We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not worth the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Posada Del Angel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Posada Del Angel
Ranked #18 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice but not worth the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Although the hotel itself is beautifully designed and maintained its location is not ideal as its set a ways off from the centre of the town. In addition, for a hotel that charges 5 star prices, one would anticipate 5 star service and facilities. Service was disjointed at best, no turn down, curtain closing service, and the hotel has no ability to serve meals outside of breakfast.
The rooms themselves have no A/C and although there was a minibar, it was empty.
All of these are minor points in isolation but the sum of it make for an overpriced stay for what is offered.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Griffin257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    19
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
102
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Posada del Angel was the perfect choice for us - a romantic getaway with plenty of privacy but always attentive and friendly service. Nothing was ever too much trouble for the staff. I would like to single our Simon in particular who prepared our rooms and served our food with immense care and grace. The building itself is absolutely beautiful and very luxurious; elegantly and tastefully decorated. We stayed in the Yellow Room which overlooked the patio pool and was spacious yet still homely. When I think of Antigua, I think of our wonderful memories of this hotel. I would recommend it to everyone and anyone and would return within a heartbeat, given the chance. It sets the standard for hotels all over the world.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ft6260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Quick review:
We can't say enough about this hotel.
We got off a long overnight flight (I was 34 weeks pregnant) and they were so sweet and offered us a room to relax in before ours was ready at 8am. That was a classy move! After a quick nap and an amazing roof top breakfast we enjoyed the city.
The breakfast was amazing!
We stayed in the green room which was beautiful.
We stayed one night here and another at Santo Domingo. I would hands down come back to Posada del Angel. SERVICE...SERVICE... SERVICE and the rooms were great.
Thank you for a great stay!

We also used Elizabeth Bell tour company for many things. They also are a class act. I will review them more on their page.

Go to Hectors for dinner.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DancinDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

With just 7 rooms this boutique hotel has a warm homey feeling. A spectacular architectural achievement with new constructions which looks hundreds of years old. Gracious staff. Delicious hearty breakfast. Rooftop patio overlooking the town. We stayed in the blue room with soaring ceiling. Huge comfortable bed. We enjoyed a fire on a cool night.

Only complaint is that the pool should be heated. I wanted to swim after a long day touring, but it was more of a splash, scream and get out.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wwtraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avignon, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

I just returned from a 7 night stay at Posada del Angel. My sister and I were very comfortable, and the staff treated us royally in terms of attentiveness, helpfulness, and courtesy. The hotel is an aesthetic gem - you can imagine what it would be like to live in a gorgeous yet homey colonial house. I could list so many details - fresh roses in our room, a fire in our room's fireplace to warm a cool evening, votive candles that line the walkways at night, Guatemalan textiles beautifully featured in all the rooms, delicious breakfasts (with choices), artwork, landscaping ---just perfect. And the staff - wonderful! They helped arrange our day trips to Chichi and Lake Atitlan with safe drivers and a wonderful, knowledgeable guide. From restaurant suggestions to shopping ideas, they helped us make the best use of our time. In my opinion, staying at this small jewel of a hotel beats a stay at any of the larger colonial hotels in town - they can't touch the level of service we experienced at Posada del Angel. This was my second stay at the hotel, and both visits were exceptional.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jonikc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

I just returned from a 4 night stay at this lovely hotel. The staff went above and beyond to accommodate my group the entire time. I arrived very early in the day and was unable to access my room. The staff provided me breakfast and a place to freshen up. Once the rest of my party arrived, the hotel called me so I wouldn't have to worry about checking in to see if they were there yet. They also helped arrange activities/transportation/meals. The entire experience was amazing. Our room was beautifully decorated and the sheets were quite possibly the softest I've ever slept on. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and plan to stay there again on my next visit to Antigua.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a king size bed. Most of the other rooms are double or queen sized. Room 3 was closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Posada del Angel is a special hotel in a very special city. Behind an unassuming door only a few blocks from the city plaza sits a charming hideaway with just a few rooms and delightful sitting area. Above them is a rooftop garden where breakfast is served in a setting, surrounded by volcanoes, that is hard to match anywhere. In addition to the the terrific facility, the staff, led by Anibal, couldn't be nicer or more helpful. If you are tired of the standard upscale hotel and hotel room and are looking for a unique place to stay with extraordinary charm, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SnowTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.1 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#2 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#5 of 82 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#6 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#8 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Del Angel

Property: Posada Del Angel
Address: 4a. Avenida sur # 24A, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#7 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Posada Del Angel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada del Angel, pioneer of the boutique hotel concept in Antigua Guatemala, is a colonial inn par excellence. This elegant boutique hotel, winner of the 2007 Andrew Harper hideaway report, is recognized world-wide by its 7 personalized suites (each with a good burning fire place) and high quality/first class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Posada Del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Angel Hotel Antigua
Posada Del Angel Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing