We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Posada Del Angel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Posada Del Angel
Ranked #19 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a really pleasant hotel with great service. We even received a free upgrade for the suite when we arrived. Highly recommend this place, especially if you are in Antigua with a significant other.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    19
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
103
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

On our first visit to Guatemala we stayed at this delightful little boutique hotel well situated in the lovely old town of Antigua. Due to an early arrival my room was not ready until much later that afternoon. Rather than leave us waiting the delightful manager Anibal (hope spelling is correct)
upgraded us to a suite and allowed us to stay there for the rest of our all too short visit.There is no dining facility, apart from a very good breakfast but with plenty of good restaurants in walking distance this was not a problem. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly and efficient staff of this great find. Cant recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Opt for the Mary Rose suite it is worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVID T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is a very pretty hotel and we would have been delighted with it had we not had the two smallest rooms which were airless and had very dated bathrooms Service by the ever present waiter Simon was fantastic and breakfasts delicious.

Room Tip: Cramped bedroom opposite the pool Dated bathroom Make sure your agent books one of the other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WolseyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lopez Island
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

An aesthete's dream in a small, quiet package. Anibel the manager told us this was our home and we took him up on it. We started each morning w/ freshly squeezed orange juice on the terraza upstairs. Checked to make sure all 3 volcanoes were still there. :O) Then we'd head into town, a mere 5 minute walk to the Parque Central. Roamed around, bought too much, ate too much and then back for a nap and swim. Out again, for dinner this time and then back 'home' to a candlelit walkway to our room. Repeat 4 times. 4 wonderful days. We stayed in the Bird Room. We peeked in all the rooms and liked ours the best. It was a tough call because we'd never been to Antigua before and we wanted to see as much as we could but we also just wanted to just enjoy the Posada itself. Privacy, quiet, a good breakfast, an afternoon dip to cool off... my kind of travel. P.S. It surprises me that this isn't the highest rated accommodation in Antigua. We stayed in one other and peeked into some of the higher rated.... couldn't compare. 4 days is the perfect amount of time.

Room Tip: We liked the Bird Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrewes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed here for 4 days. Location is great. antigua is easily walkable. The hotel is small and service is very personalized. we stayed at the Rose suite which I learned is where Bill Clinton stayed in late 90's. Great bathroom and jacuzzi! It's also on second floor and has it's own terrace. The views from the terrace are unbelievable with the volcanoes not too far away. Slept like a baby, very quiet. Breakfast very good. Very romantic hotel. Mil gracias por sus atenciones.

Room Tip: Rose Suite is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lestat1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NRR
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed here for a wedding in March. The location is excellent, as is the service. I had made last minute reservations for 2 nights, and we had to switch rooms, but we really enjoyed both and the personnel moved our belongings for us. We had drinks on the terrace, enjoyed the small pool after a day walking around town. I also arranged for candles and rose petals on our first night, while we were out at dinner. We loved the sheets so much that I asked for brand and was able to buy a set in the US.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nathalieroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just visited end of September and very happy with our stay. Staff very friendly and knowledgeable. They were able to arrange guided tours that were not just the typical tourist traps. We stayed in the Mary Sue room and could not have asked for a room nicer. Before your dinner, sit by the fireplace and enjoy a Ron Zacapa Centenario 23 on the rocks!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.6 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 76 in Antigua
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#6 of 76 in Antigua
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Encantada
Casa Encantada
#11 of 76 in Antigua
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#7 of 76 in Antigua
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Del Angel

Property: Posada Del Angel
Address: 4a. Avenida sur # 24A, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#8 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Posada Del Angel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada del Angel, pioneer of the boutique hotel concept in Antigua Guatemala, is a colonial inn par excellence. This elegant boutique hotel, winner of the 2007 Andrew Harper hideaway report, is recognized world-wide by its 7 personalized suites (each with a good burning fire place) and high quality/first class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Posada Del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Angel Hotel Antigua
Posada Del Angel Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing