We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place for anyone, especially if you are traveling with children” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quinta de las Flores

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quinta de las Flores
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
nyc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place for anyone, especially if you are traveling with children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

I was so glad that I trusted Trip Advisor and chose this place for our stay in Antigua. First, they always got back to me very quickly by e-mail with any questions that I had prior to our arrival. The hotel arranged a van to pick us up at the airport with a friendly driver for $40. He was there when we arrived, and we were at the hotel in about 40 minutes. And as soon as we arrived at the hotel, my 7 year-old twins were running around in their beautiful garden. It was more beautiful than I imagined with so many flowers and a view of volcanos. There were many little hiding places to explore and I felt totally comfortable and safe for my children to be on their own playing. The garden room was charming and clean. The bathroom could be little bigger and the shower didn't drain well, but had a lot of hot water with good water pressure. We had one breakfast and dinner at the hotel, which was good. My older son was happy with the free internet which was available whenever he wanted to use it. If you want to be right in the center of town, this hotel may not be for you, but we actually preferred being in the quiet area away from the town center. This is truly a great place for anyone, especially traveling with children. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mishokili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    45
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
87
79
23
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2010

This is a lovely little haven in Antigua, the rooms are reasonably priced & quaint- the setting is tranquil & beautiful. The bathrooms left a little to be desired - but not awful. Food was decent and the staff very helpful, they came in and helped us light a fire in the fireplace one night - which was lovely. It was nice to have internet and free access to 3 computers - a great place to stay. The hotel is on the outskirts if antigua, about a 15-20 minute walk, which was actually nice during our stay as the city was loud & crowded the week of Christmas & NYE. However, the walk back at night was not fun nor easy to find our way. We ended up taking taxis from the central park for roughly 30Q which was worth it. we never felt unsafe, just was easier to take the taxi after a few drinks with dinner.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coco1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California, USA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2010

There isn't a nicer spot in Antigua. Lush gardens, rooms have privacy and are furnished with local crafts and textiles, and even a fireplace for cool nights. We stayed here for three nights and loved every minute of it. My only complaint i-- and it's a minor one -- is that it's about 10 - 12 blocks from where most of the restaurants and activities are. And while it's a short walk (and there are armed "tourist police" EVERYWHERE in the city), we didn't feel completely comfortable walking back after dinner. Taxis are abundant though (and cheap), so it's definitely worth it to stay here and taxi back. Being out of the hub-bub makes this hotel quieter and more of a retreat than the spots around the park. As for the rooms, nice sitting areas inside, strong showers, nice baths, comfy beds. Crashed in the hammocks around the pool after spending hours at the amazing markets in town. This hotel is a GREAT place to come back to after a day of being a tourista!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vesparado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairview, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2009

We deplane after the 4 hour flight from Atlanta, collect our luggage, exchange some currency, and are met by a representative of the Quinta de las Flores Hotel who will transport us the 40 minute drive to Antigua. Cost for the private pick-up service is a reasonable $35US. I had read lots of good reviews of the Quinta de las Flores before booking. Virtually everyone seemed to like it with the only complaint being the distance into town. I’d guestmate the walk to the town square to be a good mile or about 15 minutes… Not horrible but substantial. On most nights, we’d take a cab into town and then walk back.. Mainly to burn off the calories and fat of all the good food we’d just eaten.

The hotel is all I was hoping for. Beautiful, private, quiet, scenic, quaint, spacious, and reasonably priced. We booked our garden view room (#14 on the far end) directly via email for $95 a night.. Taxes included. The garden rooms offer the best views and we were not disappointed. Our room had a flat screen TV, comfortable king-size bed (with first class sheets, pillows, blankets), a fireplace, room heater, large bathroom area, and a spacious patio. The ONLY things the room was missing was an A/C (which we didn’t need anyway) or a fridge (which we did need.) I would imagine that ANY room in Antigua without an A/C in the summer months would get toasty. The hotel offers internet access with 3 computers at guests disposal 24/7 at no additional charge. Any time we didn’t feel like walking into town, the front desk would order one for us and it would be there within 5 minutes.

The grounds are simply wonderful. Flowers are everywhere. The trees are even filled with flowers. There must be a half dozen fountains on the property. The place is like it’s own little fortress of solitude. I could actually live here and be happy. Every morning at least 6-7 grounds people were landscaping the expansive area. All friendly locals offering.. “Buenas dias“.

If you have kids (which fortunately.. we don't...) this would be a great choice of hotel. On the far end of the compound, hidden behind many trees you'll find a spectacular playground. I didn't even discover it for 3 days after checking in.

The open air hotel restaurant, which overlooks the grounds was better than expected. We ate breakfast at the Quinta de las Flores every morning. I ate typical American fair of scrambled (revolutos) eggs and hash browns while my wife always went for local typical fare. Both of us loved the “comida.” Juice was always freshly squeezed. Banana bread was served with every breakfast and it was incredible. Servings were just enough to get full on.. NOT the massive plates of food you’d see in the US. We ate dinner here twice and again.. the food was wonderful and reasonably priced. Try their Pasta Bolognese.. It’s to die for. Service was kinda slow at times, but it appeared that the place had only a staff of 2 so we cut them some slack. The two young servers were very nice. Neither spoke much English but we all managed to communicate none the less.

I’ve stayed at dozens of hotels all over Central America. Many in Antigua including the high-end Meson Panze Verde which has double the rates of the Quinta de las Flores, is closer to town, heated floors, and a 5 star restaurant. My new favorite hotel in Antigua?.. The Quinta de las Flores.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCPirate49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
176 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2009

This was our fourth trip to Antigua but the first time we stayed at Quinta de las Flores. We found out about the hotel from TripAdvisor.

This is the best hotel value we have found in Antigua.

We stayed in one of the "garden" rooms, which had plenty of natural light, was quiet, large and clean. It looked out at the extensive gardens. The gardens are beautifully maintained and cover several(?) acres. There are fountains everywhere throughout the property. Unlike many of the newer hotels in Antigua (Westin and Porta) there is a lot of space here. The rates seemed very good to us compared to places we've stayed in the past. (When you compare rates, keep in mind that the tax of 22% is included at Quinta de las Flores.)

(the "corridor" rooms were a bit dark and did not look out onto the gardens. however, their lower rate reflects that.)

There is a pool that was kept clean but was not heated. There is a children's play area at the back of the property that our 4-year old daughter loved.

The service was excellent and the staff were always responsive to anything we asked--even if just a question about something we had seen in town.

There is a room with three computers and very good (fast) internet access for free. There is no WiFi or internet access in the rooms.

The only meals we had at the restaurant were breakfasts but they were excellent and inexpensive. Pancakes less than $4.00 and a pot of coffee around $1.00.

The biggest negative is that it is quite a walk from town center and with the number of tuk tuks down due to the drop in tourism spending, we often ended up walking all of it. A pleasant walk past numerous ruins, churches and small parks but it could be long for many people. The flip side to being a ways from town center was that it was quiet.

Although we didn't drive, we noticed that they have a huge parking area that was always nearly empty.

(Note also that there are few staff that speak English but they seem to always be able to work things out anyway.)

We will surely stay here again on our next trip to Antigua!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripAffine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

This is a great Hotel .. above my expectation great value .. huge Pak, great pool , nice restaurant, I could spend the whole week in this place ... I will definetly go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexMiamifl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

My wife and I visited Antigua and Guatemala for the first time, accompanied by friends who have travelled in Guatemala extensively and who knew Antigua well. The extensive lush gardens, filled with tropical trees, plants, flowers and fountains, were a continual pleasure for walking and the views of the surrounding volcanos were dramatic. We relaxed in the pool and enjoyed delicious breakfasts, drinks and dinner in the open air restaurant overlooking the gardens. Our spacious room with tall ceiling and Guatemalan art had large French doors providing a beautiful view of the gardens. Just outside the doors was a wonderful sitting area for reading or relaxing after fun days exploring central Antigua, within walking distance of Quinta. Front desk staff were helpful in arranging transportation to Lake Atitlan and to the airport in Guatemala City. Restaurant staff were friendly and professional. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JungleTrailJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
14.2 mi away
Casa Santo Domingo
Casa Santo Domingo
#7 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#4 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#2 of 82 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#25 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#10 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta de las Flores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta de las Flores

Property: Quinta de las Flores
Address: Calle del Hermano Pedro 6, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Antigua
#5 Family Hotel in Antigua
#12 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quinta de las Flores 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Quinta de las Flores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta De Las Flores Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing