We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel. Also for bigger groups”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Posada Del Angel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Posada Del Angel
Ranked #18 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Immenstadt im Allgau, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel. Also for bigger groups”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed at this hotel twice with a group of friends. The place is fantastic, the service great and the city a must for any Guatemala traveler. After walking around I ended up in a "shady neighborhood" after dark. One of the locals even gave me a ride back to the hotel asking nothing in return. Love that country.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jespersanfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    19
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
102
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I have been to Antigua three times and I stayed at Posada del Angel on my first visit. It is a small gorgeous bed and breakfast. President Clinton stayed here many years ago. It was sold recently and updated so it should be even nicer then when I stayed there. The rooms are beautifully decorated with fabrics and furniture from Antiqua. Each room has a fire place. There is no restaurant but you don't need one. there are so many wonderful restaurant in Antiqua that you want to go out and visit them. We did order in one nigh and the staff was very helpful in getting us menu's they have book of all the places that will deliver to the hotel so that was a perfect end to a long day of shopping. I would stay here again in a heart beat if I had my choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonk18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Posada del Angel for one night at the end of our Guatemalan vacation. I wish I knew about this gem from day one. It was, by far, the best hotel we stayed at in Guatemala (and we spent two nights in the princess suite at Casa Santa Domingo!). The rooms were gorgeous, the service was impeccable and the food was absolutely delicious. The staff knew us by name and were so helpful with restaurant recommendations, things to do in Antigua, etc... Breakfast was incredible (coffee, fresh squeezed juice, toast and your choice of eggs). We had the choice of eating in the beautiful dining room, the stunning rooftop terrace or the privacy of our own room (I highly recommend the terrace). The pool was breathtaking and we were greeted with fresh towels after our swim. It was definitely sad to say goodbye to this remarkable place. If I'm ever in Antigua again I will spend every night at Posada del Angel and I highly recommend you do the same!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenAshleigh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuenca
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is perhaps one of the best experiences i have had in my traveler life. Posada del Angel offers a great atmosphere, beautiful decoration and stunning local architecture of the colonial Guatemala.
Every detail has been well thaught. Each room is decorated in a beautiful unique way.
The pool living area is one of my favorites fromany other hotel imhave stayed previously
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Any room is a great option
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JuanchoCuenca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I have stayed here several times with my husband and now take a group of friends there every year. Never fails to impress. It makes you feel like you stepped back in history with modern day comforts. It feels like a home. The staff work to accommodate your every wish and need. I am a fan of the Casa Santo Domingo, but I think this Posada del Angel adds the personal touch that you just don't fine in the larger hotels. Anibal and his entire staff are superb. Love It!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AudreyKellyDyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I spent nearly a week there. and It was fantastic !
You get to feel so comfortable, that you dont want to leave really.
The staff was very nice and happily answers all of my questions about the city, places to go and things to do.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Lovely oasis in Antigua. Location is great -- just off of the main plaza and very quiet. Staff was great -- Simon even got up at 5am to give me a coffee when I left for the airport. Rooms are good sized. Very romantic

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KGMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.1 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#2 of 82 in Antigua
825 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#6 of 82 in Antigua
400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#7 of 82 in Antigua
671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#8 of 82 in Antigua
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Del Angel

Property: Posada Del Angel
Address: 4a. Avenida sur # 24A, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#7 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Posada Del Angel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada del Angel, pioneer of the boutique hotel concept in Antigua Guatemala, is a colonial inn par excellence. This elegant boutique hotel, winner of the 2007 Andrew Harper hideaway report, is recognized world-wide by its 7 personalized suites (each with a good burning fire place) and high quality/first class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Posada Del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Angel Hotel Antigua
Posada Del Angel Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing