua. The location was good. We enjoyed the sun beds in the garden.

Although the hotel was ok and we enjoyed Antigua I don't really understand why it is rated so highly. It wasn't our first choice at all as we wanted to stay somewhere special but most other hotels were booked up the weekend we arrived when we tried to book about 6-8 weeks beforehand. We went to Panajachel for 2 days and then came back to Antigua just so we could stay on one of the more romantic sounding hotels and stayed in Mezon Panza Verde for 2 nights. It only cost $20 more per night than Aurora and it was absolutely amazing.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2009

We spent a total of 6 nights there. The hotel is located 2 blocks from the main plaza. Has
18-19 rooms. The rooms overlook a large beautiful square courtyard. The rooms are large and comfortable. The staff is very well trained to make your stay pleasant and be helpful with information and also helping out to find room in another place if they are booked. The breakfast is continental but you can order from a limited menu for an extra charge. But you can go to Dona Luisa bakery and restaurant a block away.
Choose a room away from the street because it gets noisy in the mornings. Best is room #1 that has 2 queen size beds.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martita76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2009

We loved the Aurora Hotel. The rooms were very nice and clean and the courtyard was gorgeous and relaxing. We will only think of the Aurora Hotel on our next trip to Antigua.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoyneTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.1 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#16 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#5 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#25 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Catedral
Hotel la Catedral
#13 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#6 of 82 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#9 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel

Property: Aurora Hotel
Address: 4a Calle Oriente 16, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Antigua
#17 Family Hotel in Antigua
#20 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful hotel, located 3 blocks away from the Central Plaza.Cozy with an affordable rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Antigua Guatemala
Aurora Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing